We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Absolutely loved this place. The hotel has a very calming and relaxing atmosphere, filled with lots of beautiful plants and other items which subtly speak of Caribbean-Colombian culture. The restoration they have done on the 1920's building has been beautifully done, maintaining the buildings historic essence while offering a revitalized elegance and some updated features, such as the tiled jacuzzi in the main courtyard (bonus points! The communal hammock is a nice touch as well).

Staff were amazing, friendly, happy to be there, helpful and genuine. Breakfast was great. The room was also equally as impressive, comfortable and clean.

Great location in the heart of Santa Marta, 2 minute walk to most of the nightlife and restaurants. Relatively safe area in comparison to some of the other neighborhoods in Santa Marta.

No fitness facilities but besides that, you couldn't really ask for much more.

Hope to return again.

Room Tip: They all looked pretty great. Don't think you can go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

First off, this tiny lodging is across the street AND next door to construction sites: early morning building noise AND loud radios. When I mentioned to the owner that he might want to warn prospective guests, he said "well, it is terrible and has been going on for a year". Second, wooden windows, instead of glass and screens, means you choose between heat and mosquitoes and humidity vs light. Third, the bathroom floor was made of cutesy rocks, which feel awful in bare feet. Lastly, they keep the "crappy" cat litter box right outside the guest rooms.
The bus recommended by the staff, to Cartagena, was 5 hours of hell and not the 4 hours of air conditioned comfort I was told to expect.

Room Tip: wait until construction ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Casa Verde is a little gem. The rooms are elegantly and simply furnished and very comfortable. The courtyard area is stunning. A lovely relaxed area complete with hammock and small plunge pool.

The location is excellent - very close to some wonderful bars and restaurants.

The manager is lovely and the staff were always on hand to offer any help or service.

Great hotel. Great value

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkRosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel ever. The toilet is in the room just separated by a semi-transparent shower curtain (see picture). Just go there if you are single!! And they charge more then 100 EUR for this room. Unbelievable!! We will now try to find a hot with a separated bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Verde H, Gerente at Casa Verde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are very sorry to find out you had such a bad impression of one of our rooms at Casa Verde Hotel. However, I do not understand why, as each of our rooms has clear information and pictures in our web site and in all the online booking engines. We believe your commentary is out of order as you booked through an online booking engine and was able to see the room description and pictures of the room your were taking. “Our studio suite features a full-sized bed, sitting area with desk, and a kitchenette. Situated on the top floor of the hotel, this room is intended to be very open including the shower and bathroom, which are separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. This suite is 8 x 4 m”.

At Casa Verde Hotel we are proud to show the commentaries many of our guests have done on tripadvisor. Most of them describe a very nice hotel with great service. We appreciate your review even though we do not share your impression.

We hope you had a good time in Santa Marta.

Atentamente,

La Gerencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

In a world where the term "boutique hotel" is overused, this truly deserves the title. Located on a quiet side street, just off the main shopping area, the small plunge pool provides a restful spot to recover and cool down after a day's wandering. The staff are delightful and extremely helpful, Only the manager speaks English, but the others communicate effectively by signs and smiles. A really hospitable hotel with well designed and spotless rooms. The bathrooms alone are a joy... Breakfast is excellent, efficiently served and of good quality. Wifi signal is first-class everywhere in the building. Recommended. Worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: the triple room is excellent. A single bed down blelow and a double bed on a mezzanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DUN01170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This little hotel has a lot of charm. It has 6-7 rooms of different sizes and styles. Yuly, the manager is very sweet and speaks english. the location of this place is about 3 blocks from the beach and is very secure. At all times the front gate/door is locked and you have to ring the bell to get in. it is staffed 24/7. Did I mention the outstanding cooked to order breakfast. Close to numerous restaurants and shopping. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you like a view ask for the top floor with a picture frame view of the church. The room just belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This small hotel in the historical district of Santa Marta is a great find. It has a charming feel and the staff is great, especially Nancy. Her friendly disposition and readiness for good conversation made my heart sing. We had stayed at the much newer and more opulent Casa Leda next door but left Casa Verde with the same good feeling of having gotten our money's worth. We had a late flight so they let us keep our bags there and even offered us a shower and we were allowed to hang by the pool for as long as we wanted until our flight left. Great hotel and even greater staff.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony overlooking the pool with outdoor hammock was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
#10 of 67 in Santa Marta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing