We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Casa Verde is a hotel in downtown Santa Marta, a beautifully renovated house with high ceilings and an in-door pool with a hammock at the entrance that makes it into an instant oasis when you come in from the heat and the busy streets of the city. It's very intimate and the staff is very helpful. I loved the cathedral suite, the view is absolutely lovely and very private. I highly recommend a stay in Casa Verde whether you want spend a weekend or 10 days in Santa Marta. I hope to see you soon Juan, Miguel and the crew!

Room Tip: The Cathedral and the Green Suites have awesome rooms! But the duplex are roomy enough for three peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finalu510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
119
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First things first, the hotel itself is a beautiful boutique with less than ten rooms, centered around a nice courtyard with a pool and a hammock. The rooms are all well designed with modern finishes and quality beds/furniture. Very uniquely designed and perfect for the traveler seeking modern comfort with boutique culture.

The staff couldn't be better (I really mean this). Miguel Davilla checked us in and helped us to get settled. He then recommended a restaurant for lunch and dinner, both of which we loved. We were short on time and couldn't do a full day trip to Parque Tayrona, so Juan helped us find a driver and plan a half day excursion that turned out to be perfect. Perhaps my favorite member of the staff, Cafucha, was great to hang out with as well (the hotel's cat).

Great location within Santa Marta, beautiful hotel, breakfast served daily, and awesome staff. Highly highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayrge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Absolutely loved this place. The hotel has a very calming and relaxing atmosphere, filled with lots of beautiful plants and other items which subtly speak of Caribbean-Colombian culture. The restoration they have done on the 1920's building has been beautifully done, maintaining the buildings historic essence while offering a revitalized elegance and some updated features, such as the tiled jacuzzi in the main courtyard (bonus points! The communal hammock is a nice touch as well).

Staff were amazing, friendly, happy to be there, helpful and genuine. Breakfast was great. The room was also equally as impressive, comfortable and clean.

Great location in the heart of Santa Marta, 2 minute walk to most of the nightlife and restaurants. Relatively safe area in comparison to some of the other neighborhoods in Santa Marta.

No fitness facilities but besides that, you couldn't really ask for much more.

Hope to return again.

Room Tip: They all looked pretty great. Don't think you can go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

First off, this tiny lodging is across the street AND next door to construction sites: early morning building noise AND loud radios. When I mentioned to the owner that he might want to warn prospective guests, he said "well, it is terrible and has been going on for a year". Second, wooden windows, instead of glass and screens, means you choose between heat and mosquitoes and humidity vs light. Third, the bathroom floor was made of cutesy rocks, which feel awful in bare feet. Lastly, they keep the "crappy" cat litter box right outside the guest rooms.
The bus recommended by the staff, to Cartagena, was 5 hours of hell and not the 4 hours of air conditioned comfort I was told to expect.

Room Tip: wait until construction ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The Casa Verde is a little gem. The rooms are elegantly and simply furnished and very comfortable. The courtyard area is stunning. A lovely relaxed area complete with hammock and small plunge pool.

The location is excellent - very close to some wonderful bars and restaurants.

The manager is lovely and the staff were always on hand to offer any help or service.

Great hotel. Great value

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel ever. The toilet is in the room just separated by a semi-transparent shower curtain (see picture). Just go there if you are single!! And they charge more then 100 EUR for this room. Unbelievable!! We will now try to find a hot with a separated bathroom.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Verde H, Gerente at Casa Verde Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We are very sorry to find out you had such a bad impression of one of our rooms at Casa Verde Hotel. However, I do not understand why, as each of our rooms has clear information and pictures in our web site and in all the online booking engines. We believe your commentary is out of order as you booked through an online booking engine and was able to see the room description and pictures of the room your were taking. “Our studio suite features a full-sized bed, sitting area with desk, and a kitchenette. Situated on the top floor of the hotel, this room is intended to be very open including the shower and bathroom, which are separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. This suite is 8 x 4 m”.

At Casa Verde Hotel we are proud to show the commentaries many of our guests have done on tripadvisor. Most of them describe a very nice hotel with great service. We appreciate your review even though we do not share your impression.

We hope you had a good time in Santa Marta.

Atentamente,

La Gerencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

In a world where the term "boutique hotel" is overused, this truly deserves the title. Located on a quiet side street, just off the main shopping area, the small plunge pool provides a restful spot to recover and cool down after a day's wandering. The staff are delightful and extremely helpful, Only the manager speaks English, but the others communicate effectively by signs and smiles. A really hospitable hotel with well designed and spotless rooms. The bathrooms alone are a joy... Breakfast is excellent, efficiently served and of good quality. Wifi signal is first-class everywhere in the building. Recommended. Worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: the triple room is excellent. A single bed down blelow and a double bed on a mezzanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUN01170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 66 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Property: Casa Verde Hotel
Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing