We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, 5 star service and close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Form the moment that you arrive to the front door to the time you leave, you are treated warmly by the wonderful staff. All the minors glitches were taken care of promptly. The I Pad provided free of charge was appreciated.The property is tastefully decorated, The rooms are clean and generous in size. We enjoyed the roof top Jacuzzi with an ocean view... only wished the water temperature was a bit warmer. Keep in mind that room 9 and 10 are the only ones with access to the Jacuzzi when booking. The breakfasts are delicious, served under the shade of a Tamarind tree. We are coffee lovers and missed not having a coffee maker in the room. However, the staff prepared us a "tinto" at any time of the day or night we asked for it. Just a couple of blocks away I also recommend the restaurant "Donde Chucho" located in the Parque de los Novios for a wonderful dinning experience close to the hotel . In brief, you will not be dissapointed by choosing this hotel. Leonardo, Dauner and Ingrid
will make sure that you leave content with your stay at this fine hotel.

Room Tip: As stated above, Only the top rooms 9 and 10 have access to the jacuzzi. Noise ( not the fault of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intlexplorer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thanks for the review. The coffee makers in the rooms was discussed often and we felt in the end guests would not use as much and may in fact appreciate having it alwys available around hotel. I am now thinking we should also have one in the room as well. Thank you for you repsonse and idea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Casa de Isabella was our favorite hotel during our multi city visit to Colombia's Caribbean Coast. We highly recommend it for four reasons:
1) Extremely accommodative staff (thanks to David, Leonardo, and Dauner!) who spoke excellent English and tended to all of our needs (arranged parking for our rental car, provided excellent restaurant recommendations with maps to get us there, etc.)
2) a room that was large, comfortable, and secure
3) it is located just one block from the town square -- Parque de Los Novios -- which is surrounded by a broad range of restaurants and filled with families in the evenings.
4) it is a one hour drive from Tayrona National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicagowestlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thanks for the review. I am so happy we met your expectations. I will forward to David, leonardo and Dauner how happy you were with there attention. Thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Perfect hotel for experiencing and enjoing life in Santa Marta. Excellent location in the city center, renovated with style and care to offer an unforgettable experience. All staff provide excellent service with friendly professionalism, best combination for my holiday.
Breakfast either with local and international tastes, very well prepared and served.
Room very well cleaned, with nice (real) wood furniture in colonial style. Bathroom with a large and efficient shower.
Swimming pool more then enough to have a fresh and quiet time all along the day as well as during the evening.
This was my second stay and I really suggest to go there if passing trough Santa Marta.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your return and appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We liked everything about our stay at the Isabella . . . the rooms, the well equipped bathrooms, the pool, the shaded lounge area and the breakfasts (try the pancakes!). Every space was tastefully furnished and thoughtfully organized. The first night we stayed in a regular room and found it very comfortable while the second night we were upgraded to a suite, which was luxurious. It had a sitting room/living room complete with iPad and Apple TV, it's own private terrace and a jacuzzi on the roof. Both rooms were beautifully decorated and designed, basically the only difference was the spaciousness of the suite and the extras in it as mentioned above. The staffs' efforts to ensure that we enjoyed both the hotel and our entire experience in Santa Marta, were much appreciated. They helped us plan our activities, suggested restaurants and arranged taxis. A wonderful way to start our visit to Colombia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to your return. I had forgotten to mention to email me directly prior so we can make sure you also take advantage of any of specials which we may be running like currently. We are trying to offer our guests the best value as well as service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A friend and I recently spent 3 nights at Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique in Santa Marta. We were very pleased with this small hotel which opened less than a year ago. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and attractive with good lighting, including reading lamps. The bathroom was great with a large shower, good hot water supply and little amenities such as good quality soaps, toothbrush, etcetera. We also had a flat-screened TV and some kind of special, Apple TV service (didn't use it so I can't give details) Staff was extremely friendly, available and gracious. Breakfast was included and allowed a choice between a typical Colombian breakfast and eggs, toast, and fruit. Everything in the modest sized town of Santa Marta was easily accessed from the hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us with arrangements to visit nearby Tayrona Park for the day. We visited the beautiful beach, Bahia Concha.

We were amazed to discover that ten minutes per day of international calls were included in the price of the hotel room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for the review and we also look forward to your return. I emailed you my personal email so I can let you know of any specials we may be running prior to your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Santa Marta is the place to be, and the place to stay in Santa Marta is the Casa de Isabella Hotel. One can rave on and on about the wonderful physical properties of the hotel itself, but to our way of thinking, the staff created an atmosphere that would compel anyone to take up permanent residence in this establishment. The people there exceeded the usual Colombian hospitality and graciousness by providing unfailing friendly, courteous, and helpful assistance throughout our stay. The complimentary breakfast (you name it) is excellent, as is the outdoor dining area open to a delightful morning breeze on a second floor deck, shaded by the leaves of an ancient tamarindo tree coming up from the central courtyard.
Hats off to Franklin, David, Rachel, Dauner, Leonardo, Nelby, and others who made our visit a forever memory. See you next time! Patricia and Herb T.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for the glowing review. I forwarded it to the front desk as your review just posted on Trip Advisor but it seems you wrote it a few weeks ago. i did not want them to miss it and we of course look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Having never visited Colombia we were a bit nervous and Park Tayrona was our ultimate destination in Santa Marta. When we arrived at hotel we were immediately taken back. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and stylish. We do not speak any spanish but the staff were wonderful especially Franklin and David with advice on things to do. They arranged for a private driver to Tayrona for pick up and return. Our room was beautiful and I understand that each of the rooms are decorated uniquely. I liked having access to US television as well. and there were free calls to the US. The staff was really nice and accomodating. We were extremely pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lpelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
513 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
587 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#9 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: £54 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing