We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As we drove into Santa Marta from the airport, I was a bit turned off by some of the bustle in the streets. But when I arrived at Casa de Isabella, all of that anxiety faded away. They gave me a very tasty welcome drink (I can't remember the name of it!) -- the front desk guys were very welcoming and spoke great english.

Everything in the hotel says quality. The rooms are decorated with art from around the world, and each have Apple TV which we loved. The breakfasts make it all around a great experience. The receptionists gave useful advice and tips on local restaurants and helped us with transportation.

Thanks a lot for making our vacation amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Our goal is to constantly surprise our guests with the quality we offer in Santa Marta, and it seems like we achieved it with you. We are proud to be a part of the renaissance of this city. The drink that you tried is tamarind, made from our tamarind tree growing inside the hotel. Thanks for this review, and remember to book directly with the hotel for future reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you are considering staying somewhere else, stop. By both North American and Latin American standards this place is exceptional. I cannot rave enough about the 5 star customer service- from Ana and Javier at breakfast to the concierge at night...it was as good as the personalize attention one receives at the Ritz. It is quite evident the owners take pride in their hotel, from the well appointed pool upstairs to the cleanliness of the entire place. Stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alimen831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We appreciate this review so much. Those are some very kind words, and we're glad that we impressed you so much. Our goal is for every guest to leave as content and pleasantly surprised as possible. I will certainly share your words with all the members of the team. They are so dedicated and we're very lucky for everyone here. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel was an incredible facility tucked away in the center of old Santa Marta. The staff was very professional and well trained. The breakfast was not a typical "continental" breakfast but rather a wonderful sampling of of traditional Colombian fare mixed with some well known American favorites (eggs in a hole). The room we stayed in (suite # 10) was incredible. The view from the private terrace pool was magnificent. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend one of their suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dogfan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We are honored that you enjoyed your stay with us so much to have written this great review. We are very proud of our hotel, and especially of our staff. The breakfast is tasty and fresh, with six choices - all with fruit, juice, and coffee. We also love refreshing our guests with complimentary coffee and juice at any time throughout the day. Thanks for this great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Casa de Isabella is a beautiful property in a convenient central location - next to Parque de Los Novios. We used them as our base before and after our hike to Ciudad Perdida. It was a very welcome oasis upon our return!

The property is beautifully decorated and feels very warm and welcoming. A great place to relax, have a good night's sleep and take care of some odds and ends in town.

The hotel staff exemplify our experience with most Colombians...always eager to please. But Casa de Isabella has one super star that stands out....Franklin. He is extremely polished and professional with an incredible English fluency. It was a pleasure emailing with him prior to our departure and then meeting him in person. We shared some very good chats with him.

We only experienced a minor hiccup with our transportation to Casa de Isabella. We had asked the hotel to help us book a shuttle service from Cartagena. They eagerly tried to assist in making the reservation but apparently trying to book it from another city made it a challenge. We don't fault the hotel for the service not being booked in the end but we would have appreciated a final email letting us know that the booking didn't happen and that we should seek out the help from our Cartagena hotel. We were left not knowing where we stood with the reservation and in the end there was a bit of drama trying to get a shuttle at the last minute out of Cartagena but it all worked out.

Casa de Isabella helped us with the transportation to their Villa Maria property and then back to Cartagena for the flight back to the US. No hiccups whatsoever and the driver Thomas was an excellent driver and a true professional!

Thank you for a lovely stay at both your properties. We will definitely recommend Kali properties to friends and family who visit in the future. We look forward to reading about your new endeavors and future successes. All the best to you!

Room Tip: Both our stays were in rooms on the first level. We were surprised at how quiet the staff were in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RTW_Traveler_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing us. We always love to hear what you think. We are so glad your enjoyed your experience, everything from our receptionists to the property itself. I am sorry to hear about the transportation problem. We do our best to make sure all transportation is flawless, but in the end, its another company that actually does the picking up and dropping off. We are looking into this case to make sure we do everything in our power so it doesn't happen again. Thanks for mentioning the Kali name! We are excited to offer various properties across three locations along the Colombian coast, with hopefully more to come in the near future. Remember to book directly with the hotel for any future reservations, as we offer great discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was a wonderful hotel with the most pleasant staff I've ever seen in any establishment. The hotel was well located and everything was carefully attended to. The rooms were terrific. It was wonderful waking up in the morning and having breakfast on the hotel patio, almost always with interesting articulate guests. And I'm not usually the kind of person who is very social in the morning. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world, but the service at Casa de Isabella lacked nothing that these other better known establishments had.

Room Tip: On Christmas Eve there is apparently a local custom in Santa Marta to play incredibly loud music in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to create an amazing experience for all of our guests, and are elated you enjoyed your time here. Being a small hotel, there is a social feel to the breakfasts as well as the bar and in general around the property. We hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to book direct with the hotel (via email, phone, or our website) for the best promotions and discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The ownership & staff provide a first class experience that is singularly unique in Colombia. My family and I loved this oasis located in the heart of Santa Marta! Everything exceeded our expectations; this property is beautiful, enticing, relaxing, and the exotic surroundings complete the package. We checked Trip Adviser & the reviews are amazing - I am happy to add to the amazing comments because they're well earned! We love this property & it's our favorite in all of Latin America!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGROAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We greatly appreciate this review! It was a pleasure to meet you during your time here, and I'm so glad we facilitated a great experience in Santa Marta. We hope to see you down here again soon. Be sure to check out our hotel out by Tayrona National Park, called Villa Maria. Its a tropical paradise. Remember to book directly with the hotel (via email or on our website) for the best discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at Casa de Isabella during the Christmas high season. This is a wonderful place. The staff are dedicated and helpful at all times. The hotel is located just around the corner from the Parque de los Novios, the place to be at night. Isabella is architecturally beautiful. Don't let the plain purple wall on the street deceive you, inside various stairways will lead you to your room surrounding a lavishly gardened atrium. One of the rooms appears to have its own private roof deck, but there is another deck near a very small pool that will provide lounge chairs when needed. Breakfast is served on one of the exterior patios where you can see the rooftops of surrounding buildings. Plan to be pampered at breakfast. The menu provides 6 choices from local to Gringo style selections. If you can afford this place, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The streets can be noisy at night. We stayed for 6 nights, and this was a problem only one of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George P, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks a lot for leaving us this review! We are very proud of Casa de Isabella, and are honored when someone feels compelled to write such a glowing recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to book direct (via email or on our website) for great discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
524 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
238 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#10 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: £53 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing