We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tayromar(Santa Marta)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Hotel Miami SM(Santa Marta)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casa del Agua(Santa Marta)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
567
101
17
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
101
17
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvprivate poolbeautiful hotelboutique hotelwithin easy walking distancegreat boutiquelounge areasister hotelrestaurants and barsbreakfast serviceseveral optionsfirst floorspent nightstayrona national parksmall hotelvisiting santa martathe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We headed to Santa Marta mainly for the diving but this hotel really made it. All the staff were so friendly, Jake the owner of kali hotels, went out of his way not only to give us all the local news/gossip but also arrange our onward journey. I was lucky enough to stay in 3 of the Kali properties and cant recomend them highly enough. The hotel is perfectly loacated yet set back from the road far enough to feel truly separate from city life. Breakfast is delicious and generous and everyone is always eager to help. The pool is perfect when you need to retreat from the sun and the seating area is perfect for a drink. There is wide selection of local restaurants around a beautiful park 2minutes walk away so plenty of choice after a hard day!
Diving in this area is truly stunning, definitely not to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We are truly honored to have this review. Its a pleasure to create incredible hotel experiences here in Santa Marta, and seeing reviews like yours is one of the best parts of the job. Thanks for mentioning the Kali Hotels name! We hope to grow with fantastic new hotels, and continue to facilitate great Colombian vacations. We'd love to see you if you are ever back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel two blocks off the beach in old Santa Marta. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The second floor pool is small but pleasant, and there are sitting areas nearby for both sun and shade. The room comes with a breakfast that is plentiful and cooked to order, including fresh fruit and fresh-squeezed orange juice--all delicious! Santa Marta is changing rapidly and this hotel is one of the many positive changes in recent years.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thanks a lot for writing us up! Casa de Isabella was one of the first changes the city, and we are proud to be a part of Santa Marta's bright future. We hope to help steer the city in the right direction as tourism continues to develop in the area. We hope to see you again soon! Remember to always book direct with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we first arrived in Colombia.

We loved the roof top pool and enjoyed having our breakfast on the veranda. The food was excellent.

The staff were so helpful.

Our room was excellent. Big fluffy dresssing gowns, great quality bedding, super comfy bed, air con etc.

They also have Apple TV and you can borrow an ipad from them too!

Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishTwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We greatly appreciate you taking the time for this review. Thanks for highlighting a lot of great things about Casa de Isabella. We are so proud of the hotel, and do our best to pleasantly surprise all guests. We hope you make it back soon the the Colombian coast! For next time, be sure to check out our jungle retreat by Tayrona Park (Villa Maria by Kali Hotels). Its a beautiful complement to our city hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very well designed. Well managed. Friendly staff.

Unlike most hotels in Colombia, the hotel has very modern interiors. It was very clean and very comfortable. Perfect boutique hotel in a great location.

It helped that we had room 10. I think its their best room with a rooftop plunge pool. I fell in love with eating mangos with salt and pepper (common in Colombia) so I would buy mangos on the street and the kitchen staff always offered to peel them for me.

Breakfast was great on an awesome second floor landing outside, under tress, between the buildings.

One problem we had was that the AC stopped working the first night; the hotel owner I believe (Jacob), came up personally. He couldn't get it fixed that night, but had it fixed the next day and offered a 25 percent reduction in the rate without hesitation. Bad things happen no matter where you are but good management takes care of it in a way that makes you forget it.

Finally, the only somewhat negative aspect is parking. Its not in the hotel but in a private lot right beside it. It was safe and convenient, but the parking lot owner first quoted me a price, then gave some nonsense explanation as to why he was going to double it after he saw we had an expensive car. The hotel deskman told him in Spanish (which I speak fluently) ..."no...you quoted one price and you can't change it"...and he agreed. So, don't get taken by that guy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysontherun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so much for this review! We are proud of Casa de Isabella, and do our best to offer world class service and quality for a great price. I was very sorry about the air conditioning situation that evening, but was glad to get it fixed first thing the next day as well as offer you a discount for the trouble. We hope you make it down here again, and for next time, be sure to book direct with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Went here because it was number 1 for hotels in Santa Marta on TripAdviser and it lived up to the billing. Beautiful hotel, fabulous service and pretty good value for money. On checking out I was asked if I would consider adding a 5% tip to the bill and happily agreed - worked out at around £20 for six nights' stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restaurantfanandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

You have given us one of the best compliments any hotel could ask for. Thank you very much for this fantastic review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever back in Colombia, we would love the chance to impress you again, or maybe you would like to try any of our other Kali hotels spread across the coast of Colombia. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews