We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Step inside the iron gate from the hot dusty street, and you find yourself in a small, calm peaceful oasis. The manager on duty during the daytime, while we were there, could not have been more helpful. The rooms are very well furnished, the bathrooms extremely spacious and the toiletries provided in the bathrooms are of the highest standard we have found on our travels through Colombia. Everything is kept spotless, and the staff are extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast could not have been better. We were able to store our bags for five days while we did the Ciudad Perdida trek, and returning to the Casa de Isabella after our trek felt like coming home. I would definitely stay there again without looking anywhere else, and can recommend Casa De Isabella to anyone visiting Santa Marta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks so much for reviewing us. We love making every stay exceptional, and try to give truly personal, world-class service at every turn. We make a habit of doing whatever we can to make our guests' stays great, be it storing bags for a few days, printing something out for you, or providing free airport pickup for our direct reservations. We will do what we can in our power. Thanks again for the review. Remember to always book direct for your reservations for great discounts and promotions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    90
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
298
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Casa Isabella after our original hotel turned out to be under construction- what a blessing in disguise! This boutique hotel was so charming and the staff was incredible. I love the original details they left such as the tile in the lobby and brick arches. It's got a great little pool and the rooms are gorgeous. If the suite is available- definitely spring for it! We had our own rooftop pool and great views of the mountains and ocean. We also stayed in a normal room the first night and it was lovely. Breakfast is delish and the hotel is right in the heart of old town. Special thanks to Louis at the front desk and Jacob for making us feel welcome! It made our whole trip.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SFElyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We greatly appreciate this review. It was great to meet you while you were here, and to help out with some suggestions for your trip. In our reconstruction of this very old building, as you noted, we kept as many original details as possible - which include all the brick walls in the bar as well as the brick arches throughout the reception. We loved the original design so much, that we recreated it as much as possible throughout the whole hotel, including in-room brick arches in some of the suites. Thanks for writing us up, and we hope to see you again sometime. Always remember to book direct with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

If I were ever to return to Colombia I would stay at Casa de Isabella. The facilities and service and value for money were excellent and I would recommend it to everyone. The staff and owner were extremely helpful in assisting me to contact family in Australia in order to change my air tickets. They provided me with an iPad, the use of a printer and telephone- all free of charge might I add. Without their kindness and help I don't know how I would have managed.
Kerrie Killin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I certainly remember your stay, and we are always happy to help out in emergency situations. Sometimes things come up, and you really need a good internet connection, free international calls, and a printer - all of which we have for guests to use free of charge. Rest assured, next time you visit the area, we will be here to help out with all the crazy situations you can throw at us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidor, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

well situated...great breakfast and a friendly staff. I could not have asked for more. If I ever choose to return to Santa Marta, I would not hesitate to return to Casa de Isabella. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay on the coast of Colombia, and this boutique hotel experience was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpaterno77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks a lot for this review. It was nice to spend a little time while you were here. It is our pleasure to serve all guests and any and all requests they may have, and we believe that personal touch sets us apart from other hotels. We hope to see you here again soon, and good luck with everything back in the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Park
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My boyfriend surprised me by taking me to this wonderful B&B for a romantic weekend. It was phenomenal.

The hotel itself is just gorgeous. There is this beautiful tree in the middle of the courtyard that really adds character to the place. We stayed in the suite, which has its own terrace overlooking the waterfront and also has its own little pool. Beautiful, comfortable and incredibly romantic.

The quality of service of all the staff leaves little to be desired. They were always incredibly helpful and there was always someone there to help you if you needed it. Very delicious breakfast as well.

It's also conveniently located near the waterfront (about a 5 minute walk) and there are a lot of delicious restaurants within walking distance in the area. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charmedlifetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are so happy to have been your boyfriend's choice for a surprise weekend. Casa de Isabella has so many little nooks and crannys to discover. The suites are especially wonderful for a couple with their private terraces and plunge pools. In fact, we have had many couples order food from the Peruvian restaurant across the street and enjoy a romantic dinner with candles on their private terrace in their suite. Thank you so much for reviewing us! It is reviews like yours that help us see that our hard work pays off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here for a business trip. This is a small hotel in a historic building. The rooms are not very large but nicely renovated. The number of guests is limited so you can really have your breakfast in peace.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterp_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks a lot for this review. We renovated the hotel from an old family house that has been standing for 200 years, so the brick walls and arches you see in the bar and reception are all original. We hope you find yourself again in Santa Marta! When you do, be sure to contact us directly for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent there 4 nights during Easter 2014. The room, on 2nd floor, was cozy and comfortable, the only issue being the shower water temperature (already on several comments, either too cold or too hot, impossible to adjust to a pleasant temperature, should be fixed really).
Service was good, the people cleaning and serving breakfast are very friendly and helpful, the reception people too.
The location is very good, right in the heart of the old center of Sta Marta.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are more spacious, the two 3rd floor suites are probably much nicer too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you in the future. We are so sorry about the shower water issue, and have looked into it. It seems the knobs in your room were faulty, so we have had them replaced. We are also checking every shower for the same problem. Next time you come to Santa Marta, be sure to book directly with the hotel for promotions and discounts. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#6 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing