We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGICAL!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
Ranked #2 of 102 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MAGICAL!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I are seasoned and discerning world travelers who can recognize a truly singular place on this magnificent planet when we see it. Not only is Barlovento such a place, but everything about the peripheral experience of being there is beautiful and singular. What cannot be captured in photos is the time spent around a common table with delicious food and the conversation with new friends from all over the world. And Luis. Luis is the owner, and the heart and soul of Barlovento. We will not forget your place, Luis, or you. Many, Many thanks...Susan and Norman

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicatriz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    46
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
110
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at Finca Barlovento for 2 nights towards the end of our holiday, and it was the perfect way to end our trip to Colombia. Louis was a most welcome host, and we loved hearing tales about the area over dinner, he went above and beyond when we stayed, and we were really grateful. The rooms are fairly basic, but we weren't expecting more, anything else just wouldn't fit with the nature and feel of the place. Truly beautiful and serene location, thank you!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare_Cooke_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen. Situated on a cliff with the ocean on one side and the mountains and river on the other, you enjoy a spectacular sunrise and sunset not to mention an endless beautiful deserted beach which you access by walking through a tropical forest.
The accommodations and food were excellent, but it was the owner's hospitality and helpfulness which made the whole experience so great. We loved sitting down for meals with the host and other guest and sharing travel experiences with them. Thank you, Louis and Herman for a truly special stay!
We hope to return someday!

Room Tip: If you can, get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagirandolona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The sound of the waves crashing on the beach directly beneath you is utterly soothing. The rooms are basic but the experience is out of this world. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks. The freshly cooked food was absolutely delicious. A great place to stay if you want to explore Tayrona national park.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda1977_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here for four days on our honeymoon and loved it! We enjoyed walks on the long stretch of beach nearby and relaxed in the comfortable hammocks. We also liked sharing dinners with other guests and had lots of great conversations with them. The place is really spectacular and was a highlight of our month-long visit to Colombia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonMilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

This place is truly in an incredible location with superb views. It is a very cool design for a house and the open-air nature is perfect for the atmosphere. The house was generally clean and the provided food is delicious but there are no snacks available. The house-keeper is not overly welcoming, particularly if you do not speak Spanish but overall a place we will not forget and we would have stayed longer if we could have afforded it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Barlovento has it all! Secluded, spectacular setting and nothing to want. The very basic settings are all part of the charm and falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves is amazing. Amy cooks yummy meals and Luis is a most gracious and fascinating host. Two nights went by too fast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
1.4 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.1 mi away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buritaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
7.6 mi away
Posadas Ecoturisticas Seineken
Posadas Ecoturisticas Seineken
#1 of 4 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Barlovento
Casa Barlovento
#70 of 146 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka

Property: Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
Address: Km 33, 1 Via Riohacha, Los Naranjos, Next to Tayrona Park, Santa Marta, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabaña hangs on a cliff over the beach and ocean. It has been featured in documentaries, tv and magazines such as Maison Marie Claire french edition. Maloka has lovely views to the river and sea or the jungle, its quieter than the cabaña and the rooms are spacious and with a private bathroom. The web site of Maloka can be accessed through "go to maloka" on the cabaña's web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing