We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kantawa Spa Hotel(Santa Marta)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Koralia(Buritaca)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Merecumbe Hotel(Buritaca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
185
53
13
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
53
13
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbreakfast and dinnersound of the waveslos angelesopen airother guestsquesadillathe guidebookcommunal diningdeserted beachlonely planetfamily stylebeer and soft drinksfreshwater lagoonpure natureriver meetspounding surf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Finca Barlovento, opting to stay in Maloka, the cabana set back slightly from the waterfront. We had the corner room facing the ocean, which I don't think could possibly have been bettered.

The decor was fresh, clean and stylish and the views were absolutely incredible. From the balcony outside our bedroom we could sit and watch the sun set behind Tayrona. I found the service to be friendly and welcoming and the food was simple but lovely, and there was always enough to go round.

The location is incredibly beautiful, and the proximity to the beaches is wonderful. We sat for 3 hours on a beach and saw one other person. Not having wifi is actually a blessing as it forces you to unplug.

It's not the most luxurious place to stay in Colombia but it is an incredibly evocative place and an experience within itself. We loved it here and feel as though the price fairly reflected the experience we had. My boyfriend proposed on the beach while we were there though so I might be a little biased!

Room Tip: If you want to stay in Maloka, ask for the corner room. It's the only one that faces the ocean and the river, it's on the end so no-one walks past you and it has double the light than the others as it has an extra set of huge windows.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Not sure if there is another place like this elsewhere. The surroundings are truly stunning and the fact that it is so unique makes any shortcomings well worthwhile. We stayed at the Cabana (the one on top of the rocks, overlooking the ocean) for two nights. Pros include family style meals where you meet some interesting people, helpful and kind staff, tasty food, close to Tayrona national park, amazing views of the sunset on the river and the turquoise ocean. It is definitely a no-frills type of room, and some rooms require you to share a bathroom. Also, the waves are actually quite loud so it takes some time to get used to it as you are falling asleep. That being said - this was the highlight of our time in Colombia and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smarts84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our two nights at Barlovento. Our only regret is not staying longer. It is off the beaten path and in a gorgeous setting where the fresh water river meets the sea with mountains in the distance. Food is simple and prepared fresh daily. If you are looking to get away this is the place. We also enjoyed sharing meals with the other like minded travelers. Our only criticism is that lunch is not provided and there aren't any other options around.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Amipelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Finca Barlovento and the surrounding area of Playa Los Naranjos is like nothing you have ever seen!! As many of the reviews have mentioned, no description or photograph could do the hotel or the surroundings justice. You must experience this place! My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at Cabana Maloka at the tail end of our trip to Colombia. Both of us agreed that we have never stayed in a more serene, relaxing place. This was the most remote place I've ever been to and every moment was incredible! Counting down the days I can one day return!

We stayed in the Cabana Maloka in the corner room. This was a very pleasant experience- the beds are insanely comfortable and you can fall asleep listening to the waves crashing. We personally were glad that we were in Maloka because it provides a little bit more distance from the ocean so that you can hear the sounds of the waves but yet they're not crashing under you. I imagine the other location might be really loud - but I don't know! This is a more rustic experience and I would not go into it expecting top of the line amenities or fancy service, but they provide everything you need and are always willing to help. This is a place to enjoy nature and wildlife, taking in the views and meeting other like-minded people. The views from the cabana are incredible and you sit on lovely rocking chairs or hammocks while reading/relaxing. The rooms overlook one of the private beaches, where you can relax on the sand and swim in a fresh water river.

A lovely part of this stay is the communal dining. We ate dinner and breakfast with the other guests and learned about all of their experiences traveling. The food is fantastic! Breakfast was fresh fruit, eggs, arepa and both of our dinners consisted of fish, coco rice and arepas. Locals who work at the hotel will cook for you and are incredibly helpful. There is also water/wine/beer honestly tab.

The location is so incredible that you never want to leave, but we did hike for the day in the Tyrona National park. The hotel set up motos to pick us up at the hotel and take us to and from the park. Tyrona is gorgeous and the experience of hiking through these beaches is well worth it.

Last but not least, the staff must be mentioned! Luis, el dueno, is an incredibly
kind, helpful man who lives on the property. He greeted us right as we arrived and was always checking in on our stay. He really makes this such a special place. His dogs are awesome too and basically act as guide dogs/guard dogs. Kiwi led us to the beach through a path and made sure we were always following right behind.

This is just such a magical place where you can feel like you are away from it all. My boyfriend and I did not intend on coming here, but found it in the guidebook and decided to leave Cartagena early to experience Tyrona. Everyone should try to come to this spot on their trip to Colombia- it is worth every penny and you will not regret it!!

As a helpful tip- we booked through Aventure Colombia in Cartagena. We visited the office and the guy there set the whole reservation up so we showed up the next day without any issues. Also, try and be prepared with cash because you cannot use credit card for any extra food or transportation. I don't even know if there is a cajero near the park so either get your money head of time in Santa Marta or wherever you're traveling from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B0st0nGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Yes the location is absolutely wonderful with breathtaking views, but what a nightmare to start with! Booking took ages, going back and forth on dates as we could never just get a straight answer. Having read reviews on here, we were very clear that we wanted to stay in the original cabana and booked in plenty of time.

We arrived, on Christmas Day when you don't want hassle, to be shown to the new building Moloka. The rooms were very modern, large and looked great, but we were there for the views and our rooms looked into the forest. So we explained our booking (luckily one of us spoke Spanish) and were left sitting around for a really long time, wasting time we wanted to spend relaxing on the beach. We even had to speak to someone on the phone, the owner I believe, who was absolutely useless and blamed the agent. Eventually after about an hour of negotiating and arguing we were given a large room in the main cabana. It had four beds; there were six of us. We asked for more beds and went off to the beach. We came back to one more bed, so I had to spend the night top-to-tail with my friend on a single bed, which was not worth the very high cost of the room.

The building itself is very old and rustic, though that is part of it's charm. A lot of the space is open to the sea, which is a great experience. However, our shower had a large window overlooking the main bath for locals to get home from the beach, there was literally no privacy.

Dinner and breakfast were provided and eaten communally, the meals were quite basic but fresh ingredients and very nice. The pudding was so delicious I ate any leftovers on the table. There is an honesty bar, where you take from the fridge and pay at the end, however it was often poorly stocked and hard to get bottled water which is an essential in that climate.

Given the setting this could have been a completely wonderful experience, but the stress at the start and the poor night's sleep really let it down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis fernando g, Owner at Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Our direct web pages are barloventotayrona.com for the Cabaña and barloventomaloka.com for the Maloka. As I explained to you at the time, your reservation was made by a travel agency and not directly with us, and was honored exactly as we received it. When we are not completely full we try to accommodate our guests’ preferences to the best of our ability even changing houses from the Cabaña to the Maloka or the other way around but when we are at 100% capacity I am rendered useless in that respect, as you well point out.
Regarding the rooms that look at the forest many people actually prefer them as the view and sounds of the birds are actually an experience and you can just walk a few meters and look at the river and the ocean from the social area.
Thanks so much for your review which I will in turn pass on to the appropriate travel agency hopping to avoid such problems in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews