We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent discovery in Santa Marta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palma Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palma Blanca
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Hendersonville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent discovery in Santa Marta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

After a very bad experience, my wife and I discovered this great hotel in the Rodadero area at Santa Marta. The owner, Adriana, and the staff treated us as the only guests of the hotel. The room was huge, very clean and comfortable. The food was great. The breakfast was included in our rate. It was delicious and always accompanied by an excellent Colombian coffee. The place was very quiet. When my wife and I returned from our daily outings, we stayed a long while in the terrace or at the pool area. I recommend this hotel, if you want a quiet and safe place, and to feel like in home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012 and this hotel is truly lovely. The staff are amazingly kind & helpful, the rooms & common areas immaculately clean and it is just a gorgeous place to either hang out or walk into the main Rodadero area. Plus, it's great value for money too!
If I'm back up this way, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Marta, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

When looking for an "affordable" hotel in Santa Marta/Rodadero, I think it would be easy to make a mistake! In fact, our cab driver dropped us off at the wrong hotel just a few doors away and my wife was almost in tears. When we finally made it to Hotel Palma Blanca, we were very pleased! The Hotel is charming, spotless and the staff "devoted" to your comfort. After eight days, we were saying goodbye to "freinds". We "upgraded" to a room overlooking the pool that featured wonderful wood stained cathedral ceilings and rich white tile floors. My wife and
I got food poisoning from a street vendor (DON'T DO THAT!) and Adriana, the proprietor, personally took us to the infirmary and the "Drugeria" at 3am! The restaurant is very affordable (even after the upgrade) and everything was great. We can highly recommend this very nice, affordable hotel in Rodadero!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the second floor with the wood and glass french doors overlooking the pool! Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is located in El Rodadero, not in Santa Marta, but this was just fine. El Rodadero is a resort town just south of Santa Marta, and the location was a good stepping off point for Tanganag and Tayrona. The hotel was very clean and within walking distance of the 'downtown' area, but far enough away to be quiet at night. We were there for a holiday weekend and it was really busy. On Monday the crowds thinned right out and it became much more low key. We saw very few non-Colombians and there were no hassles with vendors.
The hotel has its own comida typica restaurant and while simple, the food was great. The pool was almost always free of people which was great for us.
The hotel is owned by a Colombian woman who has lived in the US for many years. It was helpful for us to have such a fluent speaker of English.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eggcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#33 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#41 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Portobahia Hotel
Portobahia Hotel
#32 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tayromar
Hotel Tayromar
#31 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#44 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.5 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#52 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Blanca

Property: Hotel Palma Blanca
Address: Calle 20 # 1B-69 | El Rodadero, Santa Marta 470001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palma Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palma Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing