We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location!!!”
Review of Hotel Palmarena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palmarena
Ranked #81 of 117 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Palmarena, and I had a pleasant time. I loved the pool and bar area, it has a lot of palm trees and it is very relaxing. I was skeptical because of the reviews, but I am glad I stayed here, The hotel is under a new management, the service was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel is located in Rodadero, not in Santa Marta.
If you are a tourist, you should stay in Santa Marta, not here. And not in this depressing hotel.
The hotel is quite big, it hosts wedding and events. The breakfast room for instance is huge, with old furniture and quite depressing. The breakfast menu is varied (eggs, fruits etc) but quality is poor.
The rooms are very basic, you will feel like in a barrack with no hot water.
Considering the quality of the rooms and location and no hot water, the hotel is definitely overpriced. They will try to charge you even for the shampoo that in all the rest of the world hotels provide as complimentary.
There's nothing to do/see in Rodadero, we ended up here by mistake as we were misled by the address which led us think it was located in Santa Marta.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Augustus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Booked there through Booking.com. When we arrived they did not had our reservation (they said that they do not use Booking.com). We managed to get 4 rooms which were simply terrible. Very dirty, rooms are built in the '70s and never renewed. Breakfast is disgusting with little choice other than not to eat: we were offere 2 eggs, 1 piece of bread, coffe with milk and one portion of jam. At the check-out we discovered that we had to pay for the soap used.
An by the way, it is not cheap for Colombian standard.

Do not go there even if you do not have an alternative. Sleep under the stars as it is better value for money. Please not that this review is not made by a romantic couple with children but by a bunch of friend who travelled on the road in India, Pakistan, Vietnam, South America etc.

Room Tip: Do not enter into the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gubias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank ttevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: mejor que no vaya
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ViajeroDd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank Lucía H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juan Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
6.4 mi away
Irotama Resort
Irotama Resort
#15 of 67 in Santa Marta
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#39 of 67 in Santa Marta
71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Medellin Rodadero
Hotel Medellin Rodadero
#41 of 189 in Santa Marta
33 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nueva Granada
Hotel Nueva Granada
#10 of 117 in Santa Marta
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmarena

Address: Calle 19 # 1B - 63, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range: £58 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palmarena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Palmarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing