We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Hostal de Jackie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice accomodation in the Santa Marta,nice beds and bathroom,very good breakfast...i think is one of the best places you can find in the city!.......Great and friendly staff,they help me to spent my time very well.So cheaper the price for all those things that they can offer you,more you can stay in the centre of the city near monuments and discos and next to the wonderful beach...Enjoy it!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was a lovely quiet place I stayed for a couple of days its close to everything really convenient ! Thanks so much for the stay, if i ever came back I would stay again , just making sure that it was peak season!
They even dropped me off to another place instead of the taxi's and charged the same amount it was really convenient !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Apjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great place to stay! Quite place, very relaxing! the pool was amazing, and the personnel too! If i have the opportunity to go to Santa Marta again I would definitely stay there again :) I went with my mom and she loved it too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Silvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Staff were great, as was breakfast! Very relaxed and friendly overall. It could be noisy at night, but that's just fine for some people. Small fans above each bunk were a great and necessary touch. All your basics, plus a small pool and some rooftop hammocks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ghintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at Hostel de Jackie for almost one month! I absolutely loved the staff, appreciated how personable the staff was. I painted a mural in the hostel and really got to know the workings of how the place was ran. The staff gets to know each guest and really cared about the well being. Jackie was more than welcoming and went above and beyond to help quests. Her presence around the hostel was also recognized.

There is a wonderful breakfast on the roof top each morning. The space is a open great for relaxing in hammock and hanging out. I would highly recommend staying here! It is a way to get away from tourists and experience Santa Marta in a authentic way.

Room Tip: Yes yes yes, of course. I want to go travel back to Colombia just to stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollabolla00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My first impression was, that this Hostal is really popular! There were plenty of people from different countries. The staff was really kind and tries to help everybody with their requests.
The location is quite perfect, you are in a few minutes in the Center of Santa Martha, or you can walk to the beach. Nearly everybody says good morning to you and with some people you can start to discuss about all their experiences they or you have done - so the atmosphere is perfect for travelers without high requirement. Just one thing I didn't like very much - the toilets were a bit in a bad state but manageable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at this hostel with a friend in July 2013, as recommended by the staff at Dreamer (which was booked up that night). The hostel is small but clean, the staff are helpful and nice, and there is a small, clean pool on the ground level which is outdoors. The included breakfast was a plus, and the ladies that cooked it were very sweet.

A big plus is that this hostel is located very close to Parque de los Novios which was a relatively popular hangout on the Friday night I stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 91Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
1.5 mi away
Drop Bear Hostel
Drop Bear Hostel
#7 of 205 in Santa Marta
305 reviews
3 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#3 of 205 in Santa Marta
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 205 in Santa Marta
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar
3.3 mi away
Casa del Ritmo
Casa del Ritmo
#8 of 205 in Santa Marta
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#6 of 205 in Santa Marta
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Jackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Jackie

Address: Calle 21 # 3-40, Santa Marta 57, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: £9 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The housing possesses Internet wi-fi of high speed, laundry service, 24 hours reception, and tourist information. It is equipped with 14 comfortable rooms. It has shared and private rooms, some of them with shared bathrooms, air conditioning, etc. Another are multiples accommodation bedrooms with fan and private bathroom. The Hostel has some common and social areas like TV’s room, kitchen, pool and a terrace bar where you will be able to share your anecdotes, histories and experiences of trip and have a spectacular cultural exchange with the new friends that you will meet here.In Jackie's hostel we are waiting for you, We want to offer you a great staying, We got a lot of things to provide you and no mention our well known accomodation of Santa Martha. It counts with an excellent location, just a few blocks to the mains Restaurants, Night Clubs and Historical places. You can walk along the most beautiful bay of America where you can enjoy beautiful Twilights. Also, you can visit the oldest Cathedral of South America, the Gold’s Museum which is full of history; you can see closely the daily life of the natives (samarios) who are full of color and pure Caribbean expression. Here there is much for discovering, is very exciting, vibrant, and enterteining, to feel the magic thing that has Santa Marta. Enjoy it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal de Jackie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing