We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Hostal de Jackie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very helpful staff, good breakfast, nice dorm with ensuite bathroom, rooftop bar, pool, central location. Only the laundry was a bit expensive but you code wash your clothes yourself and hang them outside.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petiteplume82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    71
    21
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
72
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Only book this hostel if you like gambling because there is no way of being sure that you’ve reserved your room (reconfirming doesn’t even help). We arrived at the hostel at 10pm to be told that they had double booked our private room and we could either stay in a dorm or basically piss off and find our own alternative accommodation. This was despite us emailing the hostel earlier today to let them know we’d be arriving late at night and getting an email back saying “No problem, we will be waiting for you”. They didn’t show any interest in helping us until we called the booking website (who by contrast were very helpful). The hostel eventually offered to put us in another hostel nearby that is owned by the same owner and also has a pool (both not true as it turned out). They arranged a cab for us but underpaid the driver. When we arrived at the new hostel and found out there was no breakfast included, Jackie’s eventually and reluctantly offered for us to walk to their hostel each morning to have breakfast there. In four months of traveling through South America, we’ve had some good and bad hostel and hotel experiences, but this is by far the worst. If you do not want to repeat this experience, do not book this hostel.

Room Tip: Get at least four confirmations of your booking (3 not enough)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyandSam_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G, Owner at El Hostal de Jackie, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sincerely sorry for what happened that day. Please be sure that it is in no way a common case for us. It has been a mistake from a member of the reception staff because we don't do overbooking. We did pay the difference for the room you've been in the other hostel which was 60.000$ Colombian Pesos.

We are not denying that we are guilty but please accept our most sincere apologizes and we thank you for your review, like that we can take corrective actions. If we could have the opportunity to make it better it would be the greatest honour.

My best regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Great little hostel close to everything. Secure, we got an AC room for 2 people for 50,000 cop, shared bathroom. Could do with a paint but that's our only little complaint, didn't affect our stay and would defo recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howsonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you are looking for some place beautiful and cheap, you already found it at Hostal de Jackie. It's a central location and really near from great places to take drinks :) they have a travels book and you can choose what to visit at Santa Marta

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Right in the center of the city, near to bars and restaurants. Great terrace on the roof with a bar, hammocks and a pool table. The staff is very nice and helpful. The pool saved me from the heat more than once!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedr1to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent one night here and were very comfortable. It is well sited and close to restaurants and the major local attractions of Santa Marta.

Double room was comfortable with AC and we slept very well. Towels were provided and the shared bathroom was spotless as was the whole place.

There is a pool and bar which we didn't get to take advantage of but looked nice.

Breakfast was included and drinking water freely available.

All in all a good find, we actually planned to stay one more night but unfortunately there was no availability.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twohermitcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Central location, only one block from plaza de los novios /5mins to p bolivar
Nice breakfast for free
Friendly and helpful staff
Rooms are a bit small for 6 beds
Safe place
Kitchen with purified water

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saray78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#10 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#3 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#4 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casa del Ritmo
Casa del Ritmo
#6 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.8 mi away
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
#1 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Jackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Jackie

Property: El Hostal de Jackie
Address: Calle 21 # 3-40, Santa Marta 57, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The housing possesses Internet wi-fi of high speed, laundry service, 24 hours reception, and tourist information. It is equipped with 14 comfortable rooms. It has shared and private rooms, some of them with shared bathrooms, air conditioning, etc. Another are multiples accommodation bedrooms with fan and private bathroom. The Hostel has some common and social areas like TV’s room, kitchen, pool and a terrace bar where you will be able to share your anecdotes, histories and experiences of trip and have a spectacular cultural exchange with the new friends that you will meet here.In Jackie's hostel we are waiting for you, We want to offer you a great staying, We got a lot of things to provide you and no mention our well known accomodation of Santa Martha. It counts with an excellent location, just a few blocks to the mains Restaurants, Night Clubs and Historical places. You can walk along the most beautiful bay of America where you can enjoy beautiful Twilights. Also, you can visit the oldest Cathedral of South America, the Gold’s Museum which is full of history; you can see closely the daily life of the natives (samarios) who are full of color and pure Caribbean expression. Here there is much for discovering, is very exciting, vibrant, and enterteining, to feel the magic thing that has Santa Marta. Enjoy it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your El Hostal de Jackie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing