We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaaaamazing”

La Canoa Cafe Cultural
Ranked #19 of 290 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aaaaamazing”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Ricisimo menu del dia. Economico y lindo ambito. If you are in Santa Marta, stop by here for a cheap (14k), quality, and awesome lunch. Yum!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Owner at La Canoa Cafe Cultural, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias!! nos encanta tenerte como cliente y amiga de La Canoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    50
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“This is what happens ...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

... when a French pastry chef marries a Colombiana. You get this wonderful restaurant. Very tasteful place, with pastries that are as good as anything I've had in Europe. To add an even funnier twist to the cultural dynamic of the place, the other chef is Scottish-Colombian. I have never before met a guy, who looks Colombian, speaks Spanish (and English), and his accent is full-on Scottish. My only regret is that we discovered La Canoa on our last day in Santa Marta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at La Canoa Cafe Cultural, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias!! ojala tengan la oportunidad de volver a Santa Marta y a La Canoa, fue un placer tenerlos acá!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Colombia”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The owner of Hostal Mango recommended this place, and we weren't disappointed. We were the only people in that evening, so the service was sharp. After a couple of weeks of the the Colombian staples of arepas, frijoles and salty meat (and given that 2 of our group are veggies), we were just about ready for a change. The salads were excellent, and the beef was beautifully cooked, with fresh vegetables. A starter of cheese and pesto was perfectly sized. The limonda was one of the best in Colombia, and they do really nice little desserts too. The place itself has a nice vibe, with high ceilings and artwork. We sat out in the little terrace. Not the cheapest place, but definitely good value for the quality of the food If you're in Santa Marta, have a meal here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgerardi, Owner at La Canoa Cafe Cultural, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por tus comentarios! estamos muy felices de atenderlos y de saber que pasaron un buen momento en La Canoa! esperamos vuelvan pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try the Menu of the Day”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A local took me here for lunch and now I'm hooked. I love the ambiance. The menu of the day is $14,000 and includes a delicious soup, main and little desert. I am very impressed with not only the taste of the food but the presentation. I have never experience slow service and have been there twice during the lunch rush. I can't speak for breakfast or after hour but the lunch menu of the day is definitely worth it....especially the thai chicken.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alotacolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at La Canoa Cafe Cultural, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias!! nos alegra que te haya gustado nuestro menú y servicio!! hasta pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Ambience was great, with a live band on Friday night. We sat in a patio though, which was separate from the rest of the restaurant. Services was slow, (they had one less waiter that day, to be fair). On the plus side, wine was cheap. Also, plates looked o.k. - well presented, and the seviche as starter was good. I've heard the pain au chocolat for breakfast on sundays is great. However, the sirloin steak with blue cheese sauce was not great-tasting and the snook with wine sauce was nothing to write home about. Don't go there expecting great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Owner at La Canoa Cafe Cultural, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Google Translation
Es una lastima que te hayas ido con una impresión no tan favorable,,, esperamos poder atenderte nuevamente, para que tengas otra apreciación de La Canoa! gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Canoa Cafe Cultural also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to La Canoa Cafe Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing