We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Barlovento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Barlovento
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden paradise”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This place is something I wish I had found a long time ago. If you can imagine the most beautiful view of a beach as well as the ocean, you would be standing on the balconies of this hidden gem and smile. The rooms are simple yet fit right in to the surroundings. We had the corner room with the ocean and river view. Very quiet and peaceful. Large bathroom as well. The staff were amazing with home cooked meals for breakfast and dinner. All fresh! There is Los Angeles beach, a short 20 minute walk which is just amazing to enjoy. I would assure you that you will leave this place stress free and happy you were able to enjoy tayrona park staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel Casa Barlovento stands on the edge of the sea at a river estuary, in an estate with 2 other hotels with names that include Barlovento - Cabanas - be careful to book the right one. There are 6 large rooms all with aircon and fantastic views. The staff were very effective and looked after us with marvellous care. The food, cooked by Conchy, a lovely,elegant lady, was always good - great assortment of fruits, fish, prawns, chicken or meat, served with rice, beans, patacones. The swimming pools are small but the lack of many people means one is usually alone in the water. The river estuary below the hotel has a lagoon of very pleasant water and we often swam there. The estate in which the hotel stands is of several acres and provides a nice quiet place to walk. We stayed 6 nights and wished it could have been longer. We really recommend this place strongly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pnbfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Here I thought I booked a room in a highly recommended hotel, raved about in all guidebooks and... I ended up next door. This, unlike its neibour, is not a very welcoming place. The atmosphere is rather cold thanks to unwelcoming atmosphere, distant staff and 100% cold concrete which surrounds you

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RogiOstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Marta hotels

Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Great place, excellent people over there.

Paradise must be something similar to this.

The service is perfect, very good food .They only sell wine And beer.

From here you can visit the Park tayrona , you must ask for the service And its around 5 dollars.


Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

First of all the location is absolutely spectacular and very close to Tyrona parc. Secondly the suites are great, simply decorated but very cosy. The views are fantastic and most of all the service is perfect. David who is the person in charge of the place was extremely profesional and helpful with all our "annoying" european questions and requirements. The whole team with a special + for Javier were fantastic. I highly recomend this place.

Room Tip: Take room number 3 if it's available. It has panoramic view;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
1.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
498 reviews
8.2 mi away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buritaca
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Posada Villa Margarita
Posada Villa Margarita
#1 of 4 in Los Naranjos
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
#2 of 5 in Tayrona National Park
79 reviews
3.1 mi away
Posadas Ecoturisticas El Reposo
Posadas Ecoturisticas El Reposo
#79 of 104 in Santa Marta
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Barlovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barlovento

Property: Casa Barlovento
Address: Kilometro 33 Via Riohacha, Santa Marta 5700, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Barlovento 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Barlovento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing