We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BELIEVE THE HYPE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Ok, let me start off by saying that I never leave reviews but now I feel compelled to do so.

Myself and my partner like the finer things in life and we are always looking to stay in the best possible hotels whenever we travel. 99% of the time , we find ourselves massively underwhelmed by the 5* reviews and ratings.

When choosing where to stay on our trip , I looked at all the apparently high end places and the customer feedback was average at best. It was then that I stumbled across Casa de Leda.

Could it really be that a hotel is THAT GOOD? Honestly, I was dubious - but I booked anyway as the price was extremely low and the reviews and photos were so good.

So , upon arrival we were greeted by a porter that took our case from the car and checked us in in rapid time. As we left the well appointed reception we were met with an impressive atrium that was furnished impeccably and through the Greco style pillars we caught glimpse of the jewell of the crown, the oasis which is the small pool area - ( amazingly relaxing after a nice turku which is free to use too)

So we were then shown to our room " CEDRO" - as we walked in the aroma of cedar was the first thing to greet us, not too much not too little , just right! Instantly relaxed we we able to adjust our senses to take in the rest of the room - a large 4 poster bed that looked so inviting with all the pillows and little biscuits on them, a mezzanine level with a little sofa for reading then a well appointed sink area and shower. Although there is no door on the shower ( no problem for us) it is extremely well decorated and has a 5 jet shower head. Only thing missing was a light in the shower but we didnt feel hindered in anyway.

The room was impeccable, not a hint of dirt and to our joy it was cleaned DAILY.

Breakfast on the terrace was great- a great array of cooked to order treats. Unlike many so called top hotels that offer buffet style junk, we found our food to be high quality and plentiful.

We used the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding areas of Santa Marta such as Tayrona. I had noticed people said the location of this hotel was bad but to be honest I cant imagine anywhere better. 2 blocks from Parque de los novios is about as close as you can get to the restaurants and bars.

If you are looking for an honest review, this is it summed up.

1) You have the best hotel in the area that is small enough to make it feel like a home
2) You have rooms that are way above the standards you would expect for the price
3) You have the most attentive staff of any hotel , especially in Santa Marta
4) You have a great location
5) You have easy access by bus or taxi to Taganga, Tayrona, El Rodadero

Nothing will beat this place. If we ever decide to return to Santa Marta - we will certainly contact Jacob directly as there is no other competition in our eyes!

5 stars across the board, the place is a triumph! Congratulations on a job well done.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie1980425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for these wonderful words. It is so nice to hear that we surpassed your expectations. It was a pleasure to meet you while you were here, and I hope to see you again when you visit Santa Marta. I do hope that you contact me directly for your reservation, as I would be very happy to set you up personally. Perhaps next time you would like to try Villa Maria, our jungle retreat just outside of Tayrona National Park. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Casa de Leda is one of the most unique, hospitable hotels I've stayed in. I loved the unique design of the atrium and rooms, and you can't beat the fresh breakfast on the balcony. It definitely made Santa Marta a destination on the way to Parque Tayrona. We had a chance to check out the Leda's sister hotel, the Isabella, as well and I'm sure staying in either would be a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydnee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for this review. We love to hear from all guests, and its especially nice when their stay was fantastic. Our goal is to help Santa Marta realize its potential as a world class destination, and our proud to count our hotels among all the new things happening in the city. We hope to see you again soon! Remember to book direct with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the moment you enter this hotel, the wonderful staff gives you their undivided attention and makes you feel welcome. The rooms Are absolutely gorgeous! The beds are extremely comfortable and the shower is phenomenal. Breakfast is lovely, with great choices. The hotel has a great patio to relax on and enjoy the great weather and ambience. A wonderful experience. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Drorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

I'm not sure you could have said anything nicer about our hotel! Thanks so much for writing this review. It is one of the main pleasures of running a hotel to hear of a happy guest. We work so that every guest leaves Casa de Leda as satisfied as you did. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

11 modern decor large rooms on heritage street three blocks from Plaza de Novios. I stayed in room 10-Naranjos a large air conditioned penthouse suite with cathedral ceilings, hot tub, two tvs & ensuite bath. Small balcony with great view of the nearby cathedral. Friends stayed in room 1, a smaller but still large room with a bed & bath on the main level & a loft bed up a short flight of stairs inside the room. Ideal for two travellers sharing. Tiny dip pool next reception, welcome in 35c-100f heat. Excellent breakfast served on second floor terrace, which is also the sitting area. Recommend plantain puree with chorizo, cheese and onion called cayeye for breakfast. Friendly reception staff printed airplane boarding passes. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vin0tint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thanks a lot for writing this review. We are so glad you enjoyed you stay, and are equally as glad you mentioned all that you did in your review. You covered so many great aspects of our hotel, from the details in the rooms, to the location, to the breakfast, to our high level of service. We hope to see you again! Remember to book direct with the hotel for great discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Casa De Leda is in a perfect location of Santa Marta. Walking distance to the great restaurants/bars/beach.
The rooms in the hotel are BEAUTIFUL and spacious! Very romantic! The shower was the best shower I have ever been in. Water coming at you from every angle!
I was traveling with 2 others and they brought in an extra bed, which was actually comfortable!
The staff bent over backwards to help us with everything and anything we wanted! They were all wonderful!
Breakfast is included and was very good.
The plunge pool and steam room were very nice for relaxing!
The major plus is the communication with the hotel. I had a few questions upon booking and they IMMEDIATELY emailed me back!

Room Tip: We stayed in NAZARENO and it was great! Top floor, good views, beautiful room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahanne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for writing us up. Our goal is to provide top level service and comfort at a good price at all Kali Hotels. You highlighted many things we constantly strive to perfect, and we're so glad we made your stay great. Thanks for booking direct with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family which includes a four year old. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the rooms were average size but used all the space wonderfully. Service and breakfast was exquisite. Located in old city perfect for a couple days exploring the town.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thanks a lot for reviewing us. Casa de Leda is still relatively new, and reviews like yours let us know we are doing something right. We hope to see you again soon! Remember to book directly with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Rooms are very nice with a clean modern décor. Loved the tile and showerhead in the bath. I would have given it a higher rating, but for 2 reasons. Their website promotes a complimentary pick up at the airport. When we arrived there was no driver or car there to pick us up. A nice friendly lady at the airport picking up other passengers offered to help and call the hotel for us. They sounded confused and eventually we were picked up. Thought nothing of it until we departed. Several weeks before we arrived I asked the hotel to arrange a car for 4 people to drive us from Santa Marta to Cartagena, a 4 hour drive. I was given confirmation via email and I confirmed upon arrival. When the car arrived for pickup it was so small that 4 people with luggage could barely get in....that is with the front passenger holding his carryon roller bag in his lap. We were told at the hotel that it would be a short drive to the airport where we would be transferred to a larger vehicle. Somewhere close to the airport the driver pulls over to the shoulder on the highway where another taxi is sitting. This new car was marginally larger. All 4 of us had to hold our carry on bags in our laps. The 2 roller bags and other 2 larger checked bags barely fit into the trunk. It was a long uncomfortable drive to Cartagena. Hey, but the driver was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

We appreciate your stay and that you took the time to review us. I am so sorry about the inconveniences you mentioned with your transport. I have looked into both instances to figure out what happened and to avoid anything similar in the future. In terms of the original airport pickup, it seems there was a last minute change in your flight plan. We regret you had to wait after landing, and we rushed to the airport as fast as possible for your pick up. Also, I understand that you were cramped as 4 people in a sedan taxi with all of your luggage on the way to Cartagena. In line with our policies, I believe we offered a larger, slightly more expensive van for your group, which was declined. Please understand we do not operate or receive profits from the transport services we arrange, we simply want to make sure our guests arrive and leave with ease. If you are ever back in the area, we would welcome the opportunity to make your stay truly special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
229 reviews
22.7 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel

Address: Calle 18 No. 4-38 | El Centro Historico, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Leda Hotel & Spa)
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leda is the newest addition to Kali Hotels. Its luxurious and relaxing spa complements each room's unique and grand style. First owned by a wealthy family of Santa Marta's golden age, the original house where Casa de Leda sits dates back to the late 19th century. While most of that house no longer stands, we salvaged its original fluted columns, facade, and floor tiling. In this remodeling, as with Casa de Isabella, we consistently chose classical style, maintaining the building's original integrity whenever possible. With Casa de Leda, we proudly present a full service boutique hotel and spa. Spacious rooms under vaulted ceilings give way to open bathrooms with plenty of natural light. The open terrace, flanked by cascades of green vines and equipped with a cooling mist system, overlooks the Santa Marta Cathedral. Each room includes an aromatherapy kit, and some have in-room hot tubs. Flat screen TVs in every room have media players with music stations and video libraries. We also provide free WiFi, international calling, and breakfast cooked-to-order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing