We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is my second stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. If you are looking for a magical place where the old colonial style meets perfectly with the modern world, this is the place. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food is great and the atmosphere is unreal. This is the place to stay if you visit Santa Marta, Colombia.

Room Tip: The Don Pepe Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

A group of 5 of us stayed at the Don Pepe Hotel Santa Marta. This is a fantastic place to stay with beautiful individual styled rooms. The staff could not have been more helpful. Service & food were outstanding – we would have no hesitation in recommending Don Pepe as “the” place to stay in Santa Marta.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagsDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A wonderful hotel with a very attentive staff. Definitely a good place to stay if you want to catch some of the flavor of Colombia in days gone bye. Each of the rooms were actual bedrooms of the family that had owned the house. The food for breakfast and lunch was also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organicjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This grand casona in the middle of the historic centre of Santa Marta is truly the jewel of this very special town. Not only is the place impeccably decorated and designed but they really make you feel at home and part of the Don Pepe family. This is a place that if you look closely you can find a wonderful story in every corner, in every picture, in every piece of furniture. Mr. Juancho the owner was kind enough to take us around and explain this ode to his family heritage, how every room has the name of one of his sisters or brothers, and of course the master suite is named after his parents. I invite you to stay at Hotel boutique Don Pepe and discover these stories and enjoy the beautiful Colombian coast try their food, dance to their beats and go at their pace because on the coast life truly is more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulina-gallardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Don Pepe for 2 nights after having had a less than pleasant experience at a far more expensive hotel in the area. On entering Don Pepe, we were welcomed with wonderful smiles, Elizabeth and Jorge at the front desk were extremely helpful. We were showed several rooms but opted for the cheapest which was still very big with beautiful cotton linen and all the comforts that you would expect from a luxury boutique hotel. At the bar on the top floor we were greeted by Carlos-there is no better barman anyway and the bar area is surrounded by comfortable sofas, sun lounges and a fabulous jacuzzi, a great place to relax at the end of a busy day. Olga, one of the managers, is fantastic at her job and catered for our every need in a very professional, yet sincere and warm manner. We must have mentioned it was our wedding anniversary at some point, and we were given champagne, cakes and a card. This could not have been a greater contrast to our previous hotel who didn't even acknowledge, let alone wish my husband a Happy 50th Birthday!!!

If you want a fabulous, comfortable hotel in an excellent location with extremely high standards, fabulous food and an excellent level of service than look no further than this wonderful hotel-thank you for making are stay in Santa Marta so memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbrag_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a lovely boutique property with lots of charm and character. Staff are exceptionally nice and obliging, if not so fluent in English. Nice location close to waterfront and Calle 19. The earlier comment about bathrooms being part of the rooms is true for some rooms, so good to check beforehand. Love the courtyard and the rooftop bar and hot tub which is fab after a day long hike to Tayrona!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sueboo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed at Don Pepe's for two nights during a business trip. I was in a VERY large room on the 3rd floor. The room was very well appointed and quite romantic. Felt like a shame since I was there on business. The bathroom is part of the room itself with a beautiful glass enclosed shower stall and a wonderful rainfall shower head. So if you're shy and sharing your room, keep this in mind.

Breakfast was served each morning on the tables in the courtyard alongside the small pool. Nothing is rushed here so be sure to allow yourself ample time to just enjoy and savor the feeling of what it must have been like to have lived in this beautiful old home. The family that owns this hotel also owns a newspaper in Colombia and they have old editions bound in huge books in one of the meeting rooms on the main floor. Fun to glance through.

Room Tip: If you do not like to climb stairs or have trouble doing so then be sure to ask for a room on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 72 in Santa Marta
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 72 in Santa Marta
562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 72 in Santa Marta
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
7.1 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#10 of 72 in Santa Marta
1,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#13 of 72 in Santa Marta
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Don Pepe

Address: Calle 16 1c - 92 | Barrio Centro, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: £93 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Don Pepe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DON PEPE Hotel, here you can find the presence of history and Samaritan human greatness, the hospitality of our patriot ancestors who took care of the venerable rests of Simon Bolivar, founder of our homeland, that united to the visionary effort of Don Jose Benito Vives Campo (DON PEPE), they interlace to offer this place, where comfort, tranquility and pleasure will be the best welcome to the tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boutique Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing