We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
255
29
17
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
29
17
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful colonial building most important guest private car great hotel courtyard pool recommend this hotel rooms are large hot tub rooftop deck don pedro the entire staff an oasis perfect location every morning center of santa marta national park spa
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

nice a/c room to dine in and service was superb. 3 of us ate lunch mid week and we were the only customers in the fine dining room. chef came in and introduced himself and offered any help on the selections. The food was awesome and very elegantly presented. Prices were on the fine dining side but you get what you pay for. Very nice place to have a upscale lunch and be pampered. Definitely come here for one of your meals.

Room tip: We only had lunch and toured the Hotel and saw some of the rooms
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We checked in midday and were taken to our room, directly behind the check in desk (very noisy location-if you don't mind stairs always ask for upper rooms). No one mentioned the rooftop bar at hotel, or the restaurant, so we went elsewhere. I am told it's very good. Since we were only staying one night I wish the staff had been more suggestive. I take responsibility for not doing my homework as well. Very nice staff. Beautiful hotel. Wish we spent more time here to enjoy the facilities.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pinkwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Don Pedro is elegant and classy, with a very attentive and helpful staff. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated and furnished in a contemporary style which simultaneously maintains a traditional Spanish ambiance. However, some rooms, especially on the ground floor, are rather cave-like so you may need to climb stairs to get a view and a more open feeling. There are extensive roof top lounge areas, bar and spa. A restaurant, courtyard and pool (more decorative than functional for swimming) are on the ground floor. And herein perhaps lies their problem. Although lovely, these extensive areas (including restaurant and bar) must be supported by around 12 rooms, hence the high charge per room for Colombia. Arriving by car is also a challenge since there is no dedicated place to stop for check-in.

Room tip: ground floor rooms are "closed-in". Upper floors better.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonandJeanneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

The transfer from the airport, organised by the hotel was brilliant, on arrival our cases were taken to our rooms and a nice iced cocktail served to us. Our room (12) was perfect, spacious, well furnished with excellent aircon, and the best ceiling fan ever. The huge bed was so comfortable with copious cushions. Bathroom perfect with great shower. The balcony area was super for relaxing on either in or out of the sun. The bar area is great for sunbathing or just having a drink, and the jacuzzi is a nice way to cool off.
Breakfast is served in the ground floor area near the pool. Breakfast is great, fresh fruit, small bread rolls, traditional coastal dishes and eggs any way you want them! The chef, Juan, prepares and cooks the wonderful arepas fresh - the best I've ever had, and nothing like the pre made supermarket types!You must try the cayaya, a beautiful Coastal dish of mashed plantain with tomato, onion and sweet corn, topped with cheese, ...heaven.
Dinner at this hotel is a must, and by far the best restaurant in Santa Marta. The chef Juan Jose Bruis, half Scottish, I'm told trained with Gordon Ramsey in the UK, and now back in Colombia to fuse the traditional dishes with classical techniques. His fish stew is sublime, with perfectly cooked seafood, rich, well balanced sauce. The Ceviche has complex background flavours, which don't over power the fish, and everything is well seasoned - something of a rarity in most restaurants here!
This hotel is very well placed to enjoy the city centre and seafront, all the staff are very friendly and helpful, thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BlarrBlarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Santa Marta is not a nice city. The old city is run down, graffiti covered, and beggar filled. They are trying to revitalize it but it is a long way away. Hotel Don Pepe is an oasis in this mess. Behind the gate your'll find a small pool that you can dip your feet into, big rooms with high ceilings and good service. Anywhere else and you might mind the deferred maintenance - the shower hoses that have come off, a bit of peeling plaster, the gate that has to be opened by hand if you want in or out. The things they can charge for, they don't back off. Ridiculous laundry prices for example. But in the end, you don't complain about these things in Santa Marta - it's as good as it gets.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank Tusker_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews