We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel, café and place is outstanding. The best place I have ever stayed at in my life. The moment I entered the door I felt at home. The staff is so kind and helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and cosy, especially the area around the pool. The food is homemade, affordable and delicious and can be served at one of the roof terraces. I strongly recommend this place. Laura from Denmark

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurasamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    74
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
174
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This really is a great place to stay! With a cool front room to enjoy breakfast or escape from the heat of the day, comfy hammocks to lounge by the pool, or just hang out in the rooms (which are spacious and beautifully done). Just a few hundred metres from the beach at Santa Marta or the buzzing restaurants/bars near the Plaza de Novios, this is also a great base for exploring local places to visit: national parks, beaches, boat trips, driving up to the mountains etc.

The owner is very friendly, speaks excellent English, French and Spanish - and seemed very happy to suggest how to make the most of our stay in beautiful Santa Marta. Not to be missed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack5852000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This place is an absolute gem of a find in Colombia. As soon as you walk through the door you feel like you're in a haven; away from the hustle of Santa Marta. The courtyard aspect of the hotel ensures that every room has a great view. The staff were all incredibly helpful, arranging day trips to Sierra Nevada(Minca), Tanganga, and an unforgeable boat trip to some of the beaches in Tyrona. Santa Marta worked as a fantastic jumping off point and we ended up staying at Casa Carolina for almost a week.

The rooms themselves are incredibly spacious and kitted out with all of the mod-cons. We ended up spending quite a few of our evenings having a few drinks by the pool, as we could find no reason to go anywhere else. We will be visiting again next time we are in Colombia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea_snow_sand_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

An amazing hotel! It has the potential to be the Shorditch House of Colombia. The moment you walk into the expansive dining and pool area, you get a feel for the warmth this place radiates.

There has been significant attention to the architecture, with water flowing down the wall behind the spa pool; swinging seats hanging between arches for lazy afternoons;
and four poster beds on the terrace to enjoy a drink at sunset.

The bed rooms have good space, with large very comfy double beds, wifi, tv, fridge, hifi, and large wet room shower area. There is also a chaise-longue to chill on, but you should probably be out exploring!

It is perfectly positioned for day trips to all the major landmark's in the region. The hotel staff are super friendly and pride themselves on doing a good job. They organised daily excursions for us up into the Sierra Nevada mountains to see coffee plantations and beautiful waterfalls against a tropical forest background. We also went to Taganga for one of our days. Again wonderful. We also used it as a starting point for a trip into the desert in Cabo De La Vela to get kitesurf tuition. Again, the hotel can organise this for you.

Hope you have as great an experience here as we did!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayhPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
7.2 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#12 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina

Property: Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Address: Calle 12 # 3-40 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 470001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Carolina is a luxurious but relaxed Boutique Hotel located in a calm area of Santa Marta's beautiful historic centre. Facilities include swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa treatments, luxury rooms and suites, roof terraces, restaurant and bar, laundry, 24hr reception, kids equipment. All rooms have hot power shower, safe, fridge, International HDTV, telephone, Ipod docking station, wifi, use of tablet computers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing