We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

OMG!! I've loved it! Very confortable, the food, the spaces are very cosy and the people offer an excellent service and are extremely nice. I definitely come baack when visiting Santa Marta, my best option! Thank you all for receiving me for a day, I relaxed a lot and loved the place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    74
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
174
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights after 7 weeks of hostels it was just what we needed! Lovely little place, lovely staff. Not far from Plaza de los novios, but meals are also excellent in hotel as well as cocktails!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naillig07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed there for my birthday!
That was just great, the service was amazing, the standard room was bag and we had the biggest bed I saw in my life!
And the price was really good compare to other hotels !
Really recommend it !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Océane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

David and Vanessa and their staff are welcoming, the hotel is fantastic, very modern and very relaxed. Didn't want to leave! Would certainly recommend it if you looking for a few days of peace and luxury in the heart of a less than luxurious city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment of arrival Casa Carolina feels like a tranquil oasis in the hubbub of Santa Marta. David and Vanessa and their staff are welcoming and helpful, the ambience is stylish, and the mood relaxed. Our room was spacious and well appointed and very comfortable. We stayed twice over an eight day period as David had suggested we take a two night stay away at Barlovento a beautiful beachside lodge which the staff organised for us. There also organised trips to the coffee plantation at Minca and to Tayrona Park and our transfer to Cartagena. Casa Carolina is well positioned in the old part of town, a short walk from the Plaza de Novios restaurant area and from the sea front. All in all a fine hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Superb attention to details and customer service summarise our stay at "Casa Carolina". From the moment you check in to your check out, the management and staff strive to make you feel special and at home. Close enough to the heart of the city and at the same time smartly located so that at night your sleep won't be disturbed by the live music and parties that go on in Santa Marta. Upon arrival we were surprised to be greeted by our names and offered a refreshing drink, which felt really nice after a long and steaming hot trip we had made from Cartagena. My lady was particularly delighted by the fresh flowers in the room, slippers and bathrobes, and hand-made aromatic soaps. We loved to relax by the swimming pool and at the rooftop "cabanas" enjoying a nice view of the sky and the city from above. The bed and pillows are of very good quality and big enough. Hotel staff is courteous and try hard to meet your needs. We will definitely stay in this hotel whenever we return to Santa Marta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The location it's quite scary, when you cross the park at night there are plenty of homless and it's too dark, in fact thr second night we decided to stay at the hotel at night. The hotel is nice, new and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brmc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaCarolina, Owner at Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, many thanks for your kind comments about Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us.

We are sorry to hear you found Santa Marta slightly intimidating by night. Happily there have been absolutely no guest incidents of any kind in our neighbourhood to date, but the streets can feel quiet later on at night. We always recommend the option of a taxi (2 USD from anywhere in Santa Marta's centre) when returning late from a restaurant or bar. Our 24-hour security can organise this service and meet guests as they arrive at our door. Though not absolutely necessary, for some guests this offers peace of mind.

Colombia continues to develop and improve rapidly and Santa Marta has made great advances since we began our restoration project three years ago. Casa Carolina is an active member of the "Asociación Amigos de la Calle de la Cruz y Centro Histórico". This local group of businesses supports the police and authorities on themes such as homelessness, community projects and security, and has made significant progress in various aspects of the neighbourhood (greater police presence, improved lighting, fund-raising for local events and street maintenance), but without a doubt this work is ongoing.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future so you can see the improvements being made. Despite the need for certain precautions, we continue to find Santa Marta extremely safe and a unique and attractive holiday destination.

With our very best wishes,
Casa Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.2 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#12 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina

Property: Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Address: Calle 12 # 3-40 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 470001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Carolina is a luxurious but relaxed Boutique Hotel located in a calm area of Santa Marta's beautiful historic centre. Facilities include swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa treatments, luxury rooms and suites, roof terraces, restaurant and bar, laundry, 24hr reception, kids equipment. All rooms have hot power shower, safe, fridge, International HDTV, telephone, Ipod docking station, wifi, use of tablet computers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing