We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Irotama Resort only if you don't want to stay in Santa Marta itself.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Irotama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irotama Resort
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stay at Irotama Resort only if you don't want to stay in Santa Marta itself.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at Irotama Resort with our 2 kids (15 and 10). We travelled to Santa Marta because we live in Bogota temporarily and wanted to "tick" Santa Marta off our list of places to see during our stay in Colombia. My son had been to Irotama Resort before with friends and liked it so we went for one night from the airport and on our way to Tayrona National Park. I will say that Santa Marta is not worth going to for the beach at all, there is better in Colombia, but if you stay on the beach then Irotama Resort is ok. There are some other places along the coast that are "fancier" but considering Irotama Resort is supposedly "fancy" I can't say I would trust the others to be any better. The resort is run down. The rooms (we had a bungalow) look better on the website and could use an upgrade, especially the bathrooms and showers. The pool was the highlight for the kids who shunned the relatively unattractive beach and sea. The food in the Resort restaurants was frankly appalling and made us mostly nauseated. It is what it is - a big resort that just exists. Don't expect luxury but acceptable place to stay especially with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Life0Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    205
    79
    36
    25
See reviews for
305
132
15
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and me stayed 5 nights, 3 weeks before Christmas (low season). A long beach which is cleaned regularly. The Bohios in front of the beach are amazing; good size, nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. The view from the jacuzzi in the 16th floor is amazing, and well suited for couples, no kids around. Great place for holidays for the whole family as well. The hotel is close to the city but private enough to avoid the city noise. Close as well to the Tayrona park. We decided to rent a cab for 1 day, so he picked us up from the hotel 8am, took us to the Tayrona park and waited until we came back c.a. 5pm (driver recommended from the hotel staff, very friendly). I strongly recommend this place to foreigners (we did not pay local taxes). We are definitely going back to Irotama.

Room Tip: Bohios are the best rooms. Just in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LunaViena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Firstly say that the Country is amazing. You cannot believe the beauty of the region until you are there.

The hotel is well located in an area close to Santa Marta that is not too busy but that allows very easily enjoy night life if you want, or for the more adventurer go to the Tayrona Park. The hotel is quite big and at the end of August was not too busy so we have had a good rest. It also has good amenities for kids.

The bongaloos in front of the beach are amazing; good size, nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. As a big plus, they have a small balcony outside and a reception room (inside) with sliding doors to the beach in case you want to avoid mosquito.

In my opinion, the biggest issue is the food at the buffet restaurant. That region of Colombia is well know for having a great cosine and unfortunately we have not found that at the main restaurant. On the bright side they do have a typical Colombian food restaurant that was very good, but as we were traveling with kids we used the main restaurant a lot as there is food for everyone.

Conclusion: I would anytime go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the bongaloos in front of the sea. They are really worth the money you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 days, my room on the 12th floor had the best view you can have in Santa Marta. But they asked something like US500 for it, each night! This is 2 months of minimum wage in Colombia.
Sleep quality: 10/10.
Irotama Hotel is got a large beach, a lot of amenities for the whole family, and a good restaurant. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Upper floors: you will never forget the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hague
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just came back from a trip to Irotama in Santa Marta. I found the room (bungalow) to be spacious, clean and comfortable. Not modern but still very nice. The hotel has many options, beautiful pools and a very nice and clean beach. However they present the hotel as an all-inclusive, and its not entirely true. On most restaurants you can only choose from the day menu, or otherwise you are charged more for dessert, entree and the drink that would come with it. This would be ok if the hotel was not expensive, but it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have stayed at various hotels in Santa Marta, this one was much better than the others. From an international perspective, most hotels in Santa Marta are quite average. At least at this price. The bungalow was nice enough, the bathroom was by no means 5 star quality though. The water was hot though, which is not a given in this part of Colombia. A/C was fine, flat screen TV with cable TV. The cleaning lady was wonderful. She actually cleaned, not like in other places like the U.S. where they just pretend to clean. The food was actually good but a bit pricey (for the country, 15-25 USD per dish plus drinks and tip). The hotels offers free transportation to/from Santa Marta and El Rodadero twice a day. They also have a free airport shuttle. Conclusion, very good option, considering the circumstances (there are not many good options around). If this hotel was in Cancun or the Dominican Republic, I would not stay there because there would be much better options.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria123T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Together with my wife and our two children, we´ve spent one week at the Irotama Resort in Santa Marta.

The first inquiry regarding lodging options we made by email - and never got an answer.
We then tried it by phone (using a no in Bogota) and received information by phone and email.


The Irotama resort is located very convenient - just 10 minutes away from Santa Marta airport; the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle.

Currently, there are five lodging options:
a) Irotama XXL hotel
b) Irotama del sol hotel
c) Irotama del mar hotel
d) Villas (2 levels) and Bungalows (one level; cabanas)
e) Suites Bohio - next to the beach

No matter what option you take - you´re free to enjoy the amenities (pool, restaurant) of every of the other places.
All of them are located close to the beach.

We went for option d) and were put into a bungalow upon arrival.
As the bungalow did not match what we were told on the telephone (2 different bedrooms), we called reception and were switched to a villa about 2 hours later.

All buildings are located in an extensive green area with lots of plants, trees, flowers - nature pure!
All plants but also the beach(!!!) are very well maintained - lots of staff who try their best to keep things clean.

Whereas the hotels are relatively new and modern, the bungalows and villas as well as the rest of the infrastructure is old.

The villas/bungalows might be two to three stars maximum; lots of small details to improve and for maintenance.

The bungalows have one level: one front room; a bedroom and a bathroom.
The villas have one main door and inside like two independant appartments - each of them with one bedroom and one bathroom. Plenty of space for the family.

The number of palmtrees and the breeze from the sea make provide a nice climate.
Plenty of chairs, tables and canvas chairs all over the beach invite to take a break and enjoy your holidays.

Internet (wifi) is free; high speed (up to 5mbit/second) - but not everywhere you´ll have a signal.

The basic (minimum) plan includes accomodation and breakfast - which can be taken either in one of the restaurants or the buffet.

Other plans include half-board or even 3 meals per day.

There are different restaurant options - but not every restaurant is open every day.
You better have a look at the one-page daily "activities" that are placed into your room every day - to see, what restaurant is open and when.

In General, food and especially drinks are expensive and overpriced for Colombia:

Paying aprox. $6900 (colombian peso) for a bottle of local beer exceeds the regular shop price more than 5 times!
Food quality varies a lot - the worst place to eat was the Chiaru di Luna/pizzeria:
aprox. $ 30.000 for a small hard pizza that tasted like a microwave pizza.

A kids club offers activities (aprox. 1-2 hours in the morning and afternoon);
several pools and jacuzzis provide options to those who don´t like swimming in the ocen.

A gym is also available - unfortunately only equipped with a few ventilators and without airconditioning - which makes exercising very hard.
Equipment is basic and maintained in working conditions. Don´t expect the latest equipment!

Sauna and steambath: also available; the day we chedked it out, the sauna was extremely hot.
Everyone who entered complained - but there was no personnel available to turn down the temperature.

Some sports (ping-pong, volleyball...) are free of charge; others are charged for.


If you disregard the high prices for food and drinks, accept the defects of your bungalow/villa,
can live with an old infrastucture, it´s a nice place in a tropical environment and lots of nature everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
6.9 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#51 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
#8 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
5.7 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irotama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irotama Resort

Property: Irotama Resort
Address: Km 14 Via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Irotama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pozos Colorados area, 20 minutes from Santa Marta, Irotama captures all the magic and enchantment of a luxurious Caribbean hotel. This breathtaking resort is surrounded by nature and has tennis courts, a golf draving range and a kilometer long beach. Come discover it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irotama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irotama Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing