We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, terrible food”
Review of Irotama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irotama Resort
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing location, terrible food”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This large resort has multiple options for types of rooms - apartments, cabins, hotel rooms. The beach is great. Very good amenities as well. very nice large pool. great for kids. The food, however is quite bad. breakfast is very good, but then buffet lunch is not worth it, and the "live bar" restaurant is ridiculously expensive for what it is. We paid 100 dollars for a dinner for two without appetizer and just half a bottle of white wine. Including the taxi round trip to downtown you can pay almost half as much for comparable dinner in a nicer place.

Room Tip: Choose the bohios # 70 something to 90, they are newer and seem nicer than the older ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana294074, Director Comercial at Irotama Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Google Translation
Apreciamos haberse tomado el tiempo para hacer comentarios sobre su estadia en el Hotel. La Gerencia de Alimentos y Bebidas, ha tomado su información y están buscando una optima relación entre costo y beneficio. Lamentamos la impresión que se ha llevado de los buffet y del Restaurante Barra Viva. La razón del mayor valor es que se trata de langostas y pargos vivos mantenidos en el acuario.
Quedamos a su entera disposición. Reciba un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    211
    81
    38
    24
See reviews for
314
135
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, OR
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Irotama was a very nice Colombian resort. If you want to lay on a beach or by a magnificent pool or two, this is the place. Rather luxurious by Colombian standards and a very good staff. But you are captive for food as there isn't much nearby and you need to use their restaurants which are bit expensive. The grounds are very nice and there's lots of bird life, iguanas and lizards to see. One warning though. We signed up for a tour with the travel agency on site (below reception) and it was the worst money I ever spent on a vacation. The guide was supposed to be bilingual and take us on an eco-tour of the local national park, Tayrona. His English was worse than my Spanish and that's saying something. He rushed us through the tour, didn't make hardly any comments about the ecology of the park, didn't seem to look for or notice bird life or much of the animal life and just seemed to go through the motions. It was very expensive and worth 1/5th of what we paid. Take a taxi to the park or a bus and walk around on your own, you'll see more and you save your money. There's lots of trails and good maps showing you where to go.

Room Tip: ask for room on upper floors with terrace facing ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ORtouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I arrived in Santa Marta on Feb.22, 2013, and the scene as the plane descended was simply stunning. Upon arrival into the small airport, I was greeted by the tour guide, Diva, who instantly called me by name and guided me to the bus which took me to the hotel.

I love that the hotel is not far from the airport, and even closer to the beach. Irotama Resort: The naturally green hotel, is just that. As you approach the hotel you will pass Irotama Del Sol, and Irotama Del Mar is only a short distance walking the pathway with the beach on the other side. Beautifully kept landscapes and grounds, helpful staff and beautifully appointed rooms, a variety of restaurants and entertainment, all within walking distance.

Walking into my room, and being greeted with such a large room, was just easy to fall into. Large shower with a clothing line, dressing area, large closets with room for a family or a diabolical diva with umpteen clothing choices, extra blankets, sheets, mattress pad, king size bed, kitchenette, stocked with pots, pans, glasses, cutlery, coffee maker, refrigerator, dining area, living area, and an enormous balcony which can accommodate at least 20 people comfortably for a get together, and a hammock. Not to mention an incredible view of the other resorts and beach.

Had a wonderful buffet breakfast at Coco's Bar, with a LOT of options; both American and Colombian options enough to satisfy every palette.

The one downside was: The fact that I had no hot water - BUT, with the island being so hot, the surprisingly cool/cold water was refreshing.

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at Irotama.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheTravels_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This first rate hotel has maintained its tradition of beautiful properties, great customer service and good food. Easy relaxed leisurely atmosphere: take in the sun under the palms of the cocunot trees, beachside under an unbrella or poolside. Practice your golf swing at the putt putt area. Property nighttime activities are available or drop by one of the bars for you rnightime toddy. It is all for your pure enjoyment.

Room Tip: If traveling with family and children, you may want to consider requesting a two bedroom with a livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

this is a beautiful resort with everything you want in a Caribbean vacation! The entertainment is great! It gives you the local flavor, not like many other resorts where they keep copying Broadway style shows.

Room Tip: Book in advance and try to avoid the high season if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clambis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I attended a congress in Irotama on december 2007. I found this resort fine, not the best in the world indeed, but my wife and I passed a good time there. The food was fine, and we could choose more than 4 restaurants to eat. Rooms were nice and clean. Location next to the caribean sea is a plus. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Everything in perfect shape.
The rooms, food, drinks, price, are perfect if your expectations are about a natural place, not "your house in the Caribbean"
You'll have a nice room, simple but full. All you NEED, maybe not all you desire.
Want to eat something local, healthy, Italian, beef or from the caribbean? It is perfect.
Surroundings? Go to Tayrona's park. Something wild, not very familiar. Much like a extreme experience.
The beach is excellent.
The sea is very quiet.
The silence is a policy.
You will see iguanas, little eagles, and a lot of birds (watch your food, they love to approach silently)
Sport fields and water sports equipment are in very good conditions.
The people are kind. A lot.
My wife and I will probably return with our relatives and family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cisotoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,526 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
627 reviews
6.9 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#42 of 67 in Santa Marta
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irotama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irotama Resort

Property: Irotama Resort
Address: Km 14 Via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Irotama Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pozos Colorados area, 20 minutes from Santa Marta, Irotama captures all the magic and enchantment of a luxurious Caribbean hotel. This breathtaking resort is surrounded by nature and has tennis courts, a golf draving range and a kilometer long beach. Come discover it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Irotama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irotama Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing