We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights, in the beach side tower (as they refer to it, it's not really a tower). The food is good and we ate dinner there a few times. Breakfast was pretty good too, plenty of choice and a good egg chef. The place as quiet in the evening after the resident band finished at 10 pm, the bar closed very shortly after. Not a spot for a evening of entertainment. Bars and club and good restaurants are a cheap taxi ride. Great mall across the road with several ATM,s. Staff friendly and rooms a good size and clean. It is not a modern hotel as such, bit dated. We were there in the evening windy season, so a loud gale sounded through the poorly sealed windows in the room. Wi Fi was good. I would recommend this hotel as long as you were happy with clean and comfortable and not looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJKNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    241
    63
    25
    17
See reviews for
214
196
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ornex, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Enjoyed the food the location, good for relaxing, very nice and friendly staff. As good as when we visited in 2006. Not the cheapest but good value for money. New Mall at walking distance, Santa Marta is a must visit when in Colombia.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean, the oldes and best hotel in santa marta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH6406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My boyfriend and I went there during low season, it was awesome!. Excellent service, great food and best pinas coladas. It is walking distance from good restaurants, bars and just in front of a mall, very convinient. I do recommend this place.

Room Tip: choose main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa_navarro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

we have just left tamaca beach which we booked through venere.com. at a price of almost £100 per night i exoected this to be the best hotel we will stay in on this holiday. i was wrong! we were taken across the road to tower norte which resembeled a buikding site! wires hanging down everywhere and lots of noise. our room was plain and basic and not the cleanest. our balcony doordid not lock either. we were on the 4th floor and could hear the banging on the groumd floor from there. the main hotel was nice and the staff made a real effort with us and were very helpful but the swimming pool water was quite dirty even after someone spent a couple of hours cleaning it! i would not reccomend using the airport transfer service either as they charged us 50k Cop for this and we later found out a taxi is only 17k. i personally would not stay there again and feel pretty ripped off to be honest!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good hotel to stay when passing through Santa Marta and wanting to stay at Rodadero's busy beach with its Miami-esque buildings and 24/7 party atmosphere. The Tamaca is very retro, but good location near the airport. Would rather stay there than at the mega-resorts of Zuana and Irotama. Must improve breakfast quality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Hotel Tamacá has it downsides, but if you're going to stay in Santa Marta it is worth a look. The hotel is located in El Rodadero a suburb of Santa Marta. Rodadero is a tourist area (Colombian Tourists) so there are plenty of good (some great) restaurants within walking distance.

Although I can't disagree with some of the postings here that the food can be poor and the rooms need updating, I think the positives outweigh the negatives.

The staff is wonderful, they constantly go out of their way to take care of you. They quickly remember your likes and dislikes and try hard to personalize your service.

The food is hit or miss. Breakfast is always good with an excellent selection from the buffet of local favorites, plus 3 fresh juices, fresh fruit, 8 or 9 choices of breads and an omelet station. I had lunch in the hotel once it was churrasco (barbecue) and everything was fantastic (one of the top 3 meals I had on my trip) One dinner I had dorado (Mahi-Mahi) although it had good favor it was the toughest piece of fish I have ever eaten. Overall I would suggest not purchasing the inclusive and just get the breakfast plan. El Rodadero has some fantastic restaurants and it would be a shame to miss them.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was dated and does need some updating. The only available outlet was next to the bed I travel with 4 plug surge protector and it saved me. If you're going to work on your computer be prepared to move from the desk to the bed when the battery gets low. The bathroom was in serious need of repair, again it was clean, but needed a ton of work. That being said, I complained about the shower and they sent someone up to fix it within a half hour.

I have nothing but positive things to say about the grounds. They are very secure, clean, comfortable and attractive. The pool is not huge, but it was clean and they have a lot of chairs both in and out of the water. They offer a couple of cabanas and a shaded area with a mister to get out of the heat. Santa Marta is a very safe area and the hotel provides 24 hour security and is fenced off from the public beach. They have a gate from the pool area to the beach for guests only (electronic lock with a bell).

The beach is a public beach. It serves the most wealthy and the poorest of the area. The beach itself is reasonably nice, the water is a bit dark due to coal dust in the water. The view is spectacular. If you are looking for a beach vacation, I'd say look someplace else.

One warning to non Spanish speakers. There are not a lot of English speaking people in the hotel or the community. I suggest you have at least a basic grasp of Spanish. My Spanish is terrible, but I was able to tell the taxi drivers where I wanted to go, find ATM's and purchase items in shops. Prices in El Rodadero are a bit higher than Santa Marta, but still very good. Cash is king, so make sure you know where the ATM machines are located. Most of the nicer restaurants take American credit cars, but not all.

If you are planning a stay in Santa Marta I really don't think you can do better than the Hotel Tamacá given it's location, grounds and security. Make sure you book at the Beach Hotel, not Hotel Tamacá North.

One last thing, if you're there between December and March the winds are incredible. If you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs, between the wind and the windows rattling, it can be difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 6th floor are smaller and have smaller windows that rattle more in the wind. Try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gefd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The staff at Tamaca Beach resort were very friendly and accommodating. However, for the price (food and drinks as well) it could have been better. Overall we had a very nice time and the location here is great. Right on the beach with convenient access to shops and restaurants down the way within walking distance. The hotel has an open air lobby and bar and the night bar tender took good care of us. However, I would recommend drinking the beer (Colombia or Aguilla?) local beers. The mixed drinks were not very good and the food was terrible. Probably the worst breakfast I have ever eaten, but we were there for work and had limited time and options in the mornings for food. We also ate lunch at Tamaca during our stay which was also pretty bad. You can get out on the streets for cheaper, and much better/tastier food selections. The rooms were average, but great views from each room. Make sure if you are booking here you realize that this area (El Rodadero) is not actually the downtown of Santa Marta. That is a 10 min cab ride from the hotel into the town and the resort always had cabs on hand. Also make sure you book the beach side resort as Tamaca has two locations. One is inland and the other is the beach front. Overall, considering, we had a nice time. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in El Rodadero as some of the others there did not appear to be any better. We did feel safe the entire trip. Don't have the highest of expectations, but I believe you will enjoy your stay. Get out on the street and eat!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. The rooms that end in the smaller numbers are on the right side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
4.1 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,482 reviews
4.0 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#42 of 67 in Santa Marta
146 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
458 reviews
2.3 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
3.1 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Address: Cra 2 #11A - 98, El Rodadero, Santa Marta 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamaca Beach Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing