We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic and good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nueva Granada
Ranked #8 of 115 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a very affordable alternative in the historic district of Santa Marta. I spend one night and got a room with A/C for $130,000 COP ($69 USD) with breakfast included. I've stayed in lowered-priced and a little better places in other parts of Latin America, but hotel prices in Colombia are not the most competitive in the region. I followed the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay at this hotel; the staff was welcoming and friendly. I'd advise any reader that the area where the hotel is located may not be very safe at night or on Sundays; on those times, it's safer to get a cab from where you are in the city to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmartinezclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had read some good and only one bad review on here and took this with a grain of salt and just as well we did, our room (13) was great, clean, basic, bed a little hard but for the price and the fact there is a pool and it is a block away from the beach and a short stroll to some brilliant restaurants -its a bargain.
The manager could not have been more helpful, and the young bloke he has helping who makes the breakfast is great, helpful, polite.
There are birds, yes, but we hardly noticed them , and there is a really sweet natured cat, Timotei.
Breakfast is cooked to order and is substantial.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hmmm I really didn't like this place. The welcome wasn't friendly, the parrots and birds in the reception area were horribly smelly and my room was like a prison cell. There was no hot water and I got more bites here than I did in Tayrona national park... Not sure what was biting me.. I can see why it might appeal to backpackers, as the communal areas are condusive to conversational exchanges, but I didn't enjoy the kids drum practicing into the early hours... The breakfast was pretty rank - coffee awful, bread was sweet and stale. The scrambled eggs were reasonable. It's probably great value and the bed was reasonably comfortable, but I wouldn't go back to stay if you paid me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is nice and comfortable, but I recommend paying extra for air conditioning. My room, and I think all the others as well, have only one small window to allow air in and out of the room and I found that it was just too warm inside, even with the fan on high. I didn't pay for the AC. Otherwise, the staff is friendly and helpful -- a special thanks to Jorge for all his help! -- and the included breakfast is excellent. I rated the sleep quality as average because without AC the room is too warm to sleep comfortably, and because the window opens to the courtyard where people can sit, eat and drink. If there are people staying up late and drinking -- as there were while I was there -- or getting up early for breakfast, you can hear it all loud and clear.

Room Tip: Get air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbereczki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Pros:

- staff is friendly and learns your name quickly.
- breakfast included.
- housekeeping staff extremely sweet and respectful.
- wifi included throughout.
- cable TV
- optional a/c (at additional cost. I opted for the included ceiling fan instead but presume the a/c works).
- parrots and other quirky decor and amenities, like book library, statues and other little details. One of the birds "meows" like a cat.
- small pool for cooling off.
- short walk to great restaurants, bars, public squares and beach.
- two cozy hammocks in public area.

Cons:

- If you plan to sleep-in you need to hope there are not early risers eating at the tables directly outside of the rooms. Three French couples did a great job of talking and laughing loudly each morning during my stay, starting at about 6:00 a.m., for example. There is really no remedy for this.
- pay for everything up front--no tab allowed.
- despite asking to cancel my last of five nights directly after checking in, I was not allowed to adjust the booking since I had to pay in full immediately upon arrival. This is fair enough, I guess, but I would have appreciated some flexibility.
- immediate vicinity a little dodgy after dark--a few (2-3) blocks walk and things are a lot more populated at night.

Summary: if you're looking for a home base allowing for trips to Taganga, Parque Tayrona, Minca, etc., this is a good deal. Building and furniture/amenities are pretty tired, but if you're not worried about that you'll be just fine. Staff is friendly and Jorge, in particular, speaks great English and really cares about your comfort, proving to be quite an asset if your Spanish is as poor as my own. Within a few blocks you will find excellent restaurants, clubs and bars.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank reramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel has everything to enjoy even more your stay in Santa Marta...
It is very clean, beautiful, with a pool, with parrots and little birds.
There is internet access and the service is a high-quality one. The rooms are very clean. The owner and ths stafff are always worrying about the guests.
The breakfast is very tasty and heavy.
The location is perfect (10mn wlaking to the Cathedral).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eaurelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This hotel was clean, comfortable, and had a delicious breakfast in the morning. But what really made it worth the money was the service we recieved. My sister in law accidentally dropped her camera's memory card in the trash can in the bathroom. We had already left by the time she had realized she had done so. We called the Hotel from Cartagena to see if by any chance they had found the memory card. The woman that cleans the rooms said she had not seen it and that she already cleaned the room, but that she would look again... She actually DUG through the trash and miraculously found the memory card! She then express mailed it to us in Cartagena, before we were able to wire her money to cover the costs. Needless to say this kind of service goes well above and beyond my expectations!

Also, we were given chocolate bars upon arrival in celebration of International Women's Day. Nice touch!

I would agree that the are does get a little sketchy after about 9 pm... We learned that 11th street is pretty sketchy and that there is sometimes spill over on to 12 th street. Just be carfeul at night.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank sarita888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#33 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#30 of 67 in Santa Marta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#41 of 67 in Santa Marta
70 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#36 of 67 in Santa Marta
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 186 in Santa Marta
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nueva Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nueva Granada

Address: Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range: £20 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nueva Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nueva Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing