We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nueva Granada
Ranked #9 of 117 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at Hotel Nueva Granada in Santa Marta before and after a trek to The Lost City. The receptionist, Javier, is the best host any guest could ever hope for. The breakfast cook is kind, helpful and ready to serve. Rooms are quite small, but the essentials are there, including AC and a small fridge. Very clean and a nice central patio. Great location, close to parks, beach and restaurants. I would stay there again, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Pay extra for AC and choose a higher priced room if you would like a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwiljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This definitely is not a fancy experience. The rooms are clean, sort of. Sheets had some random black spots that looked like ink stains. Doors to the courtyard have cracks that cockroaches could get into. (And yes we saw a few). Showers seem clean, but flip flops recommended. But we did get a refrigerator and air conditioning for less than 50 usd a nt, so not a bad value for money. If you're looking for a different sort of experience, with the squawk of parrots and parakeets waking you up in the morning, this is a good place for you... Service makes or breaks it. We stayed here a total of 3 nights. 2 of the gentlemen (one named Fernando) were amazingly friendly and accommodating, making this a great find. The third was grumpy, unhelpful, never smiled, wouldn't help with luggage or even opening the doors when we toted our own luggage, making the last day and our departure a super downer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ItsAKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed pre and post the Lost City trek, and left our packs their while we were away. The staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast good, the communal areas great. It was brilliant to have a pool and loungers to come back to after the trek.
Not cheap, but Santa Marta isn't cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have stayed at a few different hotels in Santa Marta, and this one seems overpriced. It's 85.000 pesos (if you ask locally and don't book in advance) for a room with air conditioning. I know that sounds low by USA standards, but I found other places that are a much better value. Namely, Hotel Bahia which is nearby and has an air conditioned room for 50.000 pesos for one person. Or Ruta 45 for 60.000 with air conditioning for one person. If you want something really cheap, the Saboy is only 25.000 for a room with a fan. Or for just paying 150.000, you live in luxury at Casa Carolina, which is just up the street.

If you want to stay here, I would recommend not paying a non-refundable reservation in advance unless you are coming during a holiday. There are so many hotels nearby that it would be easy to just walk from one to the next and check them out in person.

This hotel has free breakfast, but keep in mind that the tables are just a few feet away from your room, and you can hear people talking at breakfast time. It's not easy to sleep late here, so you should just go to bed early.

This isn't the nicest neighborhood... not really dangerous, but still not nice. The blocks close to the beach, along calles 10 11 12 13 aren't really that nice. There are homeless people wandering around, and while they may not rob you, it still doesn't feel safe. So to sum up, the places seems average to me, and the price seems high for being average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Really nice hotel in the center of Santa Marta, its situated walking distance from Parque de los Novios, where is all the night life and many restaurant where you can eat every kind of food and drink. and the shopping area. the staff was really nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a very affordable alternative in the historic district of Santa Marta. I spend one night and got a room with A/C for $130,000 COP ($69 USD) with breakfast included. I've stayed in lowered-priced and a little better places in other parts of Latin America, but hotel prices in Colombia are not the most competitive in the region. I followed the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay at this hotel; the staff was welcoming and friendly. I'd advise any reader that the area where the hotel is located may not be very safe at night or on Sundays; on those times, it's safer to get a cab from where you are in the city to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmartinezclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had read some good and only one bad review on here and took this with a grain of salt and just as well we did, our room (13) was great, clean, basic, bed a little hard but for the price and the fact there is a pool and it is a block away from the beach and a short stroll to some brilliant restaurants -its a bargain.
The manager could not have been more helpful, and the young bloke he has helping who makes the breakfast is great, helpful, polite.
There are birds, yes, but we hardly noticed them , and there is a really sweet natured cat, Timotei.
Breakfast is cooked to order and is substantial.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#33 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#30 of 67 in Santa Marta
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#40 of 67 in Santa Marta
71 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#36 of 67 in Santa Marta
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 188 in Santa Marta
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nueva Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nueva Granada

Address: Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range: £19 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nueva Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nueva Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing