We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
143
97
96
57
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
97
96
57
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orleans tower surf bar glory days ferris wheel steel pier casino hotels room was clean and comfortable view of the ocean per day enjoyed my stay nice stay great room
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Was very surprised to find Showboat Hotel open. Yes, the casino is closed (was one of my favorites) it's still a nice place to stay and affordable. The rooms are fine and clean. The service was great. Brenda at the desk was wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, General Manager at Showboat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad our staff could accomodate you accordingly and your stay was pleasant. We have great plans for the future of the property and welcome you to return to see our many improvements! Thank you for choosing the Showboat Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We checked in and suddenly realized they have lost their gambling license. It was eerily quiet with the tarps on both sides of the long hallway closing off where the gaming tables used to be. Only the Bourbon tower is open, everything else is closed or tarped off. It felt like we were at a hotel going out of business. My bathroom ceiling paint was all peeling off and the shower head was chest high, I am 6 feet tall. The only place that was open was a restaurant/bar that closed promptly at 10 pm on Friday and Saturday nights. The service at the restaurant was very slow and it seemed that no one cared that we were there. Only 4 elevators out of 6 in the Bourbon tower were working and then elevator number 3 stopped opening on the 8th floor and started acting jerky. It doesn't help that the Showboat is at the north end of the boardwalk surrounded by the Revel and Taj Mahal that are closed as well. It felt dangerous walking down the boardwalk to get anywhere all by ourselves. I would never come back here, and I don't think it will be open much longer. It was as if I were living in the movie " The Shining ". REDRUM

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, General Manager at Showboat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we did not provide the quality of service you deserve. This is not common for or hotel or staff and are addressing these issues accordingly. Again we apologize for any inconveniences during your stay and invite you back to see our many improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Volleyball Tournament placed us at the Showboat Hotel and not sure how we drew the short straw to stay at this awful hotel...Returned to the hotel at 830pm and went to restaurant inside hotel and was told they ran out of food ..never heard of a hotel run out of food ..The hotel has approximately 6 elevators and only 1 actually works and we had to wait in line like at a rock concert for 30 minutes to get an elevator and no steps to walk to room ..can we say safety hazard ...Complete waste of money and hotel should be closed and condemned and not sure how hotel with 29 floors passes an inspection with only 1 working elevator ...

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Syd0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, General Manager at Showboat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you for review. We apologize we could not meet your expectations this trip. Unfortunately during your stay we had an issue with the operating elevators, as we normally have 6 working elevators. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Although the property is in its beginning stages of renovations, we are developing major plans for the property. As part of Atlantic City's comeback, we plan to bring many jobs to the city, as well as an amazing beach resort. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, and welcome you back to see our many improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, they just reopened so service room was slow, we have a good room with 2 beds. All we needed for a nite in AC for NYE. Not enough towels in the room. Besides that everything was ok the price is ok comparing to other hotels.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, General Manager at Showboat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Kelly, thank you for your feedback , it is very important to us. We are glad we could meet your expectations this trip. For room extras, our front desk is always available to get you the necessities you need. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

This was my first time staying at the Showboat. The room was nice and clean. The bathroom in the room was actually very nice. I have to admit though that's its a little strange that the casino isn't open any more. They put up big tarps to cover up the openings to the casino but you can still feel all of the dead space. They have a parking lot, which was nice. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 302BeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, General Manager at Showboat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you for your review. As we were eager to re-open the property, we ensure we do have excellent plans in store for the space. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back to see our major improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews