We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closer than I thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We recently took a last-minute, two-night trip to AC with our dog. This was the only hotel with a pet-friendly room available for both nights, so it was a simple decision. Although I was wary of staying somewhere away from the casinos, there was no reason to worry. Downtown AC is small, and this place is only a 5-minute walk through shop-lined streets to the boardwalk and Midtown casinos (Bally's, Trump Plaza). I wouldn't walk it alone after dark, but it was really no problem at all. Late night, cab ride cost us about $10 with tip.

Dog-wise, it was OK. No fee, and our pooch was well within the 85-pound weight limit. She was allowed in the lobby and the elevators, unlike some other places we've stayed. Unfortunately there was really no sound insulation in the place, so even tiny dogs barking could be heard way down the hall (all dogs stay on the fourth floor). We were able to hire a dog-sitter for the evening by calling the front desk for a referral to a local woman who came to the room. My dog and I enjoyed a long walk on the boardwalk, where dogs are allowed in the off-season (Sept 15-Memorial Day, I think).

We did valet our car, which was in-and-out and only a couple of bucks more than self-parking. We also ordered room service, which was disappointing. But visiting the bar, the Tun Tavern, was worth it for the seasonal craft brew. One more thing I noticed was that they didn't really seek any feedback. There were a few minor issues with our room that I would have pointed out. But nothing that would prevent me from staying again. Next time, though, we will get a dog-sitter at home and stay at the casino.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DigitalErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 November 2011

Great to hear that you and your “pooch” enjoyed the beach and the hotel together, thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Our Sheraton does have a nice location in the center of town and it is just a quick walk (if you don’t get distracted by the shopping!) to the beach and Boardwalk. Unfortunately, we missed the opportunity to get your feedback while you were with us. You have prompted a discussion about how we can do that better in the future because your opinion is very important to us. If you have the time, would you be able to call our Executive Office and let us know more about your stay, especially the issues with your room? Again, thank you for taking the time to write about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stay here every October for a conference. The AC Convention Center is right across the street. In fact, there is a way to get between the hotel and the Convention Center without going outside [great if it is raining!] My room was comfortable and had everything I needed. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and in good condition. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Boardwalk, but you go through the outlet shopping area so it may take longer if you get distracted!!!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
Thank chezbo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments! I’m so glad to hear that we were able to welcome you back to the Sheraton AC during your conference. Yes, our Sky Bridge which links our hotel and the Convention Center is very convenient for all our conference attendees especially in the rain or snow! The Tanger Outlets which are right outside our doors are definitely distracting, so many amazing stores you could get lost in for hours! We look forward to having you back again for “Another Fine Stay!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked the Sheraton for a Saturday night at the last minute using Priceline. After booking we contacted the Sheraton and confirmed a king bed room. The Sheraton is located at the Convention Center, from the tunnel it's the first exit. We used the self park, which was a walk, Some people may prefer valet parking. Also returning from the Borgata at the night the parking lot was very full and finding a spot took some time. Check in was a breeze and we were upgraded to the preferred guest level on the 14th room. The room had a great view of the AC skyline, flat screen TV, and a coffee maker. The Sheraton is directly across from the AC walk outlets and a short 3 block walk to Bally's, Caesars or Trump Plaza. There's also a Applebee's across the street was had a little night happy hour at the bar. The TV check out didn't work, so we used the key box check out.

Room Tip: Odd number room on a high floor foir a good view of the AC skkyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ledzep1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 October 2011

Our views are amazing, aren’t they? I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed the view of Atlantic City’s Skyline!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your “Last minute trip.” Sounds like you had a chance to experience all the excitement of Atlantic City, Casinos, Outlet Shopping and Dining! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next” Last Minute Trip”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My family and I stayed here for the AC Marathon because it was the cheapest rate we could get; we paid $109 for the night with the Marathon discount, a steal by AC standards. Our stay proved the saying that you always get what you pay for.

This was by far the worst hotel I have stayed in to date. The location of the hotel is good, right next to the Convention Center and a short 5-10 minute walk to the boardwalk. Parking was easy to find in the Convention Center Parking Garage. Check in took quite a while. We tried to check in before 3 PM and they were able to accommodate us.

We had a total of three rooms for our one night stay. We found that none of our rooms were fully cleaned, in two of them cleaning supplies were left behind and garbage cans not emptied. In my room we found the bathroom dirty, pubic hair littered the floor near the toilet, our AC broken, TV remote not working and a broken CFL bulb with wires exposed.

We called the Front Desk and asked that the repair the AC unit and remote. They said they would send someone right up, a half hour later they still had not shown up. Ten minutes later they arrived, repaired the AC and exchanged the remote. We then went to dinner and returned to find the bathroom dirty and broken bulb. We again called the Front Desk and they actually gave us a hard time about coming up to clean and make the repairs saying they were busy. By this point out frustration level had reached an all time high, after all CFL bulbs contain mercury that is carcinogenic not to mention the fire and electrocution hazards of the exposed wires from the bulb. After a heated discussion, they finally sent up an engineer and housekeeping. The replaced the lamp and cleaned the bathroom.

The beds were old box spring beds are were very uncomfortable, the chairs in the rooms were also quite uncomfortable. Throughout the night the people in the room next to us were having a loud party complete with screaming, laughing and slamming doors. we called the Front Desk on three separate occasions. They sent someone up each time but the party resumed shortly after being asked to quiet down. The next morning we found our AC unit again broken.

For our trouble we received a $50 room credit.

I would never stay in this hotel again and suggest that you do not either. Leaving a cleaning solution bottle behind is one thing, but missing such an obvious and potentially life threatening thing as a broken light bulb is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trackrunner1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 October 2011

Thank you very much for writing your review. We always strive to give all of our guests a perfect stay and we sincerely apologize that that you did not experience this during your recent visit with us. There is no excuse for the issues that you describe. The hotel has reached out to you directly with both our assurance that we take these items very seriously and an offer to make amends. As promised, these problems have been investigated and your feedback will help us ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We sincerely hope that you will consider us in the future and give us a chance to deliver the level of service and quality that you have every right to expect from Sheraton Atlantic City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The staff is friendly. The cost is crazy. Complimentary wireless in rooms is pretty much a standard for those who travel for business. Telling people they have to go to the second floor lobby to work is unacceptable. Paying the daily rate is not a viable alternative.
Eating breakfast - I have never been told that I couldn't have scrambled eggs and potatoes.
And coffee at $5/cup. Are you serious? I understand you may trying to get people to see the value in the buffet, but come one.
Please have vitamin water available in store and vending.
The personal care items are great.
TV needs more of a choice for news sources. CNBC is not enough. Showtime is nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 October 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you mentioned the friendliness of our staff, that is a real point fo pride for us. All of your helpful feedback has been discussed with the respective departments. It is especially distressing to hear that your breakfast was unsatisfactory. We would really appreciate it if you would contact our Executive Office and provide us with more information on your stay, so we can address the issue and continue to improve our service. We hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you to our friendly hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I was able to book this hotel on Priceline for a weekend getaway with some girlfriends. It was close to the boardwalk and casinos as well as to the outlets. After booking the room, I contacted the hotel directly to confirm the number of beds in the room. As this was the first trip to AC for a few of the girls as well as a trip to celebrate one of the girls's engagement, I aso requested a room with a view of the boardwalk and "Casino Row" to make this trip more special. Not only did I get a room on the 14th floor, facing the boardwalk, there was also a complementary bottle of wine and a card with a nice greeting from the Reservations Manager. Extra effort that did not go unnoticed! The parking can be an issue...$14/day for parking lot (not conveniently located) or $20/day for valet service. We came and went a few times each day, and only had to wait a few minutes each time to receive the car- faster, safer and easier than walking to the garage.

Room Tip: Best views are facing the boardwalk and casinos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centralPALynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 October 2011

It’s a real pleasure reading reviews such as yours. We are so thrilled to hear that you ladies chose our hotel for your “Atlantic City Girl’s Getaway.” It is so nice to see that you were able connect with one of our team members about your Girl’s Getaway and shared with us that you were celebrating a special occasion. I’m so happy to hear these comments as we do always strive to be proactive as much as possible. I will be sure to share your comments with our Reservations Team. You mentioned our views of “Casino Row”; they are definitely one of the best in the City! We hope that you girls “Getaway” to Atlantic City again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here this past weekend from Saturday through Sunday. Parked the car for valet parking during our stay and on our day of check-in, we called the valet from our room about 15 mins ahead of time so when we arrive downstairs, the car would be ready & we can just drive off. Instead when we got downstairs, we waited for another 15 mins and still our car was still a no-show. We went up to the valet desk and showed them our ticket #, they claimed they couldn't find the car. We started panicking and got furious of how lousy and irresponsible the valet service was. We went back to them after another 15 mins, they claimed they found the car now but they can't find our car keys. The valet service people were still goofing off in their office and I was furious that no one was looking hard enough to find the keys. I stood by the door and flipped out on them. FINALLY after almost 1 hr of searching they finally found the car keys. They valet service really sucks here!!! I would consider self parking instead. Besides the valet, the hotel is pretty good. I'm a SPG member and used my points for my stay. 8,000pts for 2 double beds deluxe room. The hotel room was spacious and the hotel had many amenties. The hotel is close to the Outlets, but a tad far away from the other hotels on the Boardwalk. Costs about $11 to get to Tropicana and nearby hotels. Would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy12988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 October 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and the amenities. Unfortunately, the last encounter that you had with us when retrieving your valet parked car was not the kind of service that we strive to provide. We are sincerely sorry, this is not the way we want you to remember us. Please feel free to contact our Parking Manager and we will be happy to assist you further. We continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have an exceptional stay with us. We hope that in future you will decide to visit with us once again. We love our SPG guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,622 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.4 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel

Address: Two Convention Boulevard, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-4137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range: £71 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Atlantic City Hotel is near celebrated shopping, lively casinos, and the world-famous boardwalk. Adjacent to the Atlantic City Convention Center, our accommodation has 20 meeting/event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing