We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Atlantic City Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good Atlantic City Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. Our room was nice and comfortable with a great view of the water and skyline. Casino was fun but too smoky and because of that we didn't play too long! Restaurants were great. Our favorite being the "Chart House" with a spectacular view and delicious seafood! This was our first time at the "Golden Nugget" and we would gladly come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marygrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    420
    201
    76
    104
See reviews for
171
596
68
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you don't mind being off the boardwalk this was a very nice hotel. The staff was quick and friendly. They had free self parking and free wifi. The hotel room was large, very modern and clean. We were on the 18th floor with a view of the Borgata and a windmill farm. We also had an angled view of the bay, marina and ocean in the far distance. The shower had two heads with lots of pressure so felt very luxurious. We stayed directly across from the elevators which is the only sounds we heard when people were getting on an off. We saw the other reviews complaining the walls were paper thin, but we never heard any neighbors. The hotel appears to have addressed the loud partying because they had a welcome letter that made clear only four "registered" guests in the room and no loud parties would be permitted. If anyone complained to management, you would get one warning. With a second complaint they would ask you to leave at any hour and with no refund and could even charge you a $250 fine/cleaning fee.

Room Tip: When you come in from the parking garage, you're on the 2nd floor and have to go up a long hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cuda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked this hotel because I liked the look of the rooms online and the price, though not the cheapest, was good. The room was very nice and had a beautiful, though not very large bathroom. We had a side view over the pool area, marina and the casinos from a large sofa sectional. The casino looked more upscale than some the others and we enjoyed our stay. It may be better suited for a more mature couple. Food was expensive and we traveled to the boardwalk to eat at Caesar's Pier and the Tropicana Latin Quarter. Young families and young adults may want to go to a place with more of a party atmosphere and access to indoor pools and the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The entire hotel has been redone, and the new rooms are great. We ate at Vic and Anthony's steak house which was absolutely wonderful. Our waiter was great and the steak was amazing. We had a great time playing roulette and some of the slots. The H2O pool and bar have a cool vibe to them. Haven is a cool new nightclub which is definitely on par with Las Vegas nightclubs. Planning on returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at22mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Nugget last weekend for the first time. I have been looking forward to trying this hotel for many months. Based on photos and past stays at Trump Marina (I think that is the name of the hotel before it was remodeled), I expected the rooms would be hip and modern. I requested an upgrade upon check in but was told the hotel was sold out. This was surprising as it seemed pretty empty. Other casino hotels are usually jam packed on a Friday night but not this one. Anyway, the room was on the 14th floor -- nothing special aside from the flat screen television and honestly, not as clean as it could have been. The walls were PAPER thin and we could hear it if someone quietly sneezed in the next room. We did have a great time in the casino and didn't return to our room until 3 am. Ummm... it was pretty loud on the floor at that time. I called the front desk and let them know -- they then offered us an upgrade. At 3 a.m. Also told me that they reserve the "lower" floors for the partiers. HUH? We declined the move because it was so late and we didn't feel like packing everything up at that point. We were expecting security might check the floor and ask loud rooms to quiet down. Oh, and they wanted us to go all the way down to the desk to exchange keys. I thought the least they could do is to send someone up to the room with a key and an offer to move our luggage. But they weren't much interested in our good nights' sleep. Too bad -- because had we gotten some rest, we would have stayed around around and spent more money in their casino! We opted to stay in bed and downloaded a white noise maker to our ipad. My husband slept for about three hours and I think I may have dozed for a few minutes here and there. We were awakened at 8 a.m. by the children across the hall. At that point, all I could think about was crawling into my comfy bed at home. We exited quickly and vowed to stay elsewhere the next time we visit!

Room Tip: INSIST on a room that is on a higher floor. Apparently, those rooms are reserved for the quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naplesinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Today is staying at this hotel for 2 nite. . This is my fisrt time and also my last time to choose for my destination. service very very horrible. I cant imagine. First didnt let me know h2o pool and bar close for reconstruction before we arrived here. Second one of lady and black guy sucurity work there is very mean!!.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank tuan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The property is old fashioned, needs serious renovations. Has about 5 restaurants to eat at and all of them served pricey disgusting food. My husband booked a room with Bay view for an extra $20 per night and they gave us a view on the parking garage. I talked to the Guest service agent about it and he wasn't helpful at all. The room was spacious enough but really dusty and the furniture clearly needed to be replaced. The paint was flaking off of the ceiling. Disappointing place !!!! After getting back home, we realized that they charged us $30 extra that wasn't part of taxes and other fees. If you're thinking about going to their buffet restaurant, save your money and go down the road to Golden Corral instead, where the food will be cheaper and at least warmer than room temperature. The waiter called the manager after seeing our disappointment with the food. The manager proceeded to play games and text on his smart phone for the final 15 minutes that we were there rather than even attempting to speak with us. A chimp could've managed better customer service. Don't come to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank soraya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,636 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Property: Golden Nugget
Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing