We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's a clean and nice place....very friendly staff , however staff are not always as knowable as they should be...nice restaurants ...nice pool and hot tubs...rooms are kept clean and housekeeping staff are friendly and accommodating

Room Tip: Jr suites are very nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Golden Nugget
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The recently remodeled Golden Nugget in Atlantic City in a nice play to stay and play. Located on the marina it is more scenic and away from the boardwalk and the undersirables that frequent that area. The facility is not as big as some of the others but they do have several craps, roulette, blackjack, spanish 21, and 3 card poker tables. Most of the day the table limits are $5 and don't become $10 until early evening and depending on the crowd. If you like alot of the "old school" slot machines this is your place. They have a grea selection of 20 line penney slot machines whereas many of casinos in the area have done away with them and relaced them with 40 line penney slot machines.

Golden Nugget offer free drinks including a nice selection of bottle beer if you are playing. At times it can be awhile though in between waitress runs.

The rooms have all been remodeled and are very comfortable. If you book your rooom online they offer various discounts. They also provide a rate calendar if your dates are flexible.

If you are interested in going to other casinos and do not want to drive, there is a jittney that will take you for a few dollars round trip. Also taxi service. If you don't want to "enjoy the local flavor", then take a taxi versus the jitney. The Borgata and Harrahs are very close by and worth seeing you get the chance.

Golden Nugget has a nice selection of restaurants that offer something for everyone. The Chart House is a nice choice and is on the water over looking the marina. They also have a great happy hour. If you want something quick, GN has a couple of nice choices there as well. Buffet is not expensive, but is just "ok".

The crowd is a little older than the Borgata and Harrah's depending on what you are looking for. GN offers a "Senior Day" during the week with various specials throughout the day. If you want to club and party the night away, I would take a 5 minute taxi ride to the Borgata at night, or try "The Pool After Dark" at Harrah's.

If you are interested in the beach, Brigantine is just 5 minutes away and is very nice peaceful place. The folks are very friendly and it is a small little island with mostly beach houses. They also have a Wawa and Dunkin Donuts if you need a fix. They also have an Acme and a Pharmacy should you something.

GN is easy to get too off the Atlantic City expressway and is a nice place to stay and play in Atlantic City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the water.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LittlePorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Though I am very late with this review, I am sending it anyway. My boyfriend and I stayed at the new Golden Nugget Hotel in December 2011 to celebrate my birthday in Atlantic City, NJ. According to the front desk attendant, we were the very first to stay in a newly renovated hotel room, at the Golden Nugget Atlantic City, and it was our first time at this location. The hotel was previously the Trump Marina Hotel and I had stayed there once when it was owned by Donald Trump. Though our stay at Trump Marina was decent, back in the day, the Golden Nugget stay was far better because they truely renovated those rooms and they were definitely upgraded nicely with modern decor, etc. All of the staff were friendly to us. Our bed was large & comfortable and the bathroom was nice, as well. At that time, there was a little noise due to the renovation but it was minimal and did not last long. My boyfriend requested a room which was quieter and we were accommodated (a plus). There is ample parking (in the garage) which was cheap (something like $5.00 a day back then). I prefer staying on the marina side of Atlantic City, versus the boardwalk, so The Golden Nugget was perfect for us. Another major plus is the new Chart House Restaurant is inside this Golden Nugget location (see my separate TripAdvisor review for this restaurant). Since the marina is close (by car) to the boardwalk, we could easily drive there whenever we wanted to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lady4Evermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the golden nugget on May 14, 2014 for one night. We were in a king bed room. The room is nicely renovated and spacious; however, as we got out of the bed after relaxing from the long drive noticed a BED BUG alive and crawling on the bed where my fiancé was laying! It was absolutely DISGUSTING! I was freaking out and completely grossed out. I called security and they came up and took the bed bug and pictures of it. They called the front desk and had us pack our things and moved to the 6th floor to a king bedroom suite. The gesture was nice; however, I actually liked the original room we were in. The suite was completely useless to us as we were not going to be in the room at all. We had special dinner plans that we missed because of this ordeal. It was all just a huge inconvenience. I was so disgusted I did NOT want to stay at the hotel, PERIOD! All I wanted to do was leave! I was so grossed out I had to take another shower and get ready all over again. We missed our dinner. The compensation from the hotel was a joke. A manager was supposed to come up to room and speak to us; no one came! We were supposed to get a phone call; no one ever called!!I had to call the front desk myself! After explaining our ordeal, we got an attitude from the front desk manager! He gave us a hard time as if bed bugs isn't a huge deal. We had to order room service because we completely missed out dinner reservations! it was disaster! I certainly didn't want to have room service for dinner! The room service food was tolerable. I had to settle for it since we missed our dinner. The next morning during check-out we addressed our issues again with the front desk manager Nick and he told us that we would receive a call from a manager named Karen which never happened. Also, Nick gave us our check out bill said that the deposit written on the bill was just a hold. Sure enough he LIED! It is NOT a hold! All in all our night was a bust. With all the inconvenience from moving rooms, horrified by the LIVE BED BUG crawling around, lack of empathy from the front desk manager, showering all over again, missing dinner, lack of follow-up and lies from management; we DO NOT reccommend a stay at the golden nugget. We are very reasonable individuals but BED BUGS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND THIS HOTEL TAKES THIS VERY LIGHTLY. This is absolutely unacceptable. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE BEWARE BEFORE YOU THINK ABOUT STAYING HERE.

Room Tip: "Check the bed for bed bugs"
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. Our room was nice and comfortable with a great view of the water and skyline. Casino was fun but too smoky and because of that we didn't play too long! Restaurants were great. Our favorite being the "Chart House" with a spectacular view and delicious seafood! This was our first time at the "Golden Nugget" and we would gladly come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marygrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you don't mind being off the boardwalk this was a very nice hotel. The staff was quick and friendly. They had free self parking and free wifi. The hotel room was large, very modern and clean. We were on the 18th floor with a view of the Borgata and a windmill farm. We also had an angled view of the bay, marina and ocean in the far distance. The shower had two heads with lots of pressure so felt very luxurious. We stayed directly across from the elevators which is the only sounds we heard when people were getting on an off. We saw the other reviews complaining the walls were paper thin, but we never heard any neighbors. The hotel appears to have addressed the loud partying because they had a welcome letter that made clear only four "registered" guests in the room and no loud parties would be permitted. If anyone complained to management, you would get one warning. With a second complaint they would ask you to leave at any hour and with no refund and could even charge you a $250 fine/cleaning fee.

Room Tip: When you come in from the parking garage, you're on the 2nd floor and have to go up a long hallw...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cuda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked this hotel because I liked the look of the rooms online and the price, though not the cheapest, was good. The room was very nice and had a beautiful, though not very large bathroom. We had a side view over the pool area, marina and the casinos from a large sofa sectional. The casino looked more upscale than some the others and we enjoyed our stay. It may be better suited for a more mature couple. Food was expensive and we traveled to the boardwalk to eat at Caesar's Pier and the Tropicana Latin Quarter. Young families and young adults may want to go to a place with more of a party atmosphere and access to indoor pools and the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,870 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,998 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: £80 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing