We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Dining on the Fifth
Ranked #153 of 406 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific
Description: Enjoy signature cocktails, bottle service and American cuisine at The Chelsea's Dining on the Fifth in Atlantic City, where comfortable lounge seating and romantic 1920's style high white leather booths offer breathtaking ocean views. Dining on the Fifth also features live DJs on Friday and Saturday nights.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I am normally a picky person and I loved this restaurant!
It has been nicely renovated; chic and glamorous.
Food was delicious, view was fantastic and service was great!
The Dj spinning did well to choose music for the ambiance of the restaurant and the people in it.
I appreciated the quiet dinner with my hubby. Will come back next time!
P.s congratulations to the couple that got engaged that night! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelfire287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Margate City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Management = New and Unlikable Atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This used to be our (husband & wife) favorite restaurant. Once called, "The Chelsea Prime" - it had everything! Typically, we are satisfied with just very good food and very good service. Rarely do you find a restaurant that has is all - VERY good food AND service AND ambiance AND a spectacular view! This was our most anticipated restaurant that we couldn't wait to return to. There was a very talented jazz/old-fashioned singer/group while you dined. The atmosphere was Romantic and Classy. The servers were professionals who knew how to serve you with white-glove expertise. If you have ever eaten at the Four Season's in Philadelphia, this was on the same level. The main difference was a view of the ocean as opposed to a lit-up city fountain view.
We received a gift card from a family member a while ago who knew how much we loved going there. Little did we know that our unforgettable, wonderful experiences at Chelsea Prime would soon come to an end. The past winter, the restaurant closed. (So, I'm not sure why and how reviews with 2013 Pre-Memorial Dates were submitted when the restaurant was in fact CLOSED until Memorial Day.) When it finally opened on Memorial Day, we were told that it would have a new style (club-techno scene). We were immediately concerned. WHO WANTS TO EAT FINE DINING AT A BEAUTIFUL CLASSY RESTAURANT WITH A DJ SPINNING CLUB MUSIC AT 7/8:00PM DINNER TIMES?

Nevertheless, we went. We wanted to redeem our gift card. The only positive improvement was that now you can have private dining/seating in an expanded area. There was a small dinner party going on outside the bar/restaurant area. Upon walking in to the restaurant, we immediately sensed a change in atmosphere. It was practically empty - nobody was at the bar nor waiting to be seated. There were maybe 6 or seven tables full (mainly couples). There was a DJ spinning unfamiliar and obnoxious house-club music. The servers were young, obviously inexperienced, and very underdressed. It felt just like every other casino bar-restaurant. This was not what we wanted, and based on the limited number of patrons, not what most other patrons prefer, as well.

The new bartender was young, somewhat inexperienced. The martini "The Chelsea" was "ok".
We were seated in our favorite spot (one of the pretty white half-moon booths facing the ocean and music). I felt like getting out of my both and changing into my club outfit. We didn't "enjoy" our dinner as we were distracted by the house-music.

Thankfully, the food was still VERY GOOD. We ordered the filet. And our server was very kind.

The new manager seems clueless and inexperienced. One of the workers there said they have given suggestions, but they were not put into practice. HOPEFULLY, judging by the severe decline in patrons, they will GO BACK TO EXACTLY WHAT IT USED TO BE. And hopefully, it will not be before someone else copies what the Chelsea Prime once had.

UNLESS you are satisfied with good food, inexperienced service, a very pretty view, and an EMPTY Disco/Club-Atmostphere - this is NOT the place for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelmaria3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not even close to Upscale”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Upon arrival(which restaurant was empty)wait staff was dressed rather casual in no particular fashion just all black, velvet sofas looked dirty and old. They had better view then the dining tables? We ordered the crab cakes suggested by our waitress, We received green and red pepper cakes with a bit of crab that was not even fresh. Absolutely no hint of crab flavor. We did not order steak since they had only 2 options- Our entrees mussels with linguini and my husband had clams. The mussels arrived in a swimming pool of red sauce and they were all bad. So bad manager advised they were being removed from menu for dinner-The chef did not know this before hand..SCARY. My husband's clam dish also not fresh. Really this is the Jersey shore! I ended up with a plate of lettuce for my meal since my husband was finished his and my appetite was depleting. We never saw the manager again. We ordered coffee and could not believe it was served ICE COLD! Again, the waitress could not tell this? So we searched her down again, mind you we were one of three tables in the restaurant eating on a Saturday eve in the summer. We went after reading other reviews not sure where they ate but our experience was terrible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RADS0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Why did they change what once worked? DJ at dinner feels like a wedding and not a romantic dinner”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This was once our favorite restaurant not only because of the fantastic views but because they once had live music (jazz/blues) duos and trios which made this destination different amongst the sea of other young techno club like dining stops in every casino.

The best news was the food (filet/truffle Mac and Cheese) hadn't changed but you can't get hollandaise sauce any longer which was a nice perk at the once steak house.

The place used to have a wait and people lining the bar area but they've lost their older crowd to hopefully gain a younger group who are looking for a DJ spinning while they dine. Personally we really enjoyed the live music and vibe of the yesteryear - o well. Maybe they'll see they had a great thing and management made a bad call.

Good luck and if you change your heart and go back to live music (you can even keep the new menu!) but please get rid of the DJ music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voltagesls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wynnewood
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surf's Up”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Chelsea Prime has been transformed into Fifth Floor, new chef, new menu, new decor, same great view of the ocean from every table. This is the ultimate sleeper in a town built around gaudy casino amenities, terrific food, skillfully prepared by a talented young chef, offered at modest prices. We were happy with everything we tried, the crab cakes, the chicken, the tuna and the salmon. The wine list needs work, but the current offerings are fairly priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stanleymanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining on the Fifth also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Dining on the Fifth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing