We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in Atlantic city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Renaissance Suites
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place in Atlantic city”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

What you need to know:
Pros-
*The hotel is perfectly located with Bally's to your right nad the beach directly in fromt of you. You can "stumble" back from the beach bar ;) Almost everything thing is with in walking distance.
*There is plenty of space. We had the two bed room which could have easily slept 6+
*Balconies on most rooms- ours over looked the ocean.
*Full kitchen- fridge, electric stove top, microwave, and pots/ pans.
* Free enclosed parking (usually one car per room.)
*Dukin Doughnuts just downstairs!!! (they don't have Splenda tho...)
* There is also this great pizza/ liquor store/ breakfast place downstairs as well. They have EVERYTHING and the are open 24 HOURS!!!!!

Cons-
*The pool is a larger version of a tub... and its VERY hot up there. But it over looks the ocean - that's pretty cool.
*The bathroom looked like it was from the 70's but the rest of room looked fairly modern. It was little weird to me. Even though it was clean, I felt that if it looked like it was that old that it couldn't be clean-- might just be me.
*I wasn't a huge fan of the room keys. They were like a flash drive looking thing on the end of an old school motel key-- when we went out at night- I kept checking to make sure I still had it. It was a little too bulky and hard to hold.

As along as you realise that this is not a 5 star casino - resort- you will enjoy it. We loved it- check out the pics!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    32
    9
    24
See reviews for
33
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wernersville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We booked a room at this hotel at the last minute...and it was well worth it! It doesnt look nice from the outside but I was quite surprised on the inside. The rooms were so nice, big and well equipped. They had a locked parking garage and great security. It was right on the boardwalk which was great. The pool was really nice, it was on the roof top over looking the ocean! I would stay here anytime!

Its great for families because of the size of the rooms and the amenities that are included.

  • Liked — the room sizes and location
  • Disliked — age of hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank proudfather19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

This was a decent hotel for the price and location (on the Boardwalk), Yes it did smell of cigarette smoke in the room but I took my Fabreeze and sprayed away. I was only there for one night so it was fine for me.

It was clean, well stacked with utensils and pots and pans if you wanted to cook. Large fridge and microwave...all clean.

I was on the sixth floor facing Kentucky Ave. No noise to speak of.

Would I stay here for a long weekend? Sure. A week? Probably not.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Neighborhood not so nice.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

After reading several reviews I was kind of scared to book here, but my experience turned out quite good. The hotel is not appealing from the outside, but the rooms are big, clean and spacious. I felt like I was in an apartment and not in a hotel suite. I had a baloney with a view of the ocean, which was beautiful. We also had free parking even though the parking garage is kind of tight. Overall I had a good experience at that hotel and I will stay there again. The staff was also friendly.

  • Liked — It had a full kitchen was able to bring our own food and cook
  • Disliked — Need to update their furniture
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelleum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We spent 2 nights here and it was a great deal. The first night was $65, the second (a Friday) was $119. The location on the Boardwalk was great too, very central. The room was huge, and very clean. You could tell it was an older hotel but the way they fixed it up (tiles esp) made it really nice. Comphy bed, comphy couches (the pull out too). The building on a hole was well kept and clean. We used the game room one night and played pool, it was fun and no charge. There was free coffee downstairs that was really yummy. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. I def recommend this hotel, esp. if you are looking for a cheaper alternative to the casinos. You can easily walk up or down the strip and in under 10 min be in a casino! We walked to Caesar's for breakfast the first morning and it was a peaceful quick walk. All in all a great stay!

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

We just returned from a three day stay. We were attending a conference at the convention center and found this a perfect location. The walk to and from each day was .88 of a mile according to mapquest. It was a beautiful walk along the board walk. The hotel is set just back off from the baord walk..... just a dunkin donuts between them.

We arrived early on the first day.. the room wasn't ready but they allowed us to park the cars for the day. We were lucky enough to get the parking on the ground floor but after seeing it, the car elebator doesn't seem that bad.

We had two suites on the 8th floor.... a one bedroom and a two bedroom for 7 of us. 5 adults in the two bedroom was a little too cosy but definitely doable. 2 adults in the one bedroom was great. The kitchen is fully stocked and perfect for cooking meals. Coffee pot and coffee provided. Kitchen has microwave, plates, silverware, dishwasher, full fridge... basically everything you need.

The pool is smaller than it looks in the pictures. The hottub was a little too warm and sandy.... We could get internet access in both rooms from other locations.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and met our needs. We found these suites suitable for our stay and would definitely recommend if you are aren't looking for a high end stay. These rooms essentially cost us for 3 days as a one night stay else where.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank HappilyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

This trip was a short guy trip just to gamble away our money. Check in was quick and easy. The room was well apointed and very clean. The furniture was a bit worn but servicable and comfortable. We were traveling in a full size truck and were not able to park in the hotel garage, but we knew this in advance and were prepared to pay the parking fee in the lot across the street. The hotel is located right on the board walk and is easy walking distance to Bally's, Wild Wild West, and Ceasar,s. There are several small eateries close by on the board walk. Once situated in the room we had no reason to drive anywhere because of the good location. This may not be the best spot for a family, unless you are there for the beach, but we had a great time as adults.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — A little dated, but good other than that.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.4 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#9 of 49 in Atlantic City
741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Renaissance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Renaissance Suites

Property: La Renaissance Suites
Address: 190 S Kentucky Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7018
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Renaissance Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Renaissance Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Atlantic City
Atlantic City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing