We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Oceanview
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed July 30th through Aug 1st. When I booked this reservation for my family, I was worried after reading all the reviews. This place is actually a very nice place to stay. Yes, the rooms are small but comfortable for 4 people and they are clean. Everyone was nice. I didn't see any call girls hanging around as one person had stated. I felt my kids were safe here. Great location!! We didn't have to cross any streets to get to the boardwalk. Breakfast was simple. Just cereals, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Honestly, I have no complaints. I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement403, Manager at Rodeway Inn Oceanview, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Valued Patron,

We appreciate your kind words for our establishment. Although we may not be the new kid on the block, we do try our hardest to provide exceptional service and value. You comments make it worth it for us so thank you again!

Sincerely,


Your Friends at the Rodeway Inn- Oceanview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    14
    7
    31
See reviews for
16
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

"Average" for the price and type hotel this Rodeway is. It is just off the boardwalk and beach. Air conditioner works, water is hot, beds good, room basically clean. Obviously, if we had paid a Ritz price we would have a different view of this hotel. But with free parking ($5 for weekend nights) and this close to everything we got what we expected....an average place to sleep. We didn't need to make friends with any of the staff. :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Only stayed here because there were no other vacancies in the area. What a mistake! Rude staff - every single one we encountered. Not one person said hello, goodbye, thank you or acknowledged in any way that we actually paid for a room and should be treated like guests. Took over 20 minutes to check in and we were the only people in the lobby. Gave us the keys for the wrong room, and the room was marginal at best, particularly the bathroom - crumbling plaster and all. Hooker in the parking lot. Breakfast area and the food display were not clean or attended to in any way. Top winner in the Rodeway Hall of Shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I hardly know where to begin in describing this hellhole, but here goes. After checking in and going to my room I attempted to slide open the window curtain. When I took hold of the curtain rod (gently), the curtain and the entire fixture collapsed, striking me as it fell to the floor. As an experienced traveler, I should have taken this as an omen. Instead, I went down to the front desk to report what had happened. The clerk was apologetic and gave me another room.

Later in the day I went looking for a soda machine but couldn't find one. When I asked the desk clerk about it he pointed to a soda machine located OUTSIDE the building, which is the only one at the motel. Unfortunately for me, it was sold out of Diet Coke. I asked the clerk if he knew when the vendor would come to refill the machine. "I don't know," he replied. "We called the company. They will come. You can go to the store down the block." Okay.

After returning to the room I decided to go online to get some work done. I expected that I would be able to use the motel's advertised "Free Wi-Fi" but I wasn't getting a signal. I reported the problem to the desk clerk. "I don't know what happened," he replied. "I reset it three times. Something must be wrong." I never was able to pick up a signal for the two days I stayed there, and I had to use my own Verizon account. I honestly don't think that the motel does offer free Wi-Fi.

On the "Amenities" section of their website the motel correctly states that a Microwave and Hair Dryer are available is "some" rooms. Unfortunately, I wasn't lucky enough to be in one of those special rooms. I had to use the public microwave in the breakfast dining room. When I asked about a hair dryer the desk clerk provided me with a portable one. The list of Amenities also includes "Ironing Board and Iron." What it fails to mention is that these standard amenities are not in each room, but have to be requested from the front desk.

The "Free Breakfast" consists of the standard fare of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice and cold cereal (Fruit Loops and Frosted Flakes). They also have white bread (only) for toasting and mini-muffins. Listed separately on the list of Amenities is "Free Coffee." I went to the coffee machine later in the day but there were no cups. When I informed the desk clerk he said that the free coffee was only available during the breakfast period and not at other times during the day. I remarked that I thought it was misleading for the motel's website to list "free coffee" as an amenity when it was only available during breakfast. He said that I would have to take the matter up with the manager.

I went out one eveming shortly after midnight to visit the nearby Atlantic Club Casino. When I got to the ground floor the front desk was vacant (as usual, after hours). The clerk was sitting in the lobby with two friends who were completely inebriated. Although the desk clerk appeared to be sober, his two mates were talking, laughing and shouting in their native language. One of them extended his hand to me and, slurring his words, animatedly asked me how I was doing, as if I were an old friend whom he hadn't seen for awhile. I declined his drunken offer of friendship. As I hurried toward the exit and they loudly resumed their conversation.

When the housekeeper attended to my room in the morning she didn't replace the hand towels, and one of the allegedly white bath towels she left in the bathroom had a huge smear on it in a color that I had never seen before. I took the towel down to the front desk to show the clerk. He was absent, but another employee was nearby and I asked him if he could help me. After I showed him the towel he apologized and brought me out a fresh set of towels.

At the risk of overkill, I'll stop there. The relatively inexpensive rooms are still overpriced considering the level of "service." I probably would have had a more pleasant experience staying at the Bates Motel. Do yourself a favor. Don't go.

Room Tip: This place is to be avoided at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank excelsior999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wapwallopen, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Went for a weekend trip to with my boyfriend and father, we stay at your hotel for 2 night, When we got there the front desk person was very rude. I asked him if they need my choice privileges card to earn my point and he said no in a rude way. We finally got to our room, and it took over a hour for the room to warm up. There was not outlet overs on any of the outfits. This is not good epsecially if any one had young children. The floors were very sticky when walking on them. The beds were ok, very unconforable. The bathroom door could not close all the way nor did it lock for privacy. Over all I would not tell anyone to stay there. Go to another place where you would be treated nice. This is the last time We will ever stay with this hotel. Coffee was cold, i enjoy a fresh and hot cup.

Room Tip: do your research before booking a room read review from other people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nichole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement455, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Oceanview, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Valued Patron,

I regret to hear about your experience. However from the details in your review, it seems you may have the wrong property. Our records show that we had no such issues brought about during the time of stay you have said. Also your critique of "Cold Coffee" leads me to also believe you may have the wrong property. Our breakfast area is equipped with FilterFresh Cafe' style coffee which is dispensed hot through a machine. Any such experience of cold coffee would have been reported by other guests as well. If you could call our property and ask to speak to the Manager, we can double check to see if indeed you were a guest with us or just a case of mistaken identity with out property as there are numerous other Rodeway Inn's in the Atlantic City Area.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Anyone booking a room online, I'm sure, is not searching for a room that is used for prostitution and crack use! Oh yes, ladies and gentlemen, in the night stand, where you would normally find a bible, we found a wallet containing various condoms and customer telephone numbers along with a crack pipe wrapped in a hand towel. The room felt very sketchy and the appearance didn't help. Do yourself a favor and STAY far, far away!!! Don't believe me? Take a look, I uploaded a photo!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZS1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement455, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Oceanview, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize for the experience you had while you stayed with us. This issue was not taken lightly and housekeeping has immediately been notified. This is not acceptable and immediate action was taken place. We would hope that you would give our Hotel another chance and consider this an isolated incident.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you soon. Please call the property and ask for me personally, so I can assist you with your reservation.

thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was in Atlantic City recently to celebrate a friend's birthday. There were eight of us, so finding a place to stay without breaking the bank was a challenge. And since we don't care too much about fancy accommodations, we figured as long as the place is clean we should be fine.

Rodeway Inn is close to the Boardwalk and Tropicana, so that's a plus. I found the front desk staff to be neither nice or rude. I think "uncaring" is the word that would best describe them. I was trying to negotiate for a lower rate compared to what I was quoted (the place wasn't at all full) but the person I talked to just shrugged me off. The housekeeping lady, however, was very cheerful.

The rooms we got were clean for the most part—no roaches of any sort; but there are definitely signs of wear. Doors needed to be slammed in order to close, the hinges of the doors are rusty, and the towels were scratchy.

Motels of this type are best for groups who would be out and about for most of the day (and night) and only need a clean place to shower and sleep. And for the price, don't expect anything fancy or anything beyond the basics.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spitfireroast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
#28 of 49 in Atlantic City
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#14 of 49 in Atlantic City
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Envoy Inn
Best Western Envoy Inn
#12 of 49 in Atlantic City
460 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.8 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#17 of 49 in Atlantic City
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Oceanview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Oceanview

Property: Rodeway Inn Oceanview
Address: 3200 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Oceanview 1.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Oceanview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing