We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not so nice neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Atlantic City
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel not so nice neighborhood”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Atlantic City is dumpy, especially the area where this hotel is located. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff efficient but do not expect to go walking around on the streets safely. We were only stopping here one night as we traveled south and since it was not a destination it was OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossEm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi FlossEm77,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad you found our hotel clean and our staff efficient. I am saddened to see that the state of the City reflected your score for our Hotel. Unfortunately, we cannot change our location but find that it's great when embraced properly. Close to a public beach, ton of restaurants, casinos and nightlife entertainment. I would love to personally help you next time you're down to find closeby activities.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    327
    113
    42
    28
See reviews for
147
300
26
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice hotel off the beaten path of Atlantic City's bustling casino area. Rooms were spacious, front desk staff was very courteous. Short walk to the boardwalk. Didn't like the fact that we had to pay $10/day for valet parking but that's Marriott in alot of locations. The free cookies in the lobby were a plus. Didn't go to the hotel restaurant but it looked full during breakfast. Overall, a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyLife8203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the great comments and for taking the time to share them. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend and we were a part of it. We appreciate you understanding our parking policies, our parking is handled by a separate company, thus, a charge needs to be placed. It's a good, efficient and secure option when staying in Atlantic CIty. I would totally recommend it every time you stay with us. Thank you again and we look forward to your future stay.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207

DO|AC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at Marriot courtyard because I had some gift certificates I won from work. When I normally visit Atlantic city I stay at one of the casino hotels on the strip so this was a whole new experience for me. I stayed in a king suite on the 17th floor which I absolutely loved. If you can upgrade to a suite do it, well worth it. The room was clean and had 2 flat screen tv's. (living room area which came with microwave and small sink and bedroom) the king suite also included a jet spa tub and separate shower. The location was out the way considering you can stay in the caesars or trump and be directly on the boardwalk, however it was only a short drive to the other hotels/casinos. valet was efficient. my ONLY con was that they placed a hold of $210 on my account I was not aware of until after the money was taken out….thought that should have been told to me before hand…they said it will go back on my account in 5-7 business days (we shall see). check out was smooth and quick…they billed me for having 2 cars instead of 1 but the minor hiccup was fixed swiftly by the front desk attendent and they refunded me back the difference. All in all great weekend stay would definitely return...

Room Tip: king suite is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latrisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Latrisha,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite. We only have 4 of those, and high in demand as you can imagine. Thank you for not letting the the error on the bill affect your score. When you return, contact me so that I can block a higher floor room for you of not the suite.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207

DO|AC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After reading all the reviews listed on this site, I had mixed feelings going into this hotel for two nights. Why I choose it was on the strength of the Marriott name. From check in to check out, the experience was quick and easy. My room was gorgeous, clean, and seemed to be recently updated. I say that because there was still painters tape in a corner of the bathroom. I only hope that after I checked out today, the cleaning staff found it and removed it. One reviewer mentioned the neighborhood, I did not see any issue with it. The Jitney lets you off right at the hotel and the area was well lit. My only complaints are: 1) upon check-in the guy (Brendan) explained the hold on my credit card incorrectly 2) my pillows were extremely soft; can be a good thing for others, to each his own and 3) during breakfast on my days I had to request clean utensils. Overall, my experience was so much better than I expected. Now, if the hold on my credit cards doesn't release properly, this will be a whole different review being as I just check out today.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Nicole,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you still gave us a shot, regardless of the mixed feelings. Thank you for mentioning our location and being understanding. As for charges and credit card holds, I assure you that the money will be returned automatically after 3-4 business days, This procedure is very common and you have nothing to worry about.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207

DO|AC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a fair hotel, not quite what I expected from a Marriott. You should be cautious of this neighborhood. The room was average at best. The toilet had issues. The service was not what I am accustomed to receiving from Marriott. I have been a Platinum member for many years .I am ambivalent about a return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Anthony,

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback. I am saddened to hear that you experience was not above average. We take our member's opinions very seriously and can only hope that you would give us the chance to make things up. Please contact me anytime regarding future reservations, I will personally see to it that you receive a great room without issues. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207

DO|AC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Atlantic City. We were there for one night, checking in on Saturday and leaving on Sunday. We are a gold Marriott member and we did get a bag upon arrival and check out which contained some bottle water, peanuts, and candy. We were not offered anything else and that included breakfast. On a previous stay here we were given two free breakfast passes for being a gold member. Check in was quick.

Upon arrival we used the valet to park the car as we did not plan using the car for the weekend and walking to the boardwalk which is nice walk. (about a 10 minute walk). Valet was quick and only took 5 minutes to get car when checking out.

The room was nice and worked for our short stay in Atlantic City. There was no safe in our room but we did have a refrigerator which was nice to have. The room was clean except for some stains on the chair and mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and around the shower.
Views from the room are ok if you can look past the run down houses and empty lots. Even number rooms have a better view of the ocean. Odd number rooms look directly at hotel next store.

Overall the hotel is nice but we would shop around for a better deal. If offered a deal at a hotel on the boardwalk at the same price we would take that over the Marriott.

Room Tip: Try to get an even numbered room on a high floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brilovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear JANJ1225,

We appreciate your Gold membership and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the goodie bag that was provided at check-in. Unfortunately, Courtyards do not offer complimentary breakfast. It's a brand standard that we must follow. I apologize if making an exception in the past gave the impression that it's available but we did not offer it this time.

Thank you for mentioning our efficient Valet team and cleanliness of the room. Great Tip for viewers, high floor and south side is the way to go! Contact me if you need anything at all and take care.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard AC. The hotel is next door to Resorts Casino and a couple of blocks to Taj Mahal. Very convenient to the "Walk" designer outlet. The Jitney stops on the corner and taxis are readily available. We were in AC to celebrate my nieces birthday so we had diversity in ages. The hotel is clean and comfortable. If you're looking for a pleasant view this is not the hotel for you as the neighborhood is not the best. The maintenance staff and maid services are good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANJ1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anik_GR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Atlantic City, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear JANJ1225,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location and staff. Thank you for leaving some great tips for readers and future guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

-

Golam Rabbani (Anik) | Sales & Operations
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
P: 609-345-7070 ext. 7102| F: 609-345-5207
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlantic City

Property: Courtyard Atlantic City
Address: 1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7336
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlantic City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic City's exclusive Marriott experience, The Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City is conveniently located just one block from Resorts Casino, the beach and Boardwalk. The hotel's location is ideal for easy access to casinos, local conventions, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Marriott
Atlantic City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing