We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 16 July 2014

There have been some back and forth reviews of this place but with the right expectations you will be very satisfied. I checked in with my wife on 7/5 at the rate of $249.99 for 7/5 and $99.99 for 7/6. We were lucky the fireworks on the 4th were delayed so we scored what ended up costing $200 plus for 7/6 and $350 for 7/5 for any late bookers. The parking situation can be rough and when we got there there only 1 spot was available on the Pacific Ave. side. I had thought parking was free on site but it is $10 per night and if you take a spot on South Iowa you might have to move your car for someone else to get out. Also if you pay and leave there is no guarantee you will have a spot upon your return. We knew the Jitney was right out front so I paid $20 for two nights of parking (Cash only, no receipt) and left the car until we checked out. Every website I had seen did say free parking and we actually called Wyndham who stated there was a "small fee" disclosure. I really didn't care about the cost I just don't like surprises. Checking in was fine and we did so right at 3pm. Booked a king room and ended up on the 4th floor on the far end away from the elevator. There was a sign in the check in area stating hotels.com reservations will not be accepted but I expected to see this after seeing the other reviews. I booked directly through the Wyndham hotels website. The elevator is tiny and in the lobby. It definitely had a strong odor of the Devil's Lettuce in it which seemed to be a theme throughout the hotel. Honestly it was a better smell than that of.... well 7-11 in the lobby. The lettuce was not a big deal to myself but it was certainly prevalent but the lobby smell needs to be addressed. If I had to wait to check in I would have gone outside. The room was very clean, had a really good size fridge, and tons of channels on the tube. The a/c blew cold as you wanted. They had nothing in the room indicating the wifi password so we called the front desk and retrieved it. It was a pretty slow connection but I have yet to see hotel wifi that I find passable beyond light web browsing and email checking. The bathroom was small but adequate with a flush that I would label as "low flow". From the farthest room possible to the exit it was about 30 seconds. 20 more seconds to the Jitney stop and maybe 45 seconds to the entrance of the Trop really made the location awesome. The pool was closed, then open, then closed so no idea what the deal was but I did not plan on using it anyways. It was the size of a big in ground in someone's back yard. Throughout our two days I had no issues whatsoever with the area around the hotel and made numerous walks very late at night without the slightest concern. The theme of the smell of the Devil's Lettuce was apparent at almost all times with patrons partaking in the walkways but it was of no concern to me and they were friendly if you just said Hi as you would to anyone passing by. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again. The Jitney stop being right in front of the place was a huge factor especially since it was rarely even halfway full because it is one of the first stops on Pacific. Any q's, lemme know!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Pultzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booker beware!
I booked this hotel through hotels.com which to date has never let me down. We showed up after a miserable drive in traffic only to learn that this hotel would not honor our reservation (which was non refundable, by the way). After several hours on hold with our travel agent, we had to leave they could not find us an equivalent even an hour outside of the city. What a nightmare!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank CanCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear CanCruiser, We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience due to booking situation. The situation of bookings on Third party relates to Third party website and not the hotel. We have addressed the issue with them and everything is rectify to show new management instead of old system. There should not be any problem in future and we greatly appreciate if you will give us one more chance to meet you expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

New owners are jerks, Booked online and had a confirmed reservation. Booked through expedia. Called the hotel to confirm and they told me that they will not give us a room. New owner told me that he does not care and that this hotel is worth way more then what we paid online so he will not give us a room. This is a rundown 2 star hotel. are you kidding me. If you book here online anywhere they will not give you a room. What a bad way to start a business. They left us high and dry so we had to cancel our 4th of july weekend at atlantic city as no more rooms near our price range were available. They should be ashamed and I really hope they fall flat on their face. We paid $ 89 on line . owner said for $350 he would give is a room. For a 2 star hotel. I do not think so.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank steve08085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Mr. Steve,

We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience due to booking situation. The situation of bookings on Third party relates to Third party website and not the hotel. We have addressed the issue with them and everything is rectify to show new management instead of old system. There should not be any problem in future and we will greatly appreciate if you will give us one more chance to meet you expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The owner was rude and refused to honor our reservations that had already been purchased through hotels.com. Extremely poor business man, many displaced guests with an empty hotel, would not even give us a discounted room. Stay in a casino when in AC.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Tyjamsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience due to booking situation. The situation of bookings on Third party relates to Third party website and not the hotel. We have addressed the issue with them and everything is rectify to show new management instead of old system. There should not be any problem in future and we greatly appreciate if you will give us one more chance to meet you expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked my room at the Tryp Hotel for a saturday night to celebrate my 30th birthday. I went through the booking site hotels.com to get the room. Upon arrival at the front desk I was told that my reservation wouldn't be honored and that I didn't have a room. There were 20+ people outside that also were told they would have no room. The police were called and tried to rectify the situation of all the angry guests. The hotel staff made no effort to accomidate anyone and were extremely rude. They simply said to contact hotels.com and have them refund the money. I didn't want my money back! I wanted a room to enjoy my birthday! They never made any effort to apologize or give reason why they wouldn't give us a room. They said I would have to pay an additional $250 to stay there. What a rip off! I ended up stuck in atlantic city with no room on this important day. Dont go here. Looks like a great deal on the computer but its not. What a waste of time.

Room Tip: Worst customer service I have ever experienced!!!!!!!!! I would give 0 stars if that was an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank misslexie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience due to booking situation. The situation of bookings on Third party relates to Third party website and not the hotel. We have addressed the issue with them and everything is rectify to show new management instead of old system. There should not be any problem in future and we greatly appreciate if you will give us one more chance to meet you expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Disregard any review before June 2014 - those reviews are about the Ascot. The new hotel Tryp by Wyndham has only been open a few weeks. We have been warching the complete gut and remodel of the hotel and knew we would try it once it opened. So glad we did. We have stayed twice and were very pleased with the room. We had two double beds - fantastc mattress, one of the best sleeps I've had in a hotel. The room has a nice size fridge, coffee maker, a desk and chair. The bathroom has a shower and the sink is on the outside which we like. The management seems to take great care of the property and we were told that by the last week in June they would be offering free breakfast. The hotel has a pool and offers free wifi. Have a couple more reservations for later in the summer - pricing is good especially Sunday through Thursday. Great location right next door to Tropicana.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or above - not as many people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chele1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apurv V, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Chele,

Thank you for a wonderful review! We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. The TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City has one of the best team built around a great service culture. Have you made your next reservation yet? If not, please give us a call at 609-449-8819 and we will be happy to take care of that for you. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Geneviève S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T M, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#15 of 49 in Atlantic City
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#17 of 49 in Atlantic City
227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#10 of 49 in Atlantic City
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City

Address: 101 S Iowa Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6403 (Formerly Ascot Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range: £35 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Motel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing