We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bally's Atlantic City
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We checked in and were taken care of from our car, to our luggage, to the bellman Norm who went back to the car to get our phone we left in the cup holder! Our room was AMAZING. Chris checked us in and we asked if there was an upgrade, a larger room, as we could not believe the low price ($49.00). He upgraded ($51) our room to a king suite and wow were we surprised! Ocean Front, Living Room, Bedroom and HUGE bathroom. Whirlpool tub complete with TV so you could watch the news while you soak your aching muscles from all that walking around the casinos! For Florida dwellers the connecting corridors kept us from freezing while we explored the adjacent casinos. I was a little apprehensive to visit Atlantic City, but actually loved it. When playing the Bally's slots you can push a button, order your drink (all kinds of free choices and others for $1-3) and it arrives in no time! I enjoyed the casino experience much better than Vegas, no street hecklers pushing ladies of the night!

Room Tip: Just ask for upgrades and military discounts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,906 - 8,912 of 9,814 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Bally’s has really deteriorated to the point where it might be one of the worst major casino/hotels in AC. In the past, I had stayed in the really old hotel "tower" (forget the name, but it wasn't much of a tower), and it was really one of the worst hotel rooms I ever stayed at. Last week we stayed in one of the “refurbished” rooms in the Claridge Tower. They definitely put some effort into the little things like furnishings and decorations, and the flatscreen TV was nice. The window was very small, however, and you couldn’t help but notice you were staying in a really old hotel. The bathroom was terrible: small, old, and a terribly clogged drain in the tub. Maintenance came to unclog it—to their credit, within seconds of us calling—but there just wasn’t much they could do, no doubt because of the age of the plumbing. Limited towels and toiletries. I can only imagine how bad the non-refurbished are. The walls are paper thin, and you can hear the people’s conversation in the adjoining room as clearly as if they were right next to you.

As far as the casino goes, all of the table games were closed in the Wild Wild West casino (how does that happen?). The 24-hour happy hour at the WWW bar is a great deal if you’re not playing.

The best part of the place is its location—on the boardwalk, connected to Ceasar’s (much nicer) and the pier shops (which are great).

Charging hotel guests for parking is obnoxious, but I guess just about every casino does it.

We won’t be going back any time soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here last month for a conference for Mon-Tues.....the rates were unbelievable! Under $50. The room was nice - double beds. It was on the Clariddge side- the "ruby room". I received an complimentary upgrade since the hotel was probably not busy at all. My main complaint was the price of the internet. It was about $13-15 and it did not work. I called the front desk and they sent someone up to reset the modem which seemed to fix the problem. Overall it was an okay stay.

Room Tip: The Ruby Room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We arrived on Dec 26 and stayed 4 nights. Upon arrival we went to our room (Claridge side) and found that it was right near the elevator and ice machine, which I had requsted that it not be. We switched rooms with a family member who had a room further down the hall. The room was out dated to say the least. Upon turning on the tap we had brown water. We waited a bit and turned it on again and still had brown water. We went down to the lobby and informed them and they apologized and said they would upgrade us to the Tower rooms. The upgraded room was not much different from the first room other than we didn't have brown water and we now had a view of the ocean. Bally's idea of an upgraded room is very different than mine. Havingb said that they did recify the issue so I can't complain. They did say they were doing work and that 30% of the rooms would be affected by the water issue and our room just happened to be one of them.

The casino was very busy and very cramped, not much room to move about.
We also found that there seemed to be a lot of panhandlers in the casino. They did have lots of security but it still seemed like a lot of the panhandlers were able to hang around the casino.

We visited several other casinos and the Tropicana seemed very nice, if we ever go back we woudl stay there next time.

Aside from the room issue we did find the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunMnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Bally's is my second choice when it comes to getting a room in AC. My first coice is caesars but was unable to get a room there so picked ballys. Stayed in the Ballys tower, on the 36th corner room and it was fantastic. Love love loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennboy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Thought this hotel room made cheap chains look like "luxury hotels." Our room in Claridge Tower-14th floor looked like it had not been updated since the 80s. Stains on the drapes and floor...cheap bathtub and plastic bath fixtures, an ancient blow dryer, dark brown doors, cheap 80s headboard, peeling wallpaper, felt dirty...overall extremely disappointing and expected much better.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My family stayed two nights in the Ballys Tower. The rooms were comped. Check-in was smooth, hotel clerk very nice and helpful. We had connecting rooms. The rooms were a little dated but clean. The bath room fixtures need updated. The doors between the rooms were quite awkward. We had to close the doors between the rooms in order to open our entrance door. The maid service was very hospitable. My two children enjoyed the pool at the spa as well as the arcade in the family fun center. We enjoyed pizza and subs from the new "food of the shore" area. We also had the wings from the Wild West and shakes from Johnny Rockets. We finished our mini vacation at 6's Bistro with a breakfast. All food was enjoyed by the whole family. Over all, we had a very nice time as a family together. Some might think taking a 9 and 7 year old to a casino is wrong but with the boardwalk and pool being there, our children really have a good time along with their parents and grandparents.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfamilyindianaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
11,661 reviews
2 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
4,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#14 of 49 in Atlantic City
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Address: 1900 Pacific Ave., Park Place and Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: £49 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing