We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was the worst place I have ever stayed! The room was not ready for check in when we came in and the staff was extremely rude. We found a bed bug right after the room was cleaned and the hotel refused to give us a full refund. Took the bed bug as a joke and were uncooperative in assisting us with a refund. I would definitely now recommend this hotel to anyone, it is very dirty and doesn't look like the pictures.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekateryna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement403, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Patron,

It seems you were part of the party who left the previous review:

We'd like to first apologize to you about your experience with us. I will have to look further into your claims as it is something we take very seriously. "Bed Bugs" is an industry wide issue that doesn't just stop at small limited service motels but high-end luxury Full Service Hotels in all major cities. "Bed Bugs" are not a reflection of how the hotel is maintained, as these pests actually enter the room through travelers that have previously occupied the room. We as a property are in contract with reputable Pest Control companies that do conduct preventive Maintenance once a month not only through in person inspections but also with dogs that sniff our any potential pests.. Your claim is will taken very seriously and we will look into the mater.

As for your comments regarding the long time it took for your to check in; I apologize for that as well. During the summer months, we run at 100% occupancy which means every night we are sold out. On such holidays like a July 4th long weekend, many guests want to check in long before the 3 pm check in time. Since check out is at noon, we only have three hours to try to get all the rooms ready in high quality way possible. "Haste makes waste". We would not like to rent a room that was not checked and cleaned thoroughly. When majority of the guests request an early check in, we try our best to get the rooms ready as soon as possible. We did try and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. If you read our reviews from previous quests, most have had a pleasant stay with us. We would hope you would consider this an isolated incident and we would welcome you back at a discount just so you can see again for yourself.

Thank you again for your constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    38
    19
    27
See reviews for
12
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was the worst place I have ever stayed. We had to wait to check in because the rooms weren't ready yet, not only did we have to wait but so did every other person checking in. When we finally got in the room it was not what we expected based on online photos. The sheets didn't look very clean, the sink was falling off, it was musty and smelled. I didn't even want to walk around without my shoes on. We were disappointed with the motel but we had to make the best of it. The next day we went to the beach all day and when we came back at 6pm they were still in the process of cleaning our room..... annoyed...Once the cleaning lady left we went in and immediately saw a bedbug!!!! Crawling around on the bed. We caught it and brought it to the front desk. They didn't really think it was a big deal and said "you taking a souvenir home?" And laughed about it. They did said they would give us a refund but we had to call Expedia first since we booked with them. After we called Expedia the front desk changed what they originally said and would only refund us for one night. Expedia was beyond helpful and gave us a full refund. As for the staff at the hotel....terrible. The worst customer service possible. I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The absolute worst motel in every aspect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement403, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Patron,

We'd like to first apologize to you about your experience with us. I will have to look further into your claims as it is something we take very seriously. "Bed Bugs" is an industry wide issue that doesn't just stop at small limited service motels but high-end luxury Full Service Hotels in all major cities. "Bed Bugs" are not a reflection of how the hotel is maintained, as these pests actually enter the room through travelers that have previously occupied the room. We as a property are in contract with reputable Pest Control companies that do conduct preventive Maintenance once a month not only through in person inspections but also with dogs that sniff our any potential pests.. Your claim is will taken very seriously and we will look into the mater.

As for your comments regarding the long time it took for your to check in; I apologize for that as well. During the summer months, we run at 100% occupancy which means every night we are sold out. On such holidays like a July 4th long weekend, many guests want to check in long before the 3 pm check in time. Since check out is at noon, we only have three hours to try to get all the rooms ready in high quality way possible. "Haste makes waste". We would not like to rent a room that was not checked and cleaned thoroughly. When majority of the guests request an early check in, we try our best to get the rooms ready as soon as possible. We did try and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. If you read our reviews from previous quests, most have had a pleasant stay with us. We would hope you would consider this an isolated incident and we would welcome you back at a discount just so you can see again for yourself.

Thank you again for your constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night ....The room was neat and clean. Don;t expect much in the room .but its worth the price clean and comfortable.but the worst part was the breakfast ...there was hardly anything worth eating so we preferred to have it in dunkin donuts.everything else was good .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ember1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and My Fiance Stayed at this hotel when we decided to leave a Day Early for a scheduled trip to Atlantic City the first week of March 2013. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. Breakfast was OK...but everything else was great. We stayed at Resorts the other two nights we were there but all things considered...it was a very pleasant stay. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for one night on March 1st. It was a cheap hotel for a weekend night in Atlantic City. The room was clean and within walking distance from the casinos and boardwalk. It was a basic room with no thrills, but I did not expect anything else for the price that I paid. I would stay here again if I were to return to Atlantic City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here on 11/21 to 11/22, price was good, staffs are helpful.

Room was not big, but it's got a King bed with a mini fridge and a microwave (Both has to be request upon your check in). Bed was comfy, and the bathroom is also very clean.

Very close to the Tropicana and it's just a Jitney away from all the other casinos.

The only down side is that late at night, lots of "Ladies of the night" wondering around the corners, 1 even asked my bf if he wanted a "good time", while I am right next to him.

All in all, we would love to stay again for the next visit. ty.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the other building across the street, less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephy8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for an overnight stay on Saturday 10/12/13. I read the reviews before I booked and they were all terrible. However 1) we weren’t staying overnight for the amenities at this hotel 2) We live 45 minutes away and just wanted a place to sleep, get up and go 3) My other options nearby ranged from $199 to over $600. We checked in and dropped our bags off at 6:00PM, went out and came back at 1:00 PM, slept, had coffee and were out of there by 10:00 am. Don’t compare this place to a resort. If you are looking at a budget hotel like this one then you will be completely mistaken to expect five star service and amenities.
To be fair, I am rating this place three stars because the front desk staff were very friendly, the coffee they served in the morning was A+++ delicious and the $69.99 price can’t be beat. We have BMW and we were not afraid to have this car in the lot the short time we were there. The other clientele had late model cars, a few Mercedes, lots of late model SUV’s, etc.
The room was plain, the bathroom and closet doors were horrible. If they would only replace the doors, then they rooms would appear 200% better. This place does need a remodel. It was just taken over by new management so maybe they will pay attention to these things.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finerflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
#13 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#16 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk

Property: Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
Address: 3001 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beach Block Hotel Atlantic City
Econolodge Atlantic City
Econo Lodge Atlantic City
Atlantic City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing