We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but very unorganized staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Atlantic City
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We booked our room through booking .com for Sunday 24th through Monday 26th for 92$ on our check in day we realized the price went down to 59$ and we figured they would match the price, they didnt. The younger boy at the desk was really rude. Last year when we were here he wasn't there and when we showed up they got us checked in early at 230 but this man said we had to wait till 430 because that is check in time. So we walked on the boardwalk till around 4 and went back to motel to wait just to see he was letting two girls without reservations check in right away. So we got in line and checked in. The room was nice and cleaned. Later that night we booked another night for 59$ and a nice older man was at the desk when we got back to our room our keys he just gave us wouldn't work so we had to get new ones. The next morning we go down for breakfast and the family down there took practically everything to their room in a bag and came back down for more when they finally restocked. They should have signs that say dont be greedy. Later around 12 we get a call saying checkout is at 12 and we need to check out and we had to keep explaining we payed for a second night.on Tuesday morning we go back down for breakfast and a man that was at the desk just stood there and watched everyone get their food. When it came to check out time we tried to get in our room at 1145 and our key didn't work so we went back down to get a new one and the rude young man was there and said it was expired because checkout is 12 and we said yeah but it's not 12 and he just rolled his eyes. This was our worst stay. Last year I reviewed 5 stars but this year service was terrible. Get rid of that young man and solve Alot of problems because all of the other staff was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear you found your stay less than satisfying. Regarding the price of the room, the rate at which you booked the room is the rate you pay when you check-in, regardless of the walk-in rate; you will find this to be the case at any other motel in Atlantic City. Furthermore, our check-in time is at 4 pm because this is the time by which the housekeepers are expected to have finished making the rooms. Our check-in time of 4 pm explains why the two girls without reservations were allowed to check-in right away, since they had arrived right on check-in time.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the nonfunctioning keys and for the rudeness of our staff. However, we cannot stop a family from eating breakfast, as a free breakfast is guaranteed for every guest. We hope you find your next stay at our location a satisfying one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank Madhu V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The positive - Good location to the boardwalk but in a rough neighborhood. We witnessed drug deals and drug needles in the parking lot of the hotel. Negative - Several things but the number one....BED BUGS!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_VA_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We can assure you that our parking lot is very safe due to our security cameras overlooking the lot. Additionally, our hotel does not have bed bugs due to the level of cleanliness we maintain and due to our routine bed bug inspections. Any concerns you had during your stay could have been resolved had you informed the front desk. We hope your next stay at our location will be a better one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I am very disappointed in the super 8 motel in Atlantic City NJ. The room was dirty. There were German cockroaches in the room during our stay. The swimming pool was not maintained by the motel staff and needed to be vacuumed on the bottom of the pool. We were told by the staff that checkout was at 11 am yet I later found out that the checkout was 12 pm. The tables in the lobby for breakfast weren't clean. The toaster was not working right. In my motel room, there is an electrical outlet that I plugged into and when I took the plug out of the outlet, there were exposed electrical wiring and insulation from inside the wall coming out. This is very dangerous and should be repaired. The toilet seat was loose and my husband had to use his own tools to fix it. The shower/bathtub had no coating to protect you from slipping and possibly falling in the tub. The bathroom floor had a lip on the threshold that could trip somebody.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our location. However, we would like to clarify some of the issues you faced during your stay. Regarding the dirty room and cockroaches, this should not have been an issue considering our rooms are cleaned daily; however, we would have been glad to switch your room if you had informed us. Additionally, although the pool is maintained regularly, other customers returning directly from the beach often bring sand with them into the pool, causing a dirty appearance that cannot be cleaned right away.
Check-out time is, always has been, and always will be 12 pm. Our policy has never deviated from this, and the staff shouldn't have told you check-out time is at 11 am. If they told you so, I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding they caused.
Furthermore, our staff would have taken care of the issues of the broken toaster, exposed outlet, loose toilet seat, and lip on the bathroom threshold had you informed the front desk.
We apologize for the troubles you faced during your time at our location and hope your stay here is an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin K, General Manager at Super 8 Atlantic City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#16 of 49 in Atlantic City
498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
#25 of 49 in Atlantic City
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Envoy Inn
Best Western Envoy Inn
#12 of 49 in Atlantic City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#14 of 49 in Atlantic City
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#9 of 49 in Atlantic City
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Atlantic City

Address: 175 S Tennessee Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range: £38 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Atlantic City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Super Eight Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing