We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropicana Atlantic City
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We got a great deal on this hotel through Travel Zoo. The hotel has 2 major buildings. When we arrived, they asked would we want to be near the casino or near the restaurants. We said restaurants, however this was a mistake. The room they put us in had a great view, but was extremely outdated. Old Everything!! We immediately called and requested a different room closer to the casino and it was much nicer and updated. So if they ask, choose the casino room. The inside of the hotel is very nice. Great places to eat and shop and the casino is also very nice and fun. Complimentary towels are provided if you want to go to the beach. You can rent bikes early in the morning and go down the boardwalk. That was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,838 - 1,844 of 5,031 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice hotel! I remember the Tropicana from decades ago and it has been upgraded nicely. The indoor "courtyard" with all the restaurants and shops is very nice, like Las Vegas. I enjoyed the convenience of all the restaurants and bars and the casino was busier than Trump Plaza and Bally's. Not many options for breakfast though... The room and hallway was a little noisy at times. Overall, worth the stay!

Room Tip: No places for a quick and cheap breakfast option other than Starbucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Revel (terrible experience sadly) and I have to say the Tropicana really was a fantastic and BETTER deal. We stayed for 3 nights June 28-29-30 and the place was booming with energy Sat, Sun and Monday. The room was clean and well maintained, the night life and restaurants were all fantastic. We spent some time by the pool during our stay, surprised how small it was (roof top pool floor 6) but it was minor. There was plenty of chairs and the waitress service was great. All in All the Trop offers so much more than what the Revel did, though its aged a little where it lacks in Glitz and Glamor like the Revel they make up with their attention to detail and customer service unlike at the Revel. Carmines was a great experience for dinner! You actually do not really need to leave the Trop property if you did not feel like it, there was plenty to do and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisf222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is disgusting! I can say this with great confidence because I changed rooms 3 times due to lack of cleanliness, lack of upkeep and grossly dated rooms. All the rooms had mold along grout in bathroom. Second room had broken base molding tile. Third room was next to elevator that knocked and rolled, not allowing my family to sleep. When I notified a manager she said she could only offer me a smoking room. I explained to her that I had babies and that I did not want them breathing second hand smoke. She just shrugged her shoulders and said that was all she had. My children could not sleep due to all the noise the elevator was making so we chose to leave. It's now 12:30 am and we will take an almost 3 hour trip back home. I truly feel like the Tropicana kicked us out. There was "no room at the inn". It's disgusting how inconsiderate and unempathetic managerial staff was to our situation. I will surely never recommend this hotel to clients nor will I ever choose to spend my money here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sunluvinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Tropicana last night. Upon check-in they upgraded us to a Ocean view suite in the south tower. The room was very nice, renovated, clean. We were very pleased. The service at check-in was excellent and the line was not very long.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First time in AC and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. Although a little far from the main boardwalk action (a good 10-15 minute walk), the Tropicana is a world of its own. Great selection of restaurants (and drinks) for everyone, convenience stores to help fill your hotel room fridge and a casino just downstairs for those of you who feel the need to "make change". The beach itself is beautiful with nicely groomed sand. Not as big as Wildwood but the waves are just as fun to boogie board on. We stayed in the Havana tower which was clean and smelled nice (no musky carpet odours). Housekeeping did a great job and the beds were quite comfortable. The more negative comments would have to be the length of time if took to check in at the satellite desk. We arrived at the 4pm check in time and had to wait over 30 minutes in line before being able to get our room keys. The only other down side to our vacation was trying to find something to interest our 14 year old teenage boy. Too old to enjoy the kid arcades and too young to try his luck in the casino. Thank God for iPods. Unless they have other kids their age to hang out with, it might be more of a challenge for them. There's always the hotel pools. So overall, would definitely recommend and stay there again especially with their amazing deals. Sign up on their website and you'll be surprised how inexpensive of a stay you can get. Oh, and parking, only 10$ for your entire stay. Just mention that you're a guest to the parking attendant and they'll give you a pass. There are plenty of hotels to chose from in AC but bring your comfy walking shoes and you'll love the Trop. And if time allows, you're but a mere 45 minute drive away from Wildwood. A place to easily occupy that bored teenager for the day while you can enjoy the beach as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Like many hotels in Atlantic City, the Tropicana's rooms are a little dated. Having said that, the room was spacious and clean, although sparsely furnished. The furniture was chipped, but there was good lighting, and more importantly, the bed was comfortable and the room darkening shades worked well. The room had a king sized bed, a desk, two chairs, and two end tables. The TV (which I didn't use) was pretty old. It was a little noisy; I could hear people in another room (seemed to be a large party). The bathroom was well lit, but lacked a magnifying mirror. The toiletries were 2 bars of soap, shampoo and conditioner.

The front desk was helpful, and the lobby looks great. Also, this hotel has lots of stuff to do - the restaurants are among the best (Carmines, Cuba Libre, the Casa Tequila place). We were only there overnight for a party, so we didn't have a chance to enjoy the ocean or the pool.

Would I stay here again? Yes, primarily because of the entertainment value of the hotel,and the room was adequate. (I once stayed at Bally's - what a dump!). The Trop's location is also good - a short walk to the Pier shops or the outlets. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
11,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,834 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Atlantic City

Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Tropicana Casino and Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: £54 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2047
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Atlantic City is a 24-hour gaming destination located on the beach and Boardwalk. Featuring 2,047 rooms and suites and home of The Quarter, a 200,000 square foot entertainment complex, Tropicana is the premier resort in Atlantic City. With 24 restaurants, 25 shops, 18 bars and lounges, 2 pools, an IMAX Theatre and a spa, Tropicana is consistently rated as a "Must-See Attraction" in Atlantic City. In spring 2015 & 2016 Tropicana underwent a $90 million renovation, which includes its spectacular Multimedia Light and Sound Show, the addition of AtlantiCare LifeCenter Fitness and renovations to its North Tower hotel rooms, Havana Tower rooms and casino floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Tropicana Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing