We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of Austrian empire on Croatian coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Impressive hotel from Austro Hungarian empire. Due to bad maintenance ranked with only three stars. I came again this year and I have noticed improvement in maintenance. Still service need to improve. Room maid didn't visit my room after first night. Room wasn't cleaned and bed wasn't maid.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Where to start ? Hotel is furnished in the old fashioned way, and when I say "the old fashioned" I really mean it, you have the feel that the ghost of some kind of victorian lady, or headless horseman will roam up the old dusty hallway, because when you enter the hotel you get that "horror chill", but the fun doesn't end there, nooooo, it only get's "better" when you enter the room. Rooms are horrible, furniture is really old, dirty and disintegrating, every peace of furniture is chipped, scratched, weather-beaten, horrible. There are inventory numbers on every piece of furniture on visible places, really, really bad management. There is no bathroom accessories like shower gel, shampoo, soap etc., my room didn't even have working hot water in the shower. Bed is really awful, if there was some kind of carpet, honest to God I would sleep on the floor, I even considered staying on the beach for the night. There is only one word to describe the feel of the hotel ... HORROR. Only bright spot is the friendliness of the staff and the food, everything else is just plain sad.
I really don't know how did the hotel get three stars. AVOID AT ALL COST.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gorski S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

For starters, upon arrival more than half of the lights are burned out. Probably for many years. The walls scream to be washed and repainted.
Curtains are dirty, drag on the floor and obviously too dirty to clean and not fall apart.
Rooms dirty, dingy and all in need of good old fashioned labor intensive cleaning.
Old is not an excuse. Old is cool, deferred maintenance and neglect are not.
Recommend? Run!
Return? Never!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very good stay at the Hotel imperial .
We had half board which was wonderful. They catered for many different tastes including so many vegetables and salads.
The hotel was very central and near the sea.
Staff were very friendly too and nothing was too much trouble.
We were there in early May 2014

Room Tip: Room with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossomvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is second hotel build in Croatia. The hotel is old fashion, rooms are large with the great view to the sea. Food has two main choice. Staff in hotel is just great.
But hotel has a huge problem with noise. You can hear the other guest with no problem in your room. If you have problem with noise like me you are not going to sleep much.
Maybe this hotel deserve a restoration like Hotel Kvarner, then it will be a much greater place to stay. If you wan't place to stay with limited budget in the center of Opatija this is the place.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the end of the hall. Because this is rooms with lowest noise on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Beautiful old historic place with antique furniture and old rooms.
Unfortunately it desperately needs renovation - exterior, reception and corridors look ok, but when you look more closely on rooms and dinning hall you can see it's all old and negligent.
The rooms and bathroom were pretty clean, the staff was polite and nice, the food was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelalalaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel exterior looks beautiful, lobby and reception area is impressive. Coming to a room is like a walk through the castle. and then shock. doors, windows, floor of the room... probably have been renovated when a Hungarian poet Lorinc Szabo was at hotel in 1934. Entering the toilet is refreshing - renovated sometime in 1950. Advice: never close the toolet door if you are alone in the room because the door handles can remain in your hand and then you have a problem. Toilet is a disaster. In the room there is only one electrical outlet, so you need to make a schedule for charging cell phones, notped, laptop. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. Finally, the hotel requires renovation of rooms and then it would be a great hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sostric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.6 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#30 of 30 in Opatija
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 30 in Opatija
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agava
Hotel Agava
#13 of 30 in Opatija
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Selection Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Selection Hotel Imperial

Address: Marshala Tita 124/3, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Selection Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial (3*) Opatija embodies the city's early days as a tourist destination. Built in 1885, this historic Croatian property was originally named after Stephanie, a Belgian princess by birth who later became Crown Princess of Austria. As the second hotel built on the Adriatic Sea, the Imperial is constructed in Art Nouveau architectural style of the Secession period. Its beauty has stood the test of time. Today, the hotel boasts 127 rooms adorned with high ceilings and antique furniture. Complete with conference and banquet rooms like the visually-stunning Golden Hall, Smart Selection Hotel Imperial can handle all your business and personal needs, including weddings. Plan your day on the terrace of the Vienna-styled Café Imperial as you enjoy delectable homemade cakes and coffee. The historic hotel Imperial Opatija is located on the main street and is a quick walk to Slatina, the city's most central beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Selection Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing