We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice new rooms, good food & great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Bilzen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice new rooms, good food & great view”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel at the beginning of the Opatija boulevard. Hotel has 2 parts (hotel & villa). First we had a Villa room (agency mistake), very small, not renovated & no balcony. So we asked several times to have another room, which the staff was very helpfull to have a new room for us. The new rooms in the hotel part are very nice, modern with a nice balcony and view! And very good beds and sheets!
The restaurant has a very good quality & a lot of choice. A pity that you can't eat outside.
Very beautiful pool & terrace, overlooking the sea/coast. Wellness is highly reccomanded!
Staff is very friendly & helpfull, in all departments of the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel part (not villa) are recommended (new and nice balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieRaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    229
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
249
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 days in a Family suite with my wife and two kids aged 9. We had halfboard and stayed at the eight floor. The view and the room was great, breakfast and dinner was ok. Pools, concrete Beach and spa area was very nice. Opatija and the beachfront is very nice and relaxed, and our main conclusion is that overall this is very good value for the Money. This hotel is not among the top range of 5 stars hotels in the world, but they cost at least the double of what we paid. We would come back any time.

John

Room Tip: Top floors has the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014. Opatija is a seaside resort built during the Austro Hungarian Empire with some fine architecture. The Ambasador was built in 1966 during the rule of Marshall Tito. From the outside you would only be impressed by the symmetry of the white concrete, if you like that sort of thing. However...the interior is another matter. Huge hallway, massive windows with outstanding views of the Riviera. A corner suite bedroom with dictator size bed and wide balconies, seriously impressive. Better looking out this building than looking at it. The breakfast offer is impressive, dinner less so. However the hotel has an excellent stand alone restaurant and is close to the town with a number of good eateries. The sea water pool is great with plenty of beds, finding a sun bed on the rocks by the sea after 0800 pretty well impossible. There are some pleasant gardens. Above all, the hotel staff are fantastic, good humoured, helpful and professional. We thank them for a memorable stay. By the end of our week we really did grow fond of the hotel. If in Opatija, let the Ambasodor spoil you!

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite. High floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britlodge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opatija, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful hotel with quite a sea view -- we had a corner Junior Suite with wrap around balcony!! Side view of beautiful Opatija and front view - sea view and we could also see Rijeka. The breakfast an dinner buffets were expansive and delicious. The reception and porter service outstanding. they even gave useful advice on where to go visit and tour on the Istrian peninsula. Would love to return there someday!

Room Tip: ask for ocean view......worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbsatt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Frankly, it’s not the kind of hotel I prefer: huge, international, unimpeachable, luxurious and … impersonal. Yet, setting aside my personal preferences, here are my ratings: five stars for the location, just in the centre of Opatija and, above all, just on the seaside, avec les pieds dans l'eau; four stars for the buildings: a main building, an enormous and ugly modern white block, and a dependance (the villa), a beautiful fin de siècle (XIX century) building, which originally was a kurhaus; three stars for the furniture, somehow aged and poorly suited to the context (what about the floor carpet on the seaside?); five stars for the staff, numerous and attentive; and five stars again for the breakfast, an unequalled assortment of any kind of food; four stars for the facilities: privately accessible rocks, a swimming pool, a well-equipped wellness centre, music and strong (!) conditioned air all over the halls and the corridors; two stars for the parking, small and rather expensive. Summing all up, I would say three/four stars; but here personal preferences come into play: since it’s not the kind of hotel I prefer, I say three stars.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cuti60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've stayed in many lovely 5 star hotels and this one is right near the top with the best.

Went to Dubrovnik last year for 2 weeks and liked Croatia so much decided to visit another part this year for the second 2 weeks of June.

Reception on arrival: efficient, friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Public areas: very well appointed and spacious. There are lots of areas in which to sit and relax including an outdoor and indoor pool, an area for bathing in the sea and most wonderfully, adjacent to the hotel sea bathing area a not very busy small public beach. (You can't beat an old fashioned seaside experience of wading into the sea from a beach.)

Staff: very professional, friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

Service: first class

Rooms: I can only speak for our own which was spacious and comfortable with a sizeable sea view balcony.

Dining: The choice for breakfast was unbelievable catering as it did for every taste and nationality possible. The evening buffet also had a vast choice. We were staying on a B&B basis only but did use the restaurant buffet a few times. On a couple of other occasions we chose to eat a la carte which was also very good with some Istrian specialities; if you like your steak rare try the Istrian beef which is a speciality of the area.

Entertainment: This was quite unexpected as it was not advertised but there was some form of quality live musical entertainment every evening. Also, the first game of the World Cup was held during our stay with Brazil playing Croatia. The hotel made a very special event of this with large outside screens. The atmosphere was terrific especially when Croatia scored the first goal!

Location: Just what we like: a short level 5 minute walk to the main street with the centre only another 5 minute walk. There is also a good, slabbed level coastal walk which runs across the back of the hotel. This is quite idyllic for an easy evening walk to a nearby fishing village or for a longer walk in the other direction to Lovran. A variety of boat trips are readily available and reasonably priced.

Downsides: none that mattered. I suppose the exterior of the hotel (a square box tower) is well out of keeping with the rest of the buildings but there's nothing the hotel can do about this; and as usual the bathrobes provided were too small for my large husband! We have yet to find a hotel which can provide one. Perhaps he should lose weight.

Value for money: For a hotel of this standard we found the price of food and drink reasonable - possibly on a par with the UK or even slightly cheaper.

Room Tip: Worth a sea view room with balcony if you can afford one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaLawzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a vintage late 60s/early 70s hotel tower that's been mostly redone... and most of that has been done well. Located in the center of Opatija (a small resort town close to Rijeka that dates back to the Austro-Hungarian Empire), it's right on the Adriatic, with a seawalk connecting you to the rest of town. Opatija itself is charming but not as scenic as say, Rovinj... I was here for one night and that was enough for me.
Check-in was easy... the friendly clerk was proud that he was able to get me up to the 10th floor. I had a sea view facing south towards Rijeka... I think the prettier views face west along the Istrian coastline, but I was happy enough. It came with a great balcony to watch the sea and nearby islands, along with the port city of Rijeka.
My room had been remodeled recently and was pretty stylish and current. The bathroom was fine... one of the better ones I've experienced in Croatia. The lobby is large and open with high ceilings... but features design touches (the crystal sconces on the posts) that make it look a little dated and sad. Not bad, just not good.
Breakfast was included in my rate and was ample... unfortunately a large, older German tour group was at the hotel that day and basically took over the dining room. Not a particularly attractive crowd with not particularly good manners. They did dampen my enthusiasm for my stay a little.
Having checked out most of the competition in town, I would definitely stay here again. The rates were very reasonable (compared to Dalmatia), the rooms were nice and the views were quite beautiful.
One small complaint... when I arrived (a friend dropped me off), both the younger and older bellmen would NOT let me pull my one small suitcase inside myself and were pretty aggressive about it. While I get they have a job to do (for some people), I haven't had to fight off people from taking my roller bag in a decade or two. Not a great first impression.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
0.4 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Kvarner - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador

Property: Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Address: Feliksa Persica 5, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#2 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#3 Family Hotel in Opatija
#4 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador (5*) in Opatija, Croatia, offers traditional elegance and service excellence for a truly unforgettable experience. A five-star premium hotel in Opatija, the Ambasador will spoil you with its superior amenities. Revitalize your body and soul at the Ambasador's Five Elements Wellness and Spa center. Indulge in the finest Mediterranean delicacies while tasting world-acclaimed local wines. Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador has a central location near Opatija's city center, but still maintains its privacy. It is situated above the private beach and Lungomare, a 12 kilometer promenade on the coast of the Adriatic Sea. During hot summer days, escape to the beach or outdoor swimming pool, ideal for soaking up the sun. For the ultimate guest experience, reserve your room on the newly-renovated "Executive Floor" and take your holiday to another level of pleasure. On the 10th - and top - floor, each room and suite is furnished with a new LCD TV and private balcony where you can enjoy breathtaking sea or city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasador Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing