We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much advertising but disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Sevlievo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too much advertising but disappointing service”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We reserved 2 nights at Grand hotel Adriatic due to the 4 stars and the high rating of the hotel in other sites. What we found there was truly disappointing. This is the first place I've been where we found the bin full of rubbish and the floor full of hair. Nobody did vacuum cleaning. We complained and they did a slight cleaning. No parking space available. Totally disappointing place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanMirjanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note about the issue you have incurred during your stay. First of all, let us apologise if we haven’t completely met your expectations. We are very sorry that you were assigned a not yet cleaned room in the first place. This kind of situations should never happen in a hotel, however apparently it happened in your case, which is of course our full responsibility. We regret this mistake, but would like to emphasize that cleanliness is in general recognised as one of the strengths of our hotel, for which the majority of our guests recommend us.

Dear Guest, regardless of the misunderstandings, which are of course our responsibility, we have really appreciated your feedback and we are inviting you to visit us again.

Sincerely yours,

Grand Hotel Adriatic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    248
    169
    69
    25
See reviews for
106
304
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

First off-If you have difficulty walking this hotel is not for you. It sits on a hill with a fairly steep driveway. You have to take 2 sets of steps to get to the water and it is pretty far removed from the town center. Front desk staff ok but get an interpreter for the finer points of English (like not shutting your a/c off at 2 am!) Also, for some
strange reason the bath tubs are set really high and are deep-if you have trouble with this request a room with a shower. I don't know if it's me but if a hotel bills itself as 4 stars I don't expect to hear the words "no" or "I can't" but this seems to be the norm. Other than that the rooms were ok-they still have smoking rooms so be sure to get the one you want-we were given a smoking room at first but had it changed to n/s again after hearing "no" first. Food in the restaurant and the beach bar both very good.

Room Tip: As always, get 2 room keys-1 for the door and 1 to keep the a/c on. Elevators are small (which seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My family and I just returned from a 10-day vacation along the Adriatic Coast booked as part of a broader group tour. The Grand Hotel Adriatic was our second hotel stay and by far the least impressive.

First, as many other reviewers have stated, this hotel lacks convenience to central Opatija and its many amenities. If you plan to enjoy town, plan to walk alot ... along very crowded streets, without sidewalks in some areas and without lighting in most. For families, this is not ideal but manageable.

Second, our hotel rooms were in the older section of this hotel and the decor was 20+ years terribly outdated. In general, the dark woodwork, blue carpeting and jewel-tone fabrics reminded us of a 1980's cruise ship. Also, we booked two (same) rooms and they were substantially different in size and view. (One room was 2x larger than the other with sofa seating, while the other had limited space between the bed and the wall to walk; one room had a partial sea view and the second had a parking lot entrance view). However, the bathrooms were clean and looked recently retiled.

Other disappointments: decor and lack of seating in lobby entrance, elevator delays due to insufficient "capacity" for guests and luggage, rudeness of beverage staff in dining room, lack of pool at seaside (which many other hotels provide in Opatija). Also, casino "appears" to cater to those who visit for card tournaments, leaving the rest of the guests to fend for themselves at times.

Positives: Recently refurbished (or so it appears) indoor pool with sea view; free wi-fi in guest rooms; buffet breakfast was average and provided a good start to the day.

Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again upon our next visit to Croatia.

Room Tip: Be warned: If you are traveling as a "single", you may be assigned an EXTREMELY small roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VABeerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanMirjanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion of your stay at our hotel. First of all, let us apologise if we haven’t completely met your expectations during the stay. We are always fully committed to fulfil our guests’ needs and desires. However, sometimes it might happen that a guest wasn’t informed well about what a hotel’s different offers or packages include. We believe it might have been your case, since you are complaining about the rooms quality in the older section of the hotel where you stayed. As you have correctly noticed, our hotel encompasses two buildings, one recently renewed, with larger rooms and categorised 4 stars, and the smaller one, with more basic rooms, categorised with 3 stars. As a matter of fact, in all our communications (e.g. marketing campaigns, online offers and packages, direct communication with guests on the spot) we clearly emphasize the different level of rooms’ quality, which is absolutely coherent with a different price level charged for the rooms in the two buildings. Our prices are formed in order to meet the needs of different guests, which are willing to spend different amounts for their hotel room. Some guests want a 4 star room and are willing to pay for it. On the other hand, some are looking for a more competitive price option, where they can have a 4 star level service (e.g. breakfast, SPA, etc.) with a 3 star level room. Moreover, we propose different prices for rooms with our fantastic sea view (80% of all rooms) and those facing the park or back side. We believe that in your case our staff misunderstood which room type (4* or 3*, sea view or not) you would have liked to stay in. Please, accept our apologies for that, we sincerely regret this mistake.
In regards to your comment that the hotel lacks convenience to central Opatija, we believe it is a matter of subjective judgment. As a matter of fact, Opatija is a very small town. It takes approximately a 20 to 25 minutes walk from one side of the town to the other. As you can notice by some other guests’ reviews, many regard the position of our hotel as ideal, due to the peaceful and quiet location, which is still only a 10 minutes walk away from the very city centre.
Dear Guest, regardless of the misunderstandings, which are of course our responsibility, we have really appreciated your feedback and we are inviting you to visit us again.

Sincerely yours,

Grand Hotel Adriatic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Opatija hotels

Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were travelling on motorcycles and we were greeted by name as we arrived, even though it was a large hotel with many guests. The staff were very attentive and 1 even commented to a member of our group later that evening that he was the oldest motorcycle guest they had - he claimed he memorised our birth dates from our registration information, however he did it, it was quite a party trick. The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Found the room clean and pleasant, although the bathroom was a little small everything was looked new and well taken care of. One thing about Europe, is that nobody seems to have invented a bathtub shower enclosure that keeps the water off of the floor. Weird. Nice view of the sea and the private little beach with bar was nice, but I think it could be crowded on holiday weekends. Staff helped out quickly and efficiently. Needs better refrigerators though as the beer wasn't cold at all. In a 4 star listed hotel, they can't keep the beer cold? Did not get a chance to try out the pool, was too busy on the beach and in Opatija.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend had a few days escape in this lovely hotel. It was so relaxing that we can't wait to come back. The staff was nice and not invasive at all, willing to help if needed. The buffet was good and suitable for everybody, doesn’t matter if you are a vegetarian or a huge meat lover. And what should I say about the Tantra SPA, it was absolutely amazing!!! I definitely recommend the Aroma relax massage or the one with the hot stones, especially if you have back problems as I did. We also had a nice ocean view room that made it all even more romantic. The bad and the pillows were comfortable, which is very important for me and my back!!! My fav thing was the smell of the ocean in the morning when you opened the window. <3
I can definitely say that we will be back soon.

Room Tip: ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good; nice position (near center), great view (ask 5,6 or 7th floor), nice spa area, good breskfast, free (but limited) parking space which is very important in Opatija. great and helpfull staff.

Bad; furniture bit old, no LCD TV, small bathroom, no balcony (big no-no), only swimming pool is free for hotel guests (everything else you have to pay extra). Lunch and dinner isnt on 4 star level -the choise is too small, food nothing special.

In conclusion I have to say Ive expected much more from this hotel. Good thing that I got it half regular price (90€ full board/night).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyCroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
1.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
2.4 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatic

Property: Grand Hotel Adriatic
Address: Marshala Tita 200, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Adriatic 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Adriatic is located close to Opatija's town centre, above the coastal walking path Lungomare. The elegant rooms feature air conditioning. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property. The Restaurant Nimfa serves international specialities as well as typical coastal and other regional Croatian dishes. In the summertime, guests have the hotel's stone beach at their disposal. The Beach Garden Restaurant serves a rich offer of food and drinks. Boasting unique views of Kvarner Bay, the wellness and beauty centre at the Adriatic is located on the topmost 8th floor, featuring a terrace. Guests can explore the nearby Ucka Mountain, Istria, the numerous islands and the mountainous Gorski Kotar region. Rijeka Airport is 40 km away and is connected to the hotel by a direct bus line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing