We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Galeb(Opatija)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Palme(Opatija)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
133
280
183
72
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
280
183
72
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadriatic seanice hotelgate tourfirst stoptwo nightsopen the windowbuffet dinner and breakfastcrepesbig hotelold worldbeautiful viewmini barindoor poolfew minutes walkhotel restaurantthe main streetspa
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

About 10 min walk to central Opatija is the Grand Hotel, pretty much the only hotel with 2 rooms available, most places were fully booked. As part of the Casino we expected pretty good service here which was hard to find. No one to take our luggage, Restaurant closed early, Nowhere to get Ice or Food late at night. We stayed on Level 5, which we had to drag our luggage up some stairs, followed by a tiny lift that can fit 3 people with luggage.

Rooms were tiny, 2 small beds, felt like a cheap motel, small 34cm TV, no Ice, no cold fridge, beds weren't comfortable. Was $120 EU per room, would'n't stay here again

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danedobre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Grand Hotel Adriatic. We didn't spend a lot of time there, as we were doing daily tours of the area.

Our room (120) was a handicap room, as the hotel was fully booked. This meant we had a 1/2 height shower, which opened for wheelchair access, and leaked a lot. There was an SOS cord in the bathroom, and a sliding door to the bathroom.

The room had a sheet and a bedspread, but the bedspread barely covered the bed. There was a combination safe in the room, and the wifi worked well for us. Others said the wifi was spotty. The view was of a garden and the parking lot at the back of the hotel.

Others in our group reported that the single rooms were very small. And 2 people in our group lucked out and got a suite (room 608), which had 3 balconies and a nice view of the sea.

There were 3 small elevators in the new section of the hotel, and they could get badly backed up at check-in / check-out time. Luckily, we could use the stairs to get to our room. And we could get to the dining room without going up and down stairs, by using the door into the dining room at the end of our hall.

There were 2 computer terminals for use, to the left of the front desk. The patio bar was a bit strange to get to, as you either had to go out of the hotel and walk up steps to get to it, or you had to go down a long hall towards the casino to reach it via a door at the end of the hall. The staff at the patio bar were friendly, but not outgoing.

There was swimming in the sea if you crossed the road and went down some steep steps. People who did that reported the service was good there, but beware that the swimming is in deep water only, so you need to know how to swim. I don't think pool towels were provided, but I could be wrong about this. The pool on the 8th floor was small but acceptable.

The casino was very dead when we visited it. You needed an ID card to get in, and they only used Euros. They had American style roulette tables (zero and double zero).

Speaking of Euros, Croatia had just joined the EU when we got there, and they still used Kuna as their money. If you change actual dollars at the [Zagreb] airport for Kuna, be aware that if there is any writing or marks on any bill (or a rip or tear), that bill will be rejected for exchange. Very weird and unexpected!

The restaurant was nice and had a good selection. We were a group and were sitting in the group section, but we could go out to the main dining area and get more choices of food out there (at dinner time). We had to pay for our drinks (even water), and we found the man who served these drinks to be rude. There was no assigned seating at breakfast. Coffee came from 2 single-cup machines. The toaster was a belt type toaster.

One final point of interest -- there was a sign for the toilet in the main hall from the lobby to the elevators, which had it spelled "Toillet" , while the sign closer to the actual room had it spelled correctly.

Not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July. Had a newish room on 5th floor. Great view from balcony. Air con was efficient, bathroom had all I needed and the TV worked perfectly.
Hotel reception staff were very helpful, spoke good english and seemed happy to help.
Hotel is at top of hill about a mile from the town centre with a very steep drive. The path to the seafront is very steep with lots of steps.
Food was very ordinary but plentiful. I would stay here again if the price was right, say £60 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room at front of hotel with a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericsplastercast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We reserved 2 nights at Grand hotel Adriatic due to the 4 stars and the high rating of the hotel in other sites. What we found there was truly disappointing. This is the first place I've been where we found the bin full of rubbish and the floor full of hair. Nobody did vacuum cleaning. We complained and they did a slight cleaning. No parking space available. Totally disappointing place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanMirjanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note about the issue you have incurred during your stay. First of all, let us apologise if we haven’t completely met your expectations. We are very sorry that you were assigned a not yet cleaned room in the first place. This kind of situations should never happen in a hotel, however apparently it happened in your case, which is of course our full responsibility. We regret this mistake, but would like to emphasize that cleanliness is in general recognised as one of the strengths of our hotel, for which the majority of our guests recommend us.

Dear Guest, regardless of the misunderstandings, which are of course our responsibility, we have really appreciated your feedback and we are inviting you to visit us again.

Sincerely yours,

Grand Hotel Adriatic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

First off-If you have difficulty walking this hotel is not for you. It sits on a hill with a fairly steep driveway. You have to take 2 sets of steps to get to the water and it is pretty far removed from the town center. Front desk staff ok but get an interpreter for the finer points of English (like not shutting your a/c off at 2 am!) Also, for some
strange reason the bath tubs are set really high and are deep-if you have trouble with this request a room with a shower. I don't know if it's me but if a hotel bills itself as 4 stars I don't expect to hear the words "no" or "I can't" but this seems to be the norm. Other than that the rooms were ok-they still have smoking rooms so be sure to get the one you want-we were given a smoking room at first but had it changed to n/s again after hearing "no" first. Food in the restaurant and the beach bar both very good.

Room Tip: As always, get 2 room keys-1 for the door and 1 to keep the a/c on. Elevators are small (which seems to be the norm) so if you like quick exits get a lower floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marmar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews