We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends in late October and had an amazing stay, the rooms are really nice and comfortable ( I stayed in the older part of the hotel so the rooms were not as nice as my other friends who were in the newly refurbished side but I had a balcony and the most amazing views). Staff were very friendly and helpful. I made use of the spa and had a massage which was very good. We also made use of the casino on the 4th floor which was very big and similar to most major city casinos, however it was very quiet most days but probably due to the time of year. The hotel was within walking distance to all the major sites in Opatija (which I must admit there aren't many) but still a beautiful picturesque village had a really good trip and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 745Wanderer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Adriatic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very nice stay for a weekend in a winter, rooms are normal size... Breakfast is excellent!! Just food for a dinner maybe could be more delicious... Wellness: savna and jacuzzi and also pool is perfect! very nice place to chill!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuša R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The reception staff were not particularly friendly. The hotel looks tired and does not have the appearance of a 4 star establishment.
Our room was pokey and the bed very hard with a mattress which was tired and uncomfortable. We asked for a change and looked at 3 other rooms and they were all the same. There was a musty odour as well.
We asked if we could get a meal and were told that it would not even be possible to get a sandwich because there was a wedding party. Reception staff shrugged their shoulders when we asked for a suggestion as to where we might go and eat.
Parking was right around the back of the hotel in a cramped space.
I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MIKE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel casino open 9pm to 3am only. I agree numerous old people in Opatja. No beach just sunbathing chairs and seawater.
Hotel service needs improvement for 4star hotel; small elevator and small bathroom. Location on top of hill; 15min walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

There is no way that I can understand why so many very very old people come to Opatija . It is a great place to have a short brake and than go elsewhere in Istria. Don't get me wrong but here is like geriatric paradise for western European middle class about to dies. I suppose that they like 19th century Austrian aristocracy want to be like way of spending their last days... The hotel it's self is OK . But the so coled spa and wellness center is rather small and boring except the balcony at the 8th floor that overlooks the sea. The hotel beach is very small and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel and the place is decent. The sea around the hotel is quite deep, not recommended for youngsters. There is a dog's beach nearby though.I have been there alone for a conference. However, the whole situation looks outdated. Everything is quite expensive for Croatian standards. I am sure there are better places to go in this world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimitrios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are staying in the older part of the hotel. Decorating is out of the 70's-80's time frame. However, the place is well maintained. Hotel is clean, staff is nice, food is so-so (what you expect from cafeteria style set up), not too far from everything, good showers, air conditioning, and gorgeous view. The hotel pool is on the small side and oddly the elevator bank is not on the main level. Overall, not a bad place at all, though. I'd come and stay here again.

Room Tip: The seaside view is much better. The park side view is close to the road and may be loud at night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33,084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
1.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 31 in Opatija
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
2.4 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatic

Address: Marshala Tita 200, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#9 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatic 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Adriatic is located close to Opatija's town centre, above the coastal walking path Lungomare. The elegant rooms feature air conditioning. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property. The Restaurant Nimfa serves international specialities as well as typical coastal and other regional Croatian dishes. In the summertime, guests have the hotel's stone beach at their disposal. The Beach Garden Restaurant serves a rich offer of food and drinks. Boasting unique views of Kvarner Bay, the wellness and beauty centre at the Adriatic is located on the topmost 8th floor, featuring a terrace. Guests can explore the nearby Ucka Mountain, Istria, the numerous islands and the mountainous Gorski Kotar region. Rijeka Airport is 40 km away and is connected to the hotel by a direct bus line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing