We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Before the season time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Adriatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Before the season time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

I was in Opatija in March.For playing Chess European Championship in Rijeka. Liked staying in Adriatic for sure.Both 3* and 4* have good rooms especially with Sea view from the window and balcony.Sea is really close and present almost in every window of the hotel.Sea is just great! despite of the weather.Sea coast is stony.City center and supermarket about 5-10 minutes walk.Exchange possible on the reception. In the middle season time liked specially Spa area in the hotel with sea water swimming pool and jakuzzi.Pleasant personnel of the hotel.Tasty food (hot buffet) drinks for extra cost in the restaurant the same for people living in 3* or 4*.Wi-Fi zones in the lobby of the hotel and two available computers near the reception.Casino Adriatic, but didn't tried my fortune was busy with chess :-)

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tianachess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    219
    149
    65
    20
See reviews for
93
272
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Booked into this hotel for a possible 3 nights- it is really 3 different hotels loosely connected! Bedrooms quite a long way from restaurant as was pool etc. Breakfast huge but long queues and soul less! Staff ok only. Rooms ok but not that clean. Checked out after 1 day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

This hotel screwed up are reservation in which we found out the day that we were to arrive that we didn't have rooms. I was really looking forward to seeing this hotel because the amenities seemed so great.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pspjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Opatija hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Adriatic Hotel overlooking the Adriatic Sea. The hotel was comfortable with a very filling breakfast buffet with abeautiful view of the Sea. Their indoor pool was impressive as it was situated on the upper floor of the hotel and again, you could have your jaccuzzi overlooking the Adriatic Sea. Their whole body massage was an experience not to be missed!
Opatija is a quiet town with a few places to see. We were lucky that my parents in law came over, driving from Vienna, with a car which we used to drive around the Istra region. Pula, Porec and Rovinj was done in a day and the sights were fantastic!
Food in the area is very tasty because of the Italian influence of the region. If I only had a multiple entry visa to Croatia, I would have wanted to visit Venice, which was only a ferry ride away! But you would need 2 days to do that.
We were able to eat those exquisite TRUFFLES in Zigande situated high up a mountain which was a 30 minute drive from Rovinj. We were the last customer to be served dinner, but the experience was worth the trip! A chance of a lifetme to eat FRESH TRUFFLES! To me, they actually tasted like shaved almonds...

Helpful?
1 Thank flyingfriendlyskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

I'have just returned from Opatija, where we spent 4 days in Grand Hotel Adriatic. I checked the hotel web-site for offer and booked a 4-day package directly with the hotel. We stayed in the 4-star part of the hotel. The room was excellent, huge and well equipped, as well as the bathroom. It was really disappoiting that the sea-view which we had booked turned out to be a view onto a lawn and another hotel building, whereas the real sea was to be seen in one corner when you lean over the balcony. But the reception-desk staff claimed it was still to be categorized as a sea-view and I didn't want to bother and to spoil my vacation by arguing about it. We had a half-board. The breakfast-buffet had a very good variety of food, but I would appreaciate a better selection of rolls, f.e. The dinner-buffet had an excellent selection of food, very tasty indeed. The Istrian Dinner on Tuesday was really yammie. The wellness center on the top floor of the hotel is a real asset. Don't miss it by any chance! It has a magnificant view onto the Kvarnerski Zaljev Bay. An there is a relax zone in which you can help yourself with apples, fresh water and warm tea. The only inconvinient thing about the wellness centre is that bath robes must be hired and paid about € 2.5 per a day and you must leave it in the wellness centre on leaving, so you can't go to your room in it. The service of the beauty centre is very well worth trying as well. We tried the hotel beach, which is not sandy however, but that is how the beaches look like in entire Opatija region, but it is clean, has shadow enough to hide from the Sun, it is open only to the hotel guests and it is very nice to stay there and there is a beach restaurant. The chairs are to be hired even by the hotel guests and they are charged about € 2 per a day.
The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, although the reception-desk staff might appear a little bit confused, confusing and uncoordinated, but they were really doing their best to help us with whatever requests we might have, including booking us tickets for perfomrances in the town.
The cleaning staff was a little bit annoying with slamming on the door in the morning in an attempt to check weather we were already off for breakfast. And we had twice to ask for soap and toilet-paper which the cleaning staff forgot to deliver. However, the cleanness is on the 4-star level.
There is a casino in the hotel, which he haven't visited.
The location of the hotel is very good, not right in the centre of Opatija, but about 10 minutes slow walk from it.
I can certainly recommend this hotel for a real getaway and enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — The spa centre
  • Disliked — Sea-view
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2006

The Grand Hotel Adriatic is split into two sections, one 3-star and the other 4-star. So this review is for the 3-star section.

Our room was fine. It was clean, and the maids always managed to service the room whilst we were at breakfast, which was very handy. The room is a bit cramped but all the facilities were there and in good working order. The best part was our balcony overlooking the sea.

The hotel's location is good, within walking distance of many restaurants, cafes, etc. Parking is a problem but that seemed to be the case all over Opatija. It advertises having its own private beach but, as with the rest of Opatija, the beach is rocky with no sand. Saying that, there is a concrete platform with sun loungers (that you have to hire) and easy access to swim in the water.

Breakfast was good however we had dinner one night at the hotel and it was not inspiring. It was also the most expensive meal we had on our holiday so I had expected better.

We did have some problems with our reservation which was through an online hotel-booking agency, not directly with the hotel. It took us 1.5 hours to check out as we had to phone the agency to get them to re-fax the booking through to the hotel. Not the hotel's fault, but their initial tone was quite abrupt: they do not allow bookings through agencies so we have to pay. After much phoning around, we sorted things out ourselves and I was too tired to begin pointing out that we'd proven that they do in fact take bookings from agencies. Also they didn't let us use their phones so we had to keep walking back and forth from the nearest payphone outside their hotel (no payphones inside). So just a word of warning - come armed with printouts and contact numbers should you have a problem. We've used online hotel agencies many times before and it has always been seamless.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank sm_1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
1.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#4 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatic

Property: Grand Hotel Adriatic
Address: Marshala Tita 200, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Adriatic 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Adriatic is located close to Opatija's town centre, above the coastal walking path Lungomare. The elegant rooms feature air conditioning. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property. The Restaurant Nimfa serves international specialities as well as typical coastal and other regional Croatian dishes. In the summertime, guests have the hotel's stone beach at their disposal. The Beach Garden Restaurant serves a rich offer of food and drinks. Boasting unique views of Kvarner Bay, the wellness and beauty centre at the Adriatic is located on the topmost 8th floor, featuring a terrace. Guests can explore the nearby Ucka Mountain, Istria, the numerous islands and the mountainous Gorski Kotar region. Rijeka Airport is 40 km away and is connected to the hotel by a direct bus line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing