We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling in Croatia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Splitska, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Travelling in Croatia”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A great hotel in Opatija. Rooms are excellent and modern. The resteraunt serves a good breakfast and dinner. Other resteraunts are a short stroll away. The staff are outstanding, always helpful and attend to details. Many rooms have sea views and there are pleasant walking paths along the waters edge close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for this glowing review of the Astoria Designhotel Opatija. We are delighted, that we created a memorable hotel experience for you and it would be our honour to be your hotel of choice next time you decide to visit Opatija.

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    101
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
32
140
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Small but clean rooms, friendly service, but not the place to stay on a very rainy day. We had to go out and walk a good distance for lunch on the day of a torrential downpour because the hotel restaurant is not open for lunch. On a good day this would not have been more than an inconvenience, but on a rainy day with rivers running down the hilly streets, we were drenched to the knees.The dining room is small, and with several tours staying at the hotel and the weather not suitable for patio dining, latecomers could not find an empty seat. Our view was looking out on an alley, perhaps the roof of the garage, but the room was quiet and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms 102, 202, etc. are slightly larger and seem to come with an extra bed (3 beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant. We would like to say that both group and individual guests are welcome in our hotel restaurant. Therefore we serve dinner from 18:30 until 21:30 – furthermore we accept a la carte orders until 22 o'clock in order to ensure an optimal service to our guests.

Once more we would like to thank you for choosing the Astoria Designhotel Opatija, and we hope to welcome you again next time you visit Opatija!

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Opatija is a great spot. We spent 2 days there on our bus tour. Lovely hotel. Lovely room. Nice size and good appointments. Some have a balcony. Ours did not but out of our window we could see the Adriatic Sea. Close to nice reasonably priced restaurants.

Lovely restaurant with balcony seating as well. Lovely breakfast. Good selection and very calm lovely atmosphere with good staff.

Free WiFi in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBabyBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this positive review. We are glad that you were satisfied with our restaurant offer and that you enjoyed our positive hotel atmosphere.
We would be glad to offer you a room with a balcony next time you decide to visit or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, so that you have even a more memorable hotel experience!

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I personally believe that there needs to be some conformity in hotel ratings. In my opinion, this hotel is a 3 1/2 not 4 star property. The pluses...great location and an easy walk to the beachfront and town center. Free wifi. Easy walk to the concrete beach. Make sure you have or get water shoes. You can get a beach towel from the hotel for 15 kuna each. Two chairs with an umbrella at the beach is 70 Kuna for the entire day. The staff tries very hard to be accommodating and helpful, including refreezing our ice packs for us. Parking is limited, but the management has made arrangements with a nearby garage for a daily rate for the guests at the same rate you pay at the hotel. Breakfast is adequate -nothing special. Rooms are on the small side and I agree with a previous review that the balcony is small. Feel somewhat ripped off to pay for a balcony that you can hardly sit on. A/C sort of worked. It took until the day before we were leaving to feel like it was somewhat effective, then it got humid in the room again. We mentioned this the first day of our stay and even when the maintenance person came to look at it, he said it was working. Bath amenities are lacking; a bar of soap, small body lotion and combo shampoo/body wash. The kind you might find at a fitness center or lower starred property.

Would definitely return to Opatija and would even consider staying at the Astoria again;would just pack a different array of toiletries. It's location and the service of the staff, outweigh some of the downsides.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for the balcony, even though it is small. It gives one the illusion that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this review. We consider the feedback you provided us with as very helpful in order to make our service for the guests even better. This feedback will be taken into consideration, since it is not only our wish to meet our guest’s expectations but also to exceed them.

We would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for positive comments about our staff. We consider that an individual approach to our guests is something that will lead to our gests being delighted with the whole hotel experience, and eventually turn the Astoria Designhotel to their hotel of choice when visiting Opatija.

We would be honoured to welcome you again and to provide you with an even better hotel experience.

Best regards,

Loredna Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great modern hotel with excellent,friendly staff who will give you all the information that you need with a big,big smile. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, food is really fantastic,Internet included in the price,garage parking near the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M19752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for this indeed glowing recommendation. We will be sure to forward this to our hotel staff. Guest feedback is always a key motivator and the indicator that we are on the right path to offer our guests an unforgettable hotel experience.

Thank you once more! We would be delighted to welcome you again – with a big smile!

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vrsac, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel is completely according to its 4* category. Rooms quality is high, nice design, good isolation, everything works.Gastronomy is the thing that I would like to point out. Buffet for breakfast is rich and it has something for everybody, dinner is even better. It is also buffet but everyday a different combination of dishes with great local specialties. The highest grade is deserved by the staff. It is for sure on a 5* level. Quick check-in. All employees in the hotel are always smiling and ready to help. The only problem is parking for which you have to pay in that street, but hotel guests have a discount in the public garage which is near the hotel, it is better and cheaper to park in it than on the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

we are delighted to read about all of your positive experiences during your stay at the Astoria Designhotel Opatija. We always work on every aspect of the hotel experience (restaurant, staff, accommodation itself) in order to give our guests a home away from home experience and not only to meet but also exceed our guests expectations.
We would highly recommend you to visit us during the „Marunada“ festival, since this is a period where we offer culinary specialities that would be most certainly a delight for you, since your focus appears to be our gastronomic offer.

We hope to welcome you soon again in the Astoria Desinghotel Opatija!

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel, whether you just want bed and breakfast or would like half board. The rooms are a very reasonable size, clean and comfortable. A little disappointed with the size of the balcony - they vary from room to room. Overall a very comfortable stay just an easy walk into the centre of town. Staff were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJB270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

we are delighted that you had such a positive hotel experience in the Astoria Designhotel Opatija. Regarding your concern the balcony size – we would like to put your attention to our Suites which have a panorama terrace overlooking the whole Kvarner bay, providing our guests with a breath taking view!
We hope to welcome you again and to eventually become your home away from home!

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
0.9 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
471 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria by OHM Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria by OHM Group

Property: Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Address: Marshala Tita 174, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Astoria Design Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#18 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria by OHM Group 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat into a world of understated design and elegance, where you'll find your personal private oasis within each of the 49 guestrooms and suites at the 4* Hotel Astoria. Upon entering this unique hotel in Opatija, you will immediately sense its unique, mystical and diverse atmosphere. Each detail has been passionately chosen and each room is worthy of a visit in its own right. Our most important desire is to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, just like at home. As one of the best hotels in Opatija, Hotel Astoria provides a wide range of services guaranteed to satisfy the needs of business and leisure guests. Whether as a place to stay, dine, entertain, or relax: Hotel Astoria is a lifestyle destination in its own right. Hotel Astoria is located near the heart of the city of Opatija, where you are never far from great shopping, as well as the architectural and cultural gems of the city. Hotel Astoria is all about you, providing a fantastic and comfortable environment that will satisfy your every desire, and make you want to come back over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria by OHM Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing