We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astoria by OHM Group

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Rheinfelden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Split- the hotel is wonderful, the view to the sea is very nice and we had a great time during our stay, we enjoyed a drink at the bar and the breakfast is just the same as in hotel Bristol, great variation and quality, the staff will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, overall good value for money and still in a central location. Supermarkets and plenty of shops in the area.

Would recommend it anytime! they have an underground parking now and the parking problem should be resolved as well, hopefully!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this great review!
We are glad you liked the central location and sea view of our hotel; it is breath-taking indeed!
We appreciate you recognized the quality of our breakfast buffet, since a lot of effort and attention is invested into carefully choosing the ingredients and food in all of our hotels. Our staff is our biggest capital, and we are proud to have high professional teams working in our hotels, which are ready to do everything in their power to comfort our guests.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again in our Astoria Designhotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    98
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
132
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in the Superior room, it was light, clean and spacious!
Receptionist very friendly and helpful! We really felt welcome.
Our room was facing east, there was no balcony. Quiet at night.
Bed comfortable but instead of king/queen mattress we got two single ones so this was a small minus. Not sure if all of their rooms have double bed with two single mattresses...
There is a small fridge/bar with juices, beer and wine, chocolates and biscuits.
Large wardrobe with safe. Spacious and modern bathroom.
Excellent breakfast buffet offering local cured meats and cheese, variety of breads, fruit, cooked food. You can eat as much as you like :) We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant so i can't comment on that but the waiter was very friendly and gave us lots of information regarding local food!
Really enjoyed our stay and will be back again this summer! The only downside the hotel is not situated on the beach and there is no swimming pool/spa. You would have to visit one of their sister hotels Opatija or Bristol. We took a taxi (60Kn) to the beach Medveja, about 10 min away, it was fab! Totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyM_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this great review!
We are glad you liked our hotel room. Our stuff is our biggest capital, so we are more than happy to hear that you felt welcome with them. Be sure we will forward these nice words to them in order to keep them further motivated for their work.
In our Astoria Designhotel Opatija we have double beds (one mattress instead of two), so we would suggest asking for that specific type of bed when doing a reservation, in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
We are glad you liked our buffet; we do invest a lot of effort in choosing the best and most quality ingredients, so you could start your day full of energy!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next one!


Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

For a longer vacation trip I stayed together with a friend 3 days in the Hotel. First I booked the deluxe category. But as I asked especially on phone if there is a sea view I was very dissapointed that the superior rooms are at the sides and not the street front. On our's side was also a old and ugly tower building. Therefore we didn't have a very good sea view. I switched the room at the arrival to a superior room (the basic). Unfortunately this one room was quite small, but enough and with a very good sea view. Sea view is quite good from the 4th floor upwards. Deeper you have the hotel in the first row to the sea as an barrier.
The rooms are furnished decently and modernly but I wouldn't say like a design hotel. Generally I wouldn't say the hotel is a design hotel.
The breakfast and diner buffet was very good. No cheap stuff, the mass doesn't count. I didn't regretted to book half bord. As the diner was every night different you don't have to go out for diner.
For arriving with the car, we used directly the offered discount on a nearby parking lot. It is quite cheaper and more relaxed to use this parking lot.

Room Tip: No recommendation for the deluxe room as these are on the sides and don't have clear sea view. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested in writing us this review.
We are glad you were satisfied with the hotel food offer and you enjoyed both, breakfast and dinner. We really do take care to keep our standards and service high to provide our guests with the most convenient experience. Therefore we are proud to say that our chef got awarded for the best chef in the county!
We would recommend to always tell all your preferences in detail to our reservation department, so they could, according to your wishes and needs, allocate you in the most suitable room, so you could have an memorable experience.

We hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is comfortable and very tastefully furnished. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. We were in room 506 which has a breathtaking view of the sea.
The food is excellent.
The waiters are very polite and professional.
The hotel is a great choice if you like a quiet holiday.
Disadvantages: hotel parking lot is very small, no pool or other facilities besides the restaurant and small bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaven6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review.
We are proud of the design of our Astoria Designhotel Opatija, since it makes it different from most hotels in our surrounding. We are glad you liked it, as well the breath taking view it has.
Our stuff are our biggest capital, so be sure we will forward your praises to keep them motivated to further continue with their great work and service.
We are also glad you liked our food, since we do take special care to offer only the best to our guests.

We hope we can welcome you soon again to our Astoria Designhotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Little design hotel managed by Austrian group could maybe make you to expect more... But, ok... A tipical hotel in Opatija - newly refurbished, little rooms with a balcony.. Breakfast leaves you with a little desire for more :-) Decent choice for a short stay. The most beautifull amenity is the terrace which overlooks the beautifull Kvarner bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JASNA_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We appreciate every feedback we get in order to satisfy all of our guests needs to make their stay in our hotel a perfect experience. We are glad you enjoyed the view of our terrace, and we hope to welcome you once again in our hotel the next time you decide to visit the beautiful town of Opatija!


Best regards,


Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The views from this comfortable hotel are amazing, but if you want to swim in a pool (as I did very much) or use a sauna you have to walk 15 min or so to their sister properties. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was great (but coffee was awful). Front desk was very helpful as well. Pets accepted with extra fee. Be sure to reserve parking as they only have a few spots available- we were lucky we got the last one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing our Astoria Designhotel for your stay in Opatija, as well as for your feedback about our Hotel. We are glad you enjyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with our rooms, service and staff.

We always provide our guests with high quality experience for an unforgattable vacation, so we are greatful for every received feedback in order to continue offering high quality services each time our guests choose to spend their holidays with us.

This year a big parking garage was built just next to our hotel, with a capacity for 350 cars, which we recommend to all of our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our Astoria Designhotel Opatija!


Best regards,


Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Splitska, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

A great hotel in Opatija. Rooms are excellent and modern. The resteraunt serves a good breakfast and dinner. Other resteraunts are a short stroll away. The staff are outstanding, always helpful and attend to details. Many rooms have sea views and there are pleasant walking paths along the waters edge close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, Manager at Hotel Astoria by OHM Group, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for this glowing review of the Astoria Designhotel Opatija. We are delighted, that we created a memorable hotel experience for you and it would be our honour to be your hotel of choice next time you decide to visit Opatija.

Best regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria by OHM Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria by OHM Group

Property: Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Address: Marshala Tita 174, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Astoria Design Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#12 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria by OHM Group 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat into a world of understated design and elegance, where you'll find your personal private oasis within each of the 49 guestrooms and suites at the 4* Hotel Astoria. Upon entering this unique hotel in Opatija, you will immediately sense its unique, mystical and diverse atmosphere. Each detail has been passionately chosen and each room is worthy of a visit in its own right. Our most important desire is to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, just like at home. As one of the best hotels in Opatija, Hotel Astoria provides a wide range of services guaranteed to satisfy the needs of business and leisure guests. Whether as a place to stay, dine, entertain, or relax: Hotel Astoria is a lifestyle destination in its own right. Hotel Astoria is located near the heart of the city of Opatija, where you are never far from great shopping, as well as the architectural and cultural gems of the city. Hotel Astoria is all about you, providing a fantastic and comfortable environment that will satisfy your every desire, and make you want to come back over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Astoria by OHM Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing