We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Just Not for Sleeping or Eating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. I get the basis for some of the good reviews, including those in guide books. It's a beautiful building with clean rooms in a picturesque town. But the rooms were opressively hot for sleeping, even with the (unscreend) window open. That just added street noise to the heat. I asked for a fan, but there were none. The rooms are very small with no possibility for any other ventilation. So you just have to suffer. The front desk also lied about the reason for the lack of A/C. The food quality was also very poor. Hard rice, disgusting and unidentifiable (alleged) salmon, canned fruit at dinner. To add insult to injury, they refused all requests for free tap water. Breakfast brought stale cereal, watered-down juice and other disappointments. After taking pictures of the beautiful building, I couldn't wait to leave. Just an awful experience.

Room Tip: Get one with functioning climate control in another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested into writing us this feedback.
We take every feedback very serious, and use it for the improvement of our offer and services.

We are glad you liked the hotel and the town Opatija overall.
We are sorry because the A/C situation made your stay inconvenient. Unfortunately, during the period of your stay we had a lot of cold days that month in Opatija, and our air condition can be put either in the heating or cooling mode. Because of the cold days it was still on heating.

Regarding the food in our hotel, we are sorry you didn’t like it, since it is usually high recommended by our guests. We will surely investigate the quality of our food offered, to see how it came to this situation and take necessary measures to prevent this from happening again.

We hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel to improve your first impressions of it and provide you with the perfect holiday.

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Bristol as part of a Gate 1 tour. Hotel is in a convenient location in Opatija just minutes away from the sea, places to eat and shopping. Room was very average and had no view. However, for me the downside of this hotel was the uncomfortable (2) nights spent. Hotel was extremely hot, with no air turned on for the season. (We stayed in April). Most of the people on my tour complained about their lack of sleep. I finally opened my window, the second night, which helped some. The included dinner buffet was, for me, just average. I am not a picky eater, but for some, who want a little more than cafeteria food, may find it disappointing. Since it was included in my tour, there was little reason to complain. However, if I had purchased the dinner, I would have.

Room Tip: You may be able to request certain rooms. Since I was on a tour, I did not have that option.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested into writing us this review.

We are glad you liked the central location of our hotel, it surely is convenient when you are in the centar of Opatija, close to the sea, and just across the historical park Angiolina.

We are sorry because the A/C situation made your stay inconvenient. Unfortunately, during the period of your stay we had a lot of cold days that month in Opatija, and our air condition can be put either in the heating or cooling mode. Because of the cold days it was still on heating.

Regarding the food in our hotel, we are sorry you didn’t like it, since it is usually high recommended by our guests, we will surely take your opinion into consideration to raise the quality of our food offer.

We hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel to improve your first impressions of it and provide you with the perfect holiday.

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Hotel is obviously specialized in welcoming the lowest category of supermarket tourists and some full payers which didn't know that … :(

But the worst is, that, if you travel with kids, you are in front of the sea and there is no chance to get into the water. All is concrete, concrete and rocks. Don't go to Opatija with kids.

The food at the restaurant is just horrible

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a good room. Ours was sold to us as the best and the view was overlook...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelllllerSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you invested into writing us this review.
We take every feedback very serious and use it to improve our service in order to provide every guest with a perfect holiday.
We are sorry you had such an impression about our hotel. We do have guests coming in different arrangements, and based on that they have different services included. It is natural that every guest chooses the most convenient for them, according to their needs.

Opatija and it's sorroundings offer numerous beaches from concrete in the center to sandy in the direction of Volosko, or pebbly near Medveja and Marčeljeva Draga. We would suggest asking for certain types of beaches at the reception, our staff will be glad to tell you which one would suite your needs.

Regarding the rooms, we would suggest to tell all of your preferences to our reservation department while booking your stay, so they could recommend you a room which would fulfill your expectations, in order to make your holidays more convenient.

We hope we can welcome you once again at our hotel, and improve your first impressions.

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Started off our tour with Gate 1 at the Hotel Bristol. Not only is Opatija a lovely "Austrian-esque" city, but the Hotel Bristol is lovely. The exterior and interior of the hotel are ornate and well kept. The breakfast/dinner buffets are delicious and abundant. I am unsure of the price per night as we were a part of a tour. We would definitely consider staying here again for a future visit. Be sure to walk along the gorgeous and inviting LungoMare 100-year old stone "boardwalk" located a mere 5 minutes from the door of the hotel through the lovely garden across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkMomma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review!
You noticed right that the imperial flair is still present in whole Opatija! The lovely look of the city can transfer you in a moment to the former empire. Bristol is also built and renovated in the same spirit, glowing with a historical flair.
We are glad you liked the hotel food, since we are taking care of the food in our hotel, having only the most quality ingredients, so we are delighted you enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija and provide you once again with an unforgettable vacation!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first hotel as part of a recent tour that took us to various places in Croatia, Slovenia and Venice, and in all, we stayed at six hotels. Hotel Bristol was a fine way to set the tone for the rest of the trip. It met all our expectations regarding cleanliness and comfort, has a friendly staff, a very good location, and we thought the food served at its dinner and breakfast buffets was better than average. Because of planned activities, we did not spend much time at the hotel. Our room faced the rear of the property, and we did not hear any street noise that other reviewers have complained about. Our only complaint here was that we could not adjust the room temperature with the controls and we needed to open the window to cool it down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semi-Retrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
Be sure we will forward your nice words to our hotel staff, to keep them further motivated to offer only the best service to our guests!

We hope to welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind Regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room was average in size. Clean with comfortable beds. The hotel is located right on the main street that runs through town. Within a few minutes walk are restaurants, shops, supermarkets, tourist information, and the waterfront. The food at the hotel was very good. I had to go to the lobby to use the free WiFi, but it worked well there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for this review.
We are glad you liked our rooms!
The central location of our hotel, surely is a benefit which many of our guests appreciate, we are glad you did too!
We are taking special care of the food in our hotel, having only the most quality ingredients, so we are delighted you enjoyed the food offer.
Usually the WiFi can be accessed in the whole hotel, it must have come to a network error if you couldn’t reach it from your room and we are sorry for the inconvenience.

We hope we can welcome you once again in our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Despite having the oddest room in the hotel (a corner in the back), this was a very nice hotel. Conveniently located with a nice cafe out front, the rooms were clean and well furnished. Our room had one window that looked out over the tennis bubble behind it and the other to the Opera hotel. The room was quiet but had a very odd layout. It was also one of the few without a view or a balcony! All in all the hotel was quite nice & the staff helpful. Could not get an appointment at the spa because it was fully booked but that happens. A wonderful walk through the Angiolina Park across the street which also house the Croatian Museum of Tourism.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeDana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Bristol by OHM Group, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for this review.
We are glad you liked our Cafe Palme and the central location of our hotel, it surely is a benefit when the centar of Opatija is close to you. Our staff is our biggest capital, so we are glad you recognized their professionalism.
We are sorry you couldn’t get an appointment at our SPA, you surely would enjoy it! We would recommend booking your SPA appointments in advance, so you would ensure your dose of relaxation.
Regarding the room, we would suggest telling our reservation department all of your preferences in advance, so we could make sure you enjoy your room as much you enjoyed the rest of the hotel!

We hope to welcome you once again at our Bristol Hotel Opatija!

Kind regards,

Loredana Perčić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.3 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#9 of 31 in Opatija
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#30 of 31 in Opatija
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 31 in Opatija
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol by OHM Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol by OHM Group

Address: Marsala Tita 108, Opatija 51410, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Bristol)
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#12 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#19 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: £72 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol by OHM Group 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superbly situated residence is located in the heart of Opatija, opposite the Summer Theatre, along the sprawling emerald-blue Adriatic Sea. Our beautiful 4* Hotel Bristol offers panoramic views and breathtaking beauty combined with elegantly styled modern rooms to make your stay a relaxing, comfortable and unforgettable experience. The tranquil Mediterranean coastline is fringed by elegant palm trees and sumptuous gardens, where exotic, native species of plants provide colorful highlights, ideal for your long romantic strolls along the coast. The luxurious 4* Hotel Bristol was built in 1906 with 78 guest rooms, lovingly and regularly modernized ever since, specially designed to provide you with maximum comfort and make you feel like you have discovered a home away from home. Professional and personalized service, combined with the comforts of a hotel, furnished with taste and sensitivity allows you to immerse yourself in the spirit of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy, in a combination with a modern international lifestyle. A magical world of rejuvenation and relaxation is awaiting you at the Hotel Bristol Spa & Beauty center. From the moment you wake up in your room and step out onto your balcony to breathe the fresh, healthy sea air, to when you enter our Spa & Beauty center in your plush bathrobe: You will constantly be able to contemplate, relax, and rediscover your sense of inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bristol by OHM Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing