We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven amidst the rocks”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Haven amidst the rocks”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked this hotel primarily for the rest and relaxation it seemd to promise, and it didn't disappoint.
We needed somewhere to come back to after a day of touring around, but if we wanted to just stay put, we needed a place where you could easily while away the hours. Hotel Miramar is perfect for both.
Our room was 126, in the main building, overlooking the gardens and the sea. Decoration was okay, bathroom was lovely, the balcony was somewhat on the small side, but it was spacious, spotless and the airco worked wonderfully. I tried to book a room on the waterfront, but no luck thanks to the popularity of this place. But now having been there, I see no real advantage to a waterfront room. We loved the main building and it gave us an opportunity to see and communicate with the frontdesk personnel regularly.
The beachfront area was nice, albeit compact. It was rocky, but that suited us fine. I'm not a big fan of shaking sand out of everything after a day lounging. Keep in mind though, that you really have to reserve a lounge chair (by placing your towel and book on it) before breakfast if you want to be right by the waterfront. This practice is frowned on by the hotel, but everyone does it, and even the spa ladies gave me this tip early on.
The food was great. The breakfast buffet has long serving hours--7 to 11- and provides everything you need to make it through til dinner. The dinner was almost a 5 course meal - starter, soup, salad bar, main and dessert. Needless to say, the diets have kicked in on our return.
I didn't use any of the spa treatments, but I did do the sauna tour, which I would highly recommend. But for the shy, please note that this is done naked, so not for everyone. It was a 3 part process consisting of a salt and olive oil treatment, then an extra heat and herb treatment, followed by a honey treatment. Your skin is like silk afterwards; a welcome feeling after the effects of the sun and salt water. And extra bonus--it was free!
I would agree with other reviewers that most of the guests were on the older side, giving the entire experience a restful feeling. If you want excitement, you don't have to go far, but for us, this was just what the doctor ordered.
The hotel also offers daily excursions and fitness routines. We went on a boat trip with the Blue Tornado. It was about a 5 hour trip, lunch and a stop at a local fishing village included. As luck would have it, this was the only day it rained, but this didn't dampen the trip whatsoever. Highly recommend taken this trip if you do go.
The swimming pool area was lovely. Also immaculate. Everything in this hotel and it's surroudings has been painstakingly thought out, and kept to the highest standard.
We loved it so much in fact, we are looking towards our next trip to Croatia, with a quick stop to the Miramar. This time around we spent 9 days at the Miramar, for us a luxury. Next time we hope to see more of southern Croatia, but for memories sake, can see making our way back up to Opatija to spend a couple romantic days at the Miramar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dutchcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
216
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arrive here in Opatija with friends not knowing what to expect, our friends had already booked an apartment that was too small for us all, I phoned around to see what was available, Well we stumbled on a fantastic hotel, we had to pay for a half pension in other words for Breakfast and dinner with no issue. The breakfast was great, dinner although 4 course interesting......very ordinary! Never mind there are plenty of places to eat here in Opatija - The restaurant Hemmingway 5 minutes walk had great octopus.
The hotel was amazing the staff totally customer focused from the porter to the pedicure we could not fault the service, the room facing the sea, the day spa the beautiful private clear ocean bathing area out front . We were only able get in for 2 nights due to a cancellation so please book a ocean view superior room in advance my fiancee and I are very fussy and we could have stayed here a week even though the beds are as hard as a rock!

Room Tip: Ocean view superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillimudcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravinj. Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed at this fabulous hotel for 10 days in July. This has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The position and the food is perfect .Our stay was made all the better by the outstanding service we received from two special waiters,Tomislav and Azur. I stayed along with my wife and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Croatian people would love more English people to visit their Country, I would say they are justified in this wish. A truly beautiful Country.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurnleyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,381 reviews
380 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,081 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

 
Hotel Miramar is one of our highlights of our trip to Croatia. The moment we saw this hotel we were captured by its beauty.
 
The Miramar Hotel  just cuddles the romantic  Mediterranean Sea with  open  arms which immediately placed us in holiday mode.
 
Staff -All were very welcoming & friendly
 
Room - Our room 427 we booked was a deluxe sea view room with balcony. It was very spacious & the bathroom blue & white tiles were very appealing.
 
However:: regardless how much we loved this hotel we had the worst night sleep ever due to the most uncomfortable bed which was so hard & the pillows far too soft,.
 
Restaurants - We had booked half board which meant our hotel rate included dinner &
breakfast.
 
Our dinner was your typical buffet meal which was just okay however we did have a full
moon shining over the sea & with Mario singing beautiful songs;  the food didn't really  matter as the atmosphere was very romantic.
 
Facilities - All we wanted to do was have a swim in the sea & having the priviledge to walk down from our room to the edge of the sea with little steps into the depths was delightful
 
There is also an outdoor pool & indoor pool with a beaut outdoor deck area for sunbacking.

However' the best aspects is being able to just hop onto the The Lungomare seaside promenade which  passes in front of the hotel & takes approx 15mins walk into i town which also takes you along the foreshores. The walk takes in the breathtaking scenery of Opatija & also the observation of the locals enjoying playing in the sun.
  
 Overall: we loved this hotel although the bed was uncomfortable we will hopefully return one day as we also loved Croatia. Although not a glamour 5 star hotel it certainly has enormous charm.
 

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife and I have recently returned from a week's holiday at Hotel Miramar and have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff.

The hotel and its grounds are absolutely immaculate and nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. The food at both breakfast and dinner was absolutely delicious and plentiful and the spa and leisure facilities were first class.

This was our fifth holiday in Croatia but our first time in Opatija, which is a lovely resort. Should we ever return to Opatija (which we most certainly will), we will definitely stay at Hotel Miramar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank The_Brief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The hotel is one of the best, and may be the best in the area. Austrian management, great food, excellent organization. Rooms are spacious and cosy but not very new. Every dinner in the hotel is amazing- you can choose from the list of dishes and everything will be delicious, moreover, the waiter will propose you more, if you liked the dish. The hotel is like a small country- has everything you need, they use the space very efficiently. Miramar also has SPA, which offers lots of relaxing programs, but book your massage or spa program in advance- SPA is very popular there!
The beach is very small, but the pool has see water. Miramar has also goon saunas, I recommend you to visit them( one small feature- everybody will be naked there due to nordic traditions).
This hotel is preferred by german or austrian tourists.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margarita_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Nice hotel directly above the see with several houses. Take the one directly on the seaside that is probably the reason you go there. We had a suite, nice, clean, big one, but it was November and it was rather cold inside because the radiators were closed when we came. And Good knows how long were they closed before we came. A bed was actually two single mattress put together, but not even connected with a sheet. This is definitely not the best item in the hotel. Beds are small and hard.
There is very pleasant staff, all speaking German pretty well, pool area is totally clean, dinner is OK, choice is adjusted to everyone and food tastes well. Very tasty were backed paprika at the salad buffet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
1.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: Ive Kaline 11, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#1 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#1 Family Hotel in Opatija
#1 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing