We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing paradise”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We traveled to Miramar to relax and have a quiet week. We were not disappointed. We stayed on a half board basis.The food was fantastic every day. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice of fruit, breads, cakes cheese as well as freshly prepared omelettes and pancakes, freshly squeezed orange juice.

We booked a superior room which meant we had a balcony and a sea view, which I would advise. The beds were too hard. We asked for an extra top mattresses and it was fixed immediately!The room was large and perfectly OK. Missed yet a kettle so we could make coffee / tea in the room.

The gym, the pool with saunas of different types and the wellness centre were absolutely fantastic! The gym had a surprisingly decent for a hotel selection of free weights and a very good choice of simulators and aerobics machines. But bring water bottles. There is no water to be found in the fitness center!

There was no WiFi in the room; LAN connection only. Free WiFi was available at the reception, in a different building.

The hotel is owned by Austrians and 80 % of the guests are German-speakers. It is preferable to speak a little German. But some waiters and receptionists also spoke fairly good English.

Many steps and different levels, making it unsuitable for the the disabled and children. We did find that most of the guests were in their 50's.

Room Tip: Ocean view superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sigrun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

I know this hotel for years, using to come for drink or brunch on Sunday, or on some music night! Finally, I stayed for 3 nights during Easter Time 2013. Hotel's dinners are so that much great, that it looks as 220 plates in best Opatija restaurant, as nearby Plavi podrum, on example, who was selected in Pellegrini best 50 world restaurants. They hvae special nights, like fish night, when you can eat more then 15 different meals on base of fis, or Barbecue night, when there are so many grill nice things, from dentax, to lamb, and filled pljeskavica. Cheese buffet is also briliant. istrian goat cheese with truffles, etc. Waiters are perfect, as hotel Miramar has standard that first meal must come in next 4 minutes, as they have 16 waiters for dinner! Amazing. SPA space is this year on 2 different places, you can select pool with sea water or anoher one with normal water, where you have wonderful finish sauna, with breathtaking view on Rijeka and island of Krk!! Staff in SPA is amazing cooperative. I read it all of last 20 trip advisor reviews, and can say, that just 1 critic is true, that about water dispenser and jug of water instead of it?? I really do not understand to replace water dispenser as MIRAMAR is hotel where you do not see that they spare on guest (see my dinner observation) but that small jug of water in all fitness or spa area, looks poor, and I have never seen in such class of hotel!!

Room Tip: Not know enough to recommend somebody?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIPISTREL-KVARNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had the honor of being guests at Hotel Miramar a year ago in September, and I must underline that our experience superseded our expectations in every conceivable way. There is no need for a detailed account. (To pile superlatives upon one another easily become ludicrous). However if Hotel Miramar would receive anything else but a strike of five stars, it would say nothing about the hotel, but everything about the judgement of the reviewer.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Montevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We called in without a reservation and were given a room just off the main lobby, so without the balcony and water view. It was a little noisy but cheaper than rooms with a view and very comfortable and clean. There is a fantastic pool area, indoor and out with many lounges and areas to sit in. The breakfast area is right down on the water with lovely terrace areas to sit and eat. Breakfast choices were wonderful.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. However with the welcome drinks (champagne), the talk is only conducted in German as this is obviously the main clientele. We walked on both nights to Volosko for dinner which is an easy 15 minute walk along the Lungomare, a lovely seaside path.
This is a beautiful and stylish hotel made up of a series of villas which have been renovated but still retain the grand, historical theme.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sueand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having read all the good reports on Trip Adviser about the Hotel Miramar in Opatija Croatia we and our friends (we are all retired) decided to have our holiday there this year.
We were not disappointed. Our room (130) in the main block had two balconies; our friends had an identical room below us (120). This hotel easily earns its four stars in all departments, from carefully kept rooms to high dining. The provision of dressing gowns, slippers, beach bags and sun bed towels in the room is an indication of the level of ‘guest pampering’ you are likely to encounter. The staff is very well trained and particularly attentive.

The town of Opatija is just a short walk away and not very commercialised, yet. The walk can be taken either by the ‘Lungomare’, a promenade walk which runs by the sea for twelve kilometres or the main road just one hundred and fifty metres from the hotel. The main street has some quite fashionable and expensive shops. The hotel and the town is becoming ‘a place to be seen’ born out by the abundance of upmarket motor vehicles.

The café’s and konditorei’s (cake and pastry café’s) are very difficult to pass, you will not resist long.

Opatija is tidy and clean, unfortunately and sadly the same can’t be said for the walk along the promenade to and in the village of Volosko, an old fishing village. The presence of dog faeces makes for constant vigilance, stop walking if you want to view the scenery.


Ron
Chesterfield UK

Room Tip: Superior rooms are best and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RonandJoyceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just returned from 10 days at this fantastic hotel in Croatia. Accommodation, weather, food, resort, staff - everything was perfect. The place is full of Austrians and German is the main language spoken after Croatian but most of the staff speak fairly good English and are happy to speak in English. We will definately be going back one day. If you can stretch the budget to one of their better rooms then it is worth it - the standard rooms , in the main , are fine.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 104. The room is OK but it is adjacent to the main reception areas where they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We went to this hotel 3 years ago and were very impressed with it so when some friends asked us for a recommenation we had no problems recommending it. You always worry when you recommend a hotel but we need not have worried, on returned they had nothing but praise for the hotel and it's staff. Our recent visit certainly proved it. Nothing is too much trouble, everywhere is clean and well maintained, the food is varied and tastes as good as it looks. The produce used is of high quality and where possible locally sourced. There were different themed night which was reflected in the food and the entertainment on offer. We were even treated to dolphins jumping in front of the hotel one evening at dinner on the terrace
The pool, spar, wellness and fitness centres offer a varied programme with something for everyone in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit extra for a sea view - The 'Neptune' building has the best sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedge158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 30 in Opatija
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 30 in Opatija
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 30 in Opatija
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: Ive Kaline 11, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#1 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#1 Family Hotel in Opatija
#1 Spa Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: £142 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing