We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Opatija
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We too stayed at the Hotel Miramar the week of the 10th May. I can only thoroughly agree with Kathy H's review whom I guess may have been there that same week as us. We also went with Inghams. Inghams weren't doing any trips but the hotel would arrange certain outings for you by taxi or mini bus if they hadn't been cancelled because of the poor weather. Our transfer from Lublianja was 2 hours although if we had booked from the 2013 brochure we could have flown to Rejika which was only half hour from the hotel. The hotel we couldn't fault but we were too early in the season as it was obvious around the area they were just preparing for it. Unfortunately we didn't get to Plitvice Lakes as they were along drive 3 1/2 hours each way also there didn't seem to be any boat trips to the islands I guess due to the weather which failed us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This Austrian-owned hotel does many things well. Service is excellent, very professional and always friendly. Food is also great; rooms are spacious even if not all too attractively decorated. In addition to wellness and regular fitness activities, various other programs (e.g., meditation) are offered. What may be somewhat disturbing, however, is that German is the main language used. And, as the majority of guests are Austrians, one does not really get to experience much of the local atmosphere. This is in Croatia, 21st c., yet the overriding feeling is that of a certain nostalgia for the Austro-Hungarian empire - "Zauber und Flair der "k.u.k. Zeit"! - as advertised by the hotel itself. A bit too much, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I returned from a week`s stay at the Hotel Miramar in Opatija today. We had a very pleasant holiday but this was marred by pretty dreadful weather. However, the Hotel Miramar made it all worthwhile. We could not fault it. Our room was excellent - spacious , his and her wardrobes, his and her basins in the bathroom, separate toilet. We did pay a little extra for a superior room which I would recommend. The staff were charming and helpful and the food was amazing. A five course dinner every night (not including cheese) full of outstanding flavours, beautifully presented. The hotel is owned by Austrians and I would say around 90% of the guests when we were there were German and Austrian. The remainder were English (we went with Inghams). This was in no way a problem and I don`t think the hotel was full when we were there. However, we understand that from June to September the hotel is completely booked out and I think at this time it could be a little overwhelming. My advice would go either a little before June (the weather is usually good, we were unlucky) or maybe later in September.
The hotel arranged a large selection of trips which were advertised in a bulletin each day and nothing was too much trouble. It is the sort of hotel you wish you could pack in your suitcase and take wherever you go.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room , which all have sea views, and ask for a higher floor (there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Miramar from 27 July - 10 August what a superb hotel rooms very spacious and clean we were in the reception building but the underground tunnel to the restaurant and other parts of the hotel was ideal. The choices for breakfast were excellent both hot and cold food. The evening meals were superb. We had not booked a seaview (which I would recommend) as our balcony overlooked the underground garage and indoor pool which was disappointing. The outdoor pool was lovely and never overcrowded, We used the indoor pool first thing in the morning and we were the only people in it. We went on a couple of excursions to the Plitvice Lakes and to Trieste with the hotel which were good value for money both times we went in a mini bus and the trips were more personal than with a large group. The hotel lived up to my expectations we had come to Opatija just for the hotel. The resort is very nice and only a short walk along the promenade or down the main road. Buses are frequent and take you to Rijeka and Lovran. I would certainly recommend this hotel. The staff were always pleasant and with other reviews German is the main language but we had no difficulty with the language barrier as the Staff also spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Miramar´s location is perfect! Right on the clear blue water and just on the beautiful promenade of Opatija. We parked our car in the hotel garage and didn´t touch it until we left. The staff greeted us with a smile and was perfectly organized. Everything ( parking, check in, luggage brought to the room within minutes, extra room key ) went super smooth! Our family room was very spacious with a lot of storage space. It was spotless and very nicely furnished. We felt totally
comfortable. A smart thing is to have 2 sinks in the bathroom and lots of hooks. Also our terrace was large with table, chairs, 2 sunbeds and great views of the garden and the sea.
You can spend the whole day just relaxing by the water and then take a nice stroll before dinner.
The food in the hotel is outstanding, it was a highlight every evening that we looked forward to!
All the tables in the restaurant have perfect seaviews, so there are no good or bad tables.
Most of all I must praise the entire hotel staff, they were extremely helpful and friendly. From the front desk, to the waiters, the pool man and the helpful man who fixed my room window!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent almost a week here relaxing. Hotel was great, very comfortable. Food, dinner included, was excellent. Nice historic pathway by the sea provides access to towns both north and south. Water was beautiful. Do be aware that it is almost exclusively German in terms of second language in this establishment, and a surprisingly large number of the guests were Austrian. Not so surprising probably since 100 years ago this was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire

Room Tip: Overlooking the water is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited the Miramar in August on a Thomson Lakes & Mountains package deal. Apart from one problem with the air conditioning (which the hotel attended to) everything was perfect.

We booked a superior room with balcony and sea view although this was not in the Villa Neptun (the oldest part of the building). The land view rooms area bit of a lottery as some are below ground level and have no view at all whilst others look out on to the beautiful, well kept gardens. The hotel has a variety of room offers on their website if you want to book direct.

The hotel facilities are excellent with 2 great pools (1 indoor and 1 indoor/outdoor), spa and gardens with a generous number of sunbeds and umbrellas (although there were never shortages the best ones were 'reserved' from dawn!). An allocation of towels was available from the spa, these were replaced on request. Other facilities include a library, although books are in German (the main language spoken in the Austrian owned hotel) with seating and two computers with free internet access (Wifi access is also available in the reception area and LAN connections are in bedrooms).

The food is excellent (we wanted to adopt the chef) and there are delightful outdoor eating areas, 2 terraces and a winter garden in addition to indoor seating in the tasteful restaurant. Staff in all areas of the hotel work as a team and are hard working, efficient and friendly.

Beyond the hotel the popular coastal walkway the 'Lungomare' offers the opportunity to walk into central Opatija and other towns along the coast. Volosko is the nearest with an attractive harbour and good eateries. The hotel also offers daily activities and trips which are listed in the morning magazine (weekly copies are available in English from reception).

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Miramar, especially as Croatia hasn't adopted the Euro yet (although this might happen since they joined the EU in July) making prices extremely reasonable around the resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 30 in Opatija
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 30 in Opatija
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 30 in Opatija
201 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: Ive Kaline 11, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Opatija
#1 Romantic Hotel in Opatija
#1 Luxury Hotel in Opatija
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
#1 Family Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: £142 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing