We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Miramar
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bevanda(Opatija)
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$184
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$101
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Palme(Opatija)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
323
37
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
37
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexercise classessea viewrooms are spaciousfresh water poolevery eveningrocky beachsea frontprivate beachgermangymguestscroatialungomaremartinapathbalconiesgarage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are so many great reviews for this hotel and they are all deserved. Arriving with great expectations can be a hard act to follow, but I definitely will return ( and look forward to doing so) to this hotel. It is well run by very efficient, helpful and friendly staff : what they don't know they will find out for you, as we found when we wanted to go and visit various wine producers who were off the beaten track. They offer free garage parking; for those of you arriving under your own steam the hotel is behind the Roselia Casino, not so easy to see the sign for the Miramar as other hotels neighbour it. Several of the reviews talk about the various room views - in our experience the rooms are well described and defined quite accurately as to their size, view and presence of a balcony or terrace: you get what you wish to pay for, but all the rooms seem good sized and there are plenty of places to sunbathe if you don't chose a balcony and plenty of chances to look at the sea if you don't chose a sea view as the dining room overlooks the sea.There are no "bad tables" in the dining area, which is done on a self selection, so don't hang around and expect to be seated. The staff are very quick to notice that you have sat down and start to serve you. Food is really good, very fresh, healthy and we never managed all 4 courses at dinner! Loads of wonderful fresh local fish, veal and beef fillet, duck, with 2 main course choices each night plus a vegetarian option and a proper ( not fish fingers or chicken nuggets) menu for kids, huge salad bar and some very well thought out intricate starters. This is a chef who really enjoys food and serving it up, not some executive chef in a remote office. Wines are a mixture, but feature Croatian and are as reasonably priced as are the hotel and food. We ate out one night just to try a local restaurant that is 15 minutes walk away and said to be the best in Croatia: it was very pleasant and deserves it's reputation,but not a world away from the cooking at the Miramar. Kids seem well catered for, however anyone wheelchair bound would have to be lifted up or down about 5 steps to get in and out of either the restaurant ( if not staying in the Neptun building) or slightly less steps to get in/out of the Neptun building if staying there. There is a wonderful fairly flat ( no steps) paved walk right from the hotel 12 km in length called the Lungomare that is either very good exercise if you do the lot, or a pleasant promenade for as far as you want to go. Wi fi is not extensive throughout the hotel because of the 5 different buildings, so either go to the main one to pick up a signal or pay the extra for an in-bedroom router. Didn't try out the gym, but it all looked very new ( no-one seemed to be using it !) and there is a library internet room also. 3 pools, one totally indoor, one half and half but heated and one is an area of the very calm , almost tideless ,sea that is roped off. at the beginning of our stay the temperature was in reaching 32 C so the sea was very pleasant to swim in. Loads of sunbeds, no need for an early morning towel placing. Staff all seem to speak quite a bit of English, even the chamber maids: in reception/ dining area they all speak several languages well.
Daily activities range from free stuff( walks, exercise classes) to suggestions for trips to make yourself or organised trips to local sights at extra cost. Every evening there is a musical entertainment either in the dining room or in the lobby, which could be Croatian singers, or an Elvis impersonator ( ......, very kitsch) or a fabulous singer/pianist doing operetta something for everybody. Slightly older age group of guests, but we stayed during term time, so maybe it has a younger clientele during school holidays: plenty of stuff for kids to do. Didn't try the spa as we had a car and had not visited Croatia before and wanted to get out and about a bit. Great country, great people, very friendly and courteous especially on the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alisonleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Located about 5-10 minutes walking from city Center directly at the seashore, no road inbetween..The Establishment is very well managed. The property itself is not vast, but the buildings are carefully planned. We had a room with sea view in the main building (no.123) that was big (40 m2). It has a double-bed, a Couch and armchair, a writing desk, modern TV. The balcony is pleasant and has a lovely view on the historic Villa Nettuno and the ocean. The bathroom is a bit small, but well equipped, bath tube, shower, separate WC. Very quiet at night for good sleep.
Everything is clean and well maintained- we would attribute 4 to 5 stars. For 8 Euros we purchased internet-connection for 3 days, which is reasonable and was efficient .
On the premises there is a very nice saltwater pool, half indoors and half outdoor. a clever System for a region that has modest air temperatures except summer. Did not use the Wellness Center. There is in addition in one of the buildings a freshwater pool. Again everything very clean.
Staff is very Kind and helpful, many understand english or german. The Hotel is Austrian-owned and most of Hotel guests are austrians, some english, at weekends italians, few germans.
There are many details full of charme and decoration while not plush, is very pleasant, nice colours. Wonderful vegetation on the grounds.
Food is very good. Breakfast is buffet, with about everythings one can imagine. It is very pleasant to sit for lunch outside on the terrace directly over the ocean, salads, grilled items, often fresh fish at reasonable prices.
At check-in we were offered half Pension for only 10 Euros, that turned out to be a great deal. You get a 4- course meal with choice options, including a vegetarian one. What you get, meat or fish, is fresh and very tasty.
A door is directly leading to a well-jkept public path along the coastline, that Shows a total of 12 km and is very rewarding.
There is a free garage which is very necessary as there are almost no parking facilities in Opatija.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The best aspect of the hotel is the first rate food served in the restaurant. The chef certainly know's what he is doing.

This hotel caters primarily for elderly Austrians and one might well feel as if you were in Austria, except when you check out the views up and down the Croatian coast-line from the hotel. Most of the staff are polite and know what they are doing however some of the male waiters serving in the restaurant are quite rude and gruff. This is the first time I have seen wine poured into a glass from a height of one metre, very impressive (not) if you like a good frothy head on your wine.

Villa Neptune is the best of the five buildings on site, fronting onto the seaside. The other villas do not seem to have good views of the sea unless you are on a high floor. There is no WiFi in the rooms but for a small charge they will rent you a WiFi modem. The toiletries supplied are basic, and substandard for a hotel of this price.

Room Tip: Choose a room in Villa Neptune if you want good views over the sea. You may need to request that they turn on the air conditioning. It doesn't seem to be turned on by default - though I may be wrong.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnDASi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice location. Lovely view. The rooms nicely decorated. Very clean. The products in the bathroom are not as good as they should be for a 5 star hotel.
Good SPA area, nice swimming pool.

But the staff at the reception is so old school and not of the standard you'd expect in 5 stars hotel. Kitschy happenings in the lounge, I experienced some Austrian guests who were singing and clapping with hands - some might find it charming, I'm sorry, I don't. Could sit and relax with my afternoon drink while I was waiting for my husband to be done with his meeting.

I don't think I'd come again.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heroneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We too stayed at the Hotel Miramar the week of the 10th May. I can only thoroughly agree with Kathy H's review whom I guess may have been there that same week as us. We also went with Inghams. Inghams weren't doing any trips but the hotel would arrange certain outings for you by taxi or mini bus if they hadn't been cancelled because of the poor weather. Our transfer from Lublianja was 2 hours although if we had booked from the 2013 brochure we could have flown to Rejika which was only half hour from the hotel. The hotel we couldn't fault but we were too early in the season as it was obvious around the area they were just preparing for it. Unfortunately we didn't get to Plitvice Lakes as they were along drive 3 1/2 hours each way also there didn't seem to be any boat trips to the islands I guess due to the weather which failed us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews